We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this lodge and had a great time.
The rooms are very nice and the only thing was the isolated irea.
At ten 'o clock the lights were out and you had to stay in the room.
The food is okay but the starter very small, so for my husband it was sometimes nearly not enough.
The problems in Krugerpark we didn't know , so this place is not the right one for visiting the park at this moment.
The breakfast is okay, but first the coffee comes and half an hour later the food. Typical for whole south africa we think.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stumbled up this lodge when our other plans for a rental in Marloth Park fell through. We could not have planned it better. Jacque and staff were fabulous. Meals were wonderful and more than expected. Even the packed breakfast when we left early was superb. Rooms were clean and up to date. Our stay here added significantly to our Kruger experience. I never write reviews, but I told Jacque I would because I was so impressed. If we return to South Africa, will plan to spend at least a few days here. It was amazing!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I have nothing but praise for the lodge.Friendly staff watched over by Maestro Jacque and his delightfull asistant Belinda. Dinner in the evenings was of an amazing standard and in the week we stayed it was a different menu each night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelson245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights of our honeymoon here, and I wish we would have been able to stay a few more.

The rooms had thatched roofs, which I loved, and yet no bugs were inside the room at all, which I loved even more. Everything was very modern, clean, and comfortable!! Our room also had a balcony with a cute seating area where we were able to view Kruger Nat. Park.

We went on safari both days we stayed here - they booked the safari for us with a man named Kobus. He was exceptional!! Very knowledgeable, and not a minute out of the 12 hours was boring. We had to get up quite early, so by the afternoon, we were tired, especially as the sun rays were shining on us. He let us nap here and there, but would always wake us up when he found something. We saw practically everything, and in the times when there were no animals, he talked about the terrain, plant life, birds, and answered any questions we had.

The lodge provided a wake up call and had breakfast and lunch in a cute basket for us to take with us on the safari. After we got home, we had lovely home-made south african cousine for dinner.

There's a lovely pool on the grounds as well, and spectacular views - we had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraMGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Thank you for everything we experienced at Crocodile Kruger Safari lodge this week:
 Perfect, friendly service
 Delicious food
 True comfort and beautiful surroundings

We especially recommend Jacques for the great food and his hands-on management, and Belinda for her personal attention at all times. We were made to feel as though we could have been in our own home (but with service of course). Nothing was too much trouble and our stay would not have been the same without them, but truly all the staff were just great.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs with private balcony - you have your own view over the Crocodile River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family stayed 3 nights at the Lodge and we we're happy to leave after 3 nights. Generally we liked the lodge but there were many things to improve. The rooms are nice with a great view (don't take the self catering appartement!) but the service needs much more improvement. The food wasn't on a 4-star-level either.

about the food:
- if you get up early for safari they prepare a breakfast-package, but belive me, its not worth eating it, cheesy sandwhiches you could even buy better ones at the full station, no milk, no fruits. its pitty
- the main course is good but the portion aren't big, the dessert and the starter is not self-made
- i wished the waitress to get more salad and more vegetables, they promised to bring me, but they didn't
- white wine is served warm, red wine also too warm
--> just don't expect too much about the food, there is no real cook in the kitchen and the serving staff doesn't have the knowledge about "how to serve".

about the lodge:
- its far away from the kruger park (you need 30 minutes to crocodile gate, even 50 minutes to the other one)
- internet connection is poor, they quit internet after 9pm
- the staff makes a very unhappy impression, nobody seems to be happy
- the pool should be cleaned every day, insects are lying dead in the pool
- you won't get any snacks in the afternoon, there is no kitchen available
- there is also no bar which serves drinks/wine (we were waiting 30min to get our ordered white wine)
- wines just per bottle, a glas of wine is not available
- there was a scorpion in the shower of the kids-room

honestly, we enjoyed our stay, but we wouldn't come back - there are nicer lodges in this area. actually we would prefer to stay inside the park and not in this area.

Room Tip: the rooms on the first floor are very nice. the self-catering appartement has no view and the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghacha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABRILR, Owner at Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Firstly we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we apologise if we were unable to fulfil all your expectations. I would however wish to point out some inaccuracies in the review.

We do provide packed breakfasts on our guided open vehicle Kruger Park Safaris and never had any complaints so far but will look to improve further. We apologise for the service during dinner and for the warm wine from our fully stocked bar (yes we do have one) but wish to point out that dinner and breakfast is included in the room rate. We do not serve lunch as the guests are usually out on one of the many activities available at the lodge. Light lunches such as toasted sandwiches are always available even when the kitchen is closed between the included meals. Portion sizes and tastes do differ but our chef (yes he is a qualified chef ) always try to find a balance to suite everyone.

The lodge overlooks the Kruger Park and animals can be spotted from the patio and most rooms. The drive to Crocodile Bridge gate should not take more than 30 min , most of it a game drive through the Marloth park reserve. The road is tarred in in good condition so should not be a problem in any kind of vehicle.( Unfortunately the road to Malelane gate was damaged by recent heavy rainfall but should be fixed after the rainy reason .)

We do not have fixed land lines and have to make use of 3 G to provide free Wi Fi to our guests. This is linked to the office computer that shuts down at 9 pm when the office close. We have no control over the signal strength but we do try our best to keep our guests online during their stay.

In summary we really appreciate any criticism as this helps us to improve our standards further. Remember when considering a lodge stay inside the Kruger Park that you can expect to pay 5 to ten times more. We try to provide an affordable alternative to this.

Happy journeys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are a family group of 6-8 people who have been visiting Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge at least once a year for the past 3 years for a quick getaway and we have yet to be dissappointed!!
The service is excellent, Jacques and his staff are always extremely friendly and helpful and the food very, very tasteful. The traditional boma night is well organised and always something to look forward to, some members of the family are even brave enough to try some "African Mopani Worms". Game drives into the Kruger Park can be arranged and are highly recommended.The lodge itself and the scenery are out of this world !! Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge will definitely be seeing us again and again. We highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for an affordable, relaxing and luxurious getaway ! Absolutely Magnificent!!!

Room Tip: The view from the upstair rooms are superb. Bathrooms nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RinaM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
15 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
415 reviews
4 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
2 mi away
Royale Marlothi Safari Lodge
Royale Marlothi Safari Lodge
#11 of 37 in Marloth Park
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Phumula Kruger Lodge
Phumula Kruger Lodge
#8 of 37 in Marloth Park
141 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 37 in Marloth Park
336 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 178 in Kruger National Park
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge

Address: 442 Crocodile road | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: $86 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge is situated on the banks of the Crocodile river overlooking the world famous Kruger National park.The lodge is situated in a nature reserve with free roaming wild animals on your doorstep.The six luxury en-suite rooms are all airconditioned and is fitted with a mini bar , safe , coffee making facilities and private terrace/balcony. The self catering options sleeps either 2 or 6 persons and is equiped with a kitchen as well as braai facilities.Meals are served on the pool deck or in the traditional African Boma and is included in the Luxury romm rates. Self drive or guided game drives in Kruger Park is available from the lodge. Game walks and mountainbike routes in the nature reserve is also available.Free Wi-Fi is available in common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing