We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nicki889
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our stay at Birdsong Africa Lodge was fantastic and we loved the beautiful accommodation and constant parade of animals! Paul and Les were available whenever we needed them but left us to relax and enjoy the peaceful surrounds. They were extremely thoughtful and provided us with additional treats for the animals and bottled water which was greatly appreciated. If you are looking for a tranquil break in a beautiful surroundings - this is the perfect place to go. Many thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veit G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream house with perfect finishing”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Birdsong is an amazing luxury holiday home and still family friendly. Plenty of game comes to visit during the day and night. The owners are always there to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
Thanks Veit for your kind review. We hope to see you and your family here again!

regards

Paul & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else in Marloth Park!”
Reviewed January 27, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just the perfect place to stay to visit the Kruger Park. Paul and Les make it effortless with careful attention to every detail. Our lodge was perfect and we felt were in the bush proper with zebra, kudu and warthog (the latter two hand fed!) ever evident. The evening genet and bushbaby were huge bonuses. Recommended without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2017
Thank you James and Noeline for your kind review. You and your family were perfect guests who will be welcome back at our lodge anytime!
kind regards
Paul & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl S
Oakdale, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

this house is terrific. the owners are wonderful to deal with and very quick to respond to all inquiries. Paul is amazing to work with and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. he will help you arrange plans to perfection!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Hi Cheryl & best wishes from us at Birdsong. Thank you for the very nice review, and for being our guests. Paul & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmWande...
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem of Marloth Park”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Easy drive from JHB airport and Paul & Les are assisting you all the way. Beautifully equipped house with everything one might need. Comfortable beds, GREAT aircons for those hot days and a great pool to splash in after your game drives. The interior decorating is simple but exquisite. For us the highlights of the 4 night stay was Paul coming around the corner with his wheelbarrow and the 40' degree game drive with Kerry from African Pride.
We are already planning our return trip. Don't waste your time searching for other accommodation, there's nothing better!
- the Irish-

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
Thanks Jani for this lovely review. You were great guests so we'll be delighted when you do make that return trip!

Paul & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N
Sayulita, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whatever you can imagine, this place is way better!”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We hoped that our last week in South Africa would be our best but we had no idea it would be the best of the best. The owners, Les and Paul, are some of the friendliest and funniest owners we've ever rented from. They couldn't have been more helpful and their recommendations were always spot on (Kerry of Kruger Pride Safaris was the tip of a lifetime!). The house is stunning and the attention to detail is nothing short of gorgeous. Modern, elegant, design-rich and super comfortable. In the photos, you see an animal or two on the grounds but every early evening, just about the time we poured ourselves some wine, the wild parade began. The zebras were usually the first to show up, followed by a warthog and then the migration of the kudus. Paul left us food for the animals and hand feeding the zebras and kudus was one of the highlights of our stay. Then there's Kruger Park, just across the river! What a wonderful place, lovely people and memories to last a lifetime. We hope to return as soon as we can. Thanks a million.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
What a delightful review! Thank you Dale & Christopher for being perfect guests in every way. We can only say that, as hosts, whatever guests one could imagine, these guests are way better! We will meet again, we are sure of it.
Paul & Les
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterenDa...
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“modern accomodation in the bush”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We've been staying for 4 nights at Birdsong Africa Lodge and what a pitty we didn't stay for longer. The lodge is an easy 4h drive out of Jo'Burg airport and near to the Crocodile Bridge Kruger gate. The kitchen of the lodge is very well equiped and the 2 rooms come with
aircon and each has its own private bathroom. Nice terrace with braai overlooking the bush. Zebra, kudu and warthog are often seen around the lodge. Small supermarket, butcher,liquor store about 1km away. If you don't want to selfdrive into Kruger you can go with Kerry from Kruger Pride Safaris. She's a very knowledgeable guide and her prices are very reasonable. The hosts Less and Paul were very helpful and went out their way to let you feel at home. They just finished a new lodge next to Birdsong ( Nextdoor).

Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing