We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in the bush!”
Review of Needles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Needles Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation in the bush!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our two night stay at Needles was great! The food is fabulous and it is a beautiful place that feels like you are really away from it all. Denis and Philomena made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our nine year old loved the interaction with the animals that just drop in, the warthogs Hop Along and Fatso, three zebra, baby kudo. Bush babies and fruit bats come to collect their nightly snack of bananas! We spent a day driving around the nearby Kruger Park and that is an amazing experience, but you don't even need to move out of Needles or Marloth Park to get a different but equally amazing experience. We will be coming back from Maputo soon for our next R and R weekend break!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BidR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
191
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corsica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the warm and sincere welcome to the delicious food served you will be disappointed with nothing at Needles! The proximity to crocodile Bridge Gate into Kruger is a bonus but you will also be visited by various animals at the lodge which adds to the charm of the place and the bush experience. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there is a peaceful pool area next to the main terrace which is perfect for a snooze after the early starts for Kruger days. The owner is very involved in the running of the lodge and it shows. Not only is he a great source of information but he runs an efficient and happy team which contribute to the overall product and atmosphere of the place. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorsicaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Neeles is a very managed lodge with excellent staff and attention to guests. We really enjoyed our break and would highly recommend. Beside having it own charm like getting close to wild life like warthog, kudu and birds (and more) its also provides a great base from which to explore the Kruger and awell as venture into Mozambique. We definately will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We recently had the very great pleasure of staying at Needles Lodge in Marloth Park. Our host, Dennis was very helpful, organizing for us to visit Swaziland, sunset walks and other activities. The rooms are clean and the facilities are brilliant.

The close proximity to Crocodile Bridge Gate into Kruger National Park was a very big factor in wanting to stay at Needles. To assist with an early start to get to the gate at opening time (0600) a packed breakfast was provided.

The food provided was of the finest quality. We cannot speak highly enough of our stay at the lodge. I think it deserves more stars.... six at least!

Chris Parslow and Anna-Mari Steynberg.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if you wish to have less traffic past your door, ask for the one at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrispea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Anna-Mari & Chris,

It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us at Needles. Thank you so much for the gift, I've nearly drunk it all already! I really enjoyed the motion detection camera that Chris set-up on the deck and that footage of the Genet eating the bananas was fantastic. Hope to see you guys here again soon. All the best, Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I fell in love with Nature during our stay at Needles Lodge. Bushbabies, fruit bats, warthogs, kudu, zebra and monkeys and all that without leaving the dinner table. And trust me you want to stay at the table because the food is superb, as is the company. Denis the owner is hands on, lavishing you with attention (and alcoholic libations) and regaling you with amazing wildlife stories and information. He'll even wake you up at 5am with coffee and rusks before you set off on an early morning game drive. In fact all the staff are friendly and efficient. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and with an absolutely huge bath for soaking in after a great day in the Kruger Park. Needles is well-situated, with both the Crocodile Bridge and Malelane gates to The Kruger easily and quickly accessible. This was by far the best vacation that I have had in a very long time and Needles is easily one of the most pleasant lodges I have ever stayed at. Actually I think I'll book my next trip there right now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eschborn
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We´ve just booked our next stay at Needles Lodge - read why!
Your friendly and really caring host Denis spoils you with freshly baked bread and delightful three-course-meals accompanied by carefully selected wines. Sit on the wooden verandah with an ice-cold beer or sundowner in hand and experience close encounters with resident animals, like warthog, zebra or kudu, which pass by. Next to the pool sun loungers are inviting you to lay down and relax and if you need a book just grab an illustrated travel guide from the library. The beautifully decorated lodge is ideally situated between Crocodile Bridge Gate and Malelane Gate of Krugerpark, both only a short drive away. Needles Lodge also offers all kind of tours and Denis, who has years of “bush-experience” will be happy to tailor individual safaris and trips for you. .Needles lodge is offering you much more, just come and visit, we can highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi Sabine,
It's a pleasure to welcome you, Lars & the girls to Needles. Thank you so much for the very kind review and your booking for December. See you then! All the best, Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed with my family at Needles lodge. Right after arrival it already felt like home. Great hospitality of the host, Dennis, and the staff, really made our stay memorable. Newly decorated rooms offer all the comfort one needs. The first class chef surprised us every day with excellent meals. Most of all we like the fact that Needles blends in in its surroundings, with daily visits of zebra, wildebeest and much more. Can recommend this lodge to anyone. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wouter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Hi Wouter,

Thank you so much for the great review. It was lovely to have you and the family staying with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
4.1 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
188 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
373 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 174 in Kruger National Park
567 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
325 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Property: Needles Lodge
Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing