We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
Review of Needles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Needles Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Supurb meals, oustanding service, comfortable rooms, Hospitality beyond expectations and activities in the area that kept us busy all day every day and when we relaxed the bush setting was out of this World.

Room Tip: Room 7 is at the end and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
186
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I have just returned from 5 days at Needles Lodge and can tell you it was the best time ever.
We all had a fabulous time, the rooms are excellent with a bed that was so comfy with pure Egyptian cotton sheets, you don’t want to get out of it.

The food is to die for, breakfast cooked just as you like and what you like. The staff are so pleasant, friendly and can’t do enough for you and the host Denis was so knowledgeable about the area, whether that be Marloth Park or Kruger National park and about the bush or where we were most likely to find the animals, it made the experience one of my best trips ever.

So if you want a lodge so close to Kruger National Park and set in the beautiful Marloth Park get this one booked, I am sure I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaSteeples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed at the lodge for two days and absolutely loved it. Decor and ambiance was GREAT. The food and service was excellent. Hosts are very helpful and make you feel comfortable. Animals come up to the back fence - zebras, Kudu etc.
Absolutely recommend it. And the safaries they arranged for us were very good and very flexible.

Room Tip: Call up Gary - the owner directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Needles Lodge - It is a bit out of the way, which provides a quiet environment. The owners helped us arrange safaris on two different days into Kruger, and they were really amazing. The distance from the lodge into Kruger is a bit far - about 45 minutes ride. I would definitely suggest hiring a guided safari. Gary and Alta were hospitable and helpful. However, the last night we stayed there, an extended family from elsewhere in South Africa stayed also, and it became a bit uncomfortable for us. The family was obviously wealthy and they sort of took over the place and though we were treated courteously by the owners and staff, the did put us into "the background" and we were pleased to not have had to share the lodge the entire time.

We enjoyed the pleasant evenings around the deck, watching the warthogs, zebra, monkeys and kudus. We fed bananas and carrots to zebra and bats and bush babies. The accommodations are very nice, the food very good. Make sure you get good directions from Gary to find the lodge, we had a little difficulty the first day because it is off the main road. Also the owners do not stay on the property, but there is a security guard that patrols the property. We were not aware of this at first, and though it was not a problem, it would have been better to have been told about it at the onset.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATraveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Needles lodge is a very cosy lodge, very comfortable. Nice wooden terrace that makes you think you are living an "out of Africa" fairy tale. The rooms are large and fully equipped. 1 small remark: there is no door between the bathroom and the sleeping room. This is sometimes inconvenient if you share the room with a friend.
The owners of the lodge are terrific people. Very friendly, concerned about the animals, helpfull. They have a family of warthogs at the premises and also kudu come very nearby. I loved it!
The food is all you would expect and so much more.
We also arranged a full day safari in Kruger with them, and we really had a wonderfull day. The guide knew everything, did lots of efforts to show us animals, tracks,..;
Absolutely a place you should go if you are in the area!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inge_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I had a fantastic time at Needles. Before we even arrived, Gary (the owner) was very helpful over email and gave me all the information I needed. As we did not rent a car, Gary picked us up from the bus station and took us to the lodge where we were greeted by his wonderful wife Alta and a family of monkeys! Other "guests" of the lodge were zebras and warthogs who came for snacks!

The rooms are great, the shower is wonderful, the outdoor space is beautiful, and the large indoor sitting/TV room is fantastic. The food was really great too. We stayed for two nights and were served a chicken florentine and an oxtail stew - both delicious! Breakfast was also wonderful.

Gary and Alta helped us arrange a safari with a wonderful guide and also directed us to walk down the street where we could see game and gaze right across the river to Kruger Park. At the end of the stay, Gary and Alta drove us to the border with Mozambique where we continued our southern African adventure. I would stay at Needles again and again!!! It is luxury without breaking the bank!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namibiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2010

It is a cliche to say that we were "treated like family" -- but in this case it is no exaggeration. The Needles chef baked a birthday cake for our daughter and Gary, Alta and the staff serenaded her with "Happy Birthday" wishes; my kids sat on the couch into the evening with Gary talking about wildlife and South Africa; and the famous Needles warthogs really do act like family pets. From the Needles deck we saw bush babies, huge kudu, zebra, giraffe, wildebeast, baboons and other animals. Our kids fed zebra and kudu.

It seemed like we were taking a bit of a chance booking with Needles Lodge simply because it wasn't listed in any of the major international tour guides and, frankly, because it was so much less expensive than the game lodges that were listed in guidebooks. Our only real source of information were a handful of TripAdvisor reviews. But we are so glad we did. We could not agree more with the other lodgers who stayed at Needles and have reported that they had a wonderful time.

The rooms are great and the food was wonderful.

Like some others, we used Cliff as our guide and he was great -- very friendly, funny and knowledgeable.

PS -- One small piece of advice. There are beautiful modern highways getting you close to Marloth Park and within it -- but take it easy on the short stretch of gravel road connecting Marloth Park to the main highway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_R_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
8.2 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Property: Needles Lodge
Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing