We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times at Bushwise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Good times at Bushwise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We found Bushwise saw the pics and we knew from the beginning this will be a place where my friends and I want to stay for our safari.Everything was perfect,you already get wildlife in the Marloth Park around the lodge.You can really relax and switch off.The dinner at night in bush was faboulos great experience.The service from Tim and Annette and the staff is excelent also their food.The rooms are comfortable and the right thing what you need after a safari.
Bushwise location is perfect,close to the Crocodile Bridge gate to start the safari.
Tim gave us very good advises to which places we should go.
I will recommend Bushwise to anybody and for us it´s sure that we will come back soon.
Thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    60
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
86
130
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I had booked Bushwise Safari Lodge based on the tripadvisor reviews we had seen and the 3 night package deal that was advertised. We were certainly not disappointed from start to finish. The owner, Tim, picked us up from the airport and we had roughly an hour drive drive to the Marloth Park area. We had a great chat along the way about what we could expect to see over the next few days.

The safari activities are well organised and I recommend sticking roughly to their suggested itinerary to get the most out of the few days you are likely to be there. Our guide for the full day safari, Vernon, was a wealth of knowledge and very handy on the cooked breakfast pitstop. I was quite amazed at how much we would have missed were he not there to point so much out to us.

A definite highlight was the morning walk in the Kruger Park with armed guards. It's an experience you should definitely take up if given the opportunity.

The lodge itself is fantastic and an example of open planned living. The outside deck, complete with bar and a deck pool, overlooks the Crocodile River boundary of the Kruger Park. It was fantastic to take a dip in the pool and have a beer in hand whilst watching Elephants, Buffalo and Hippos roam the riverside, with the only noises heard coming from the animals. It's also a great place to just take some time out and read a book if you have the time. Very relaxing!

The room was very comfortable and clean, with our own balcony and the only possible small mark against the lodge I could give is that the bathroom was carpeted. Hardly a big negative at all! The home cooked dinners were always plentiful and delicious and good examples of local fare.

I have nothing but good things to say about the lodge owners, Tim and Annette. They were extremely friendly and helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending this lodge to anyone who wants to get into the safari adventure and yet stay in comfortable surrounds. I would definitely stay at Bushwise again. It was a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: A room on the top floor with balcony gives a great view over the river from the privacy of your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Seeing wild life from the patio of the lodge is amazing. We saw Elephant, Buffelo, and crocodiles whilst relaxing on the deck. The staff were friendly and the lodge was clean. Thank you very much for making my stay with you amazing.

Room Tip: Room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my second visit to Bushwise Safaris and made no hesitation in making my choice of where to stay. Again, it was the perfect experience. Nothing quite like relaxing in the balcony pool while watching elephants during the day, or the sound of hippos while enjoying one of Tim's fantastic braais at night. Kruger itself is stunning and the day safari was well worth the return. This time we decided to go on the walking safari one morning and being at ground level with no vehicle around you really gives you an entirely different perspective. I can't imagine a better base to explore this special part of the world from. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geology_Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 8 days and had a unique experience. Everything exceeded our expectations. Tim, Annette, Werner and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Outside the lodge, we met zebras, warthogs, giraffes and impalas and from the pool, we could see elephants and buffalo wander down to the river in the Kruger Park. It was like being in a movie. Surreal and Fabulous. In the evenings we ate a three-course dinner under the stars, cooked by the girls in the kitchen, to the sounds of animals in the wild and the crackling fire. And we met new friends from different parts of the world and exchanged experiences. Werner, our safari guide was brilliant and shared his own life experiences and his stories mixed with meetings with the different animals in the park: leopard and cheetah who tiptoed around our car, elephants, rhinos, etc., made ​​our safari excursions very exciting and interesting. We also got tips from Annette to go to Ngwenya lodge, which is only 15 minutes away from Bushwise, to have lunch. It was also a pleasant outing. Besides the sunset safari, half-day and full-day safari, we also went on the Panorama tour and Tiger fishing. I can really recommend Bushwise to all my friends. The rooms, the atmosphere, the food, the possibilities - if you want a nice relaxed stay and be one with nature, this is the place to stay! Thank You Annette, Tim & most of all Werner! "It's not over until the last gate" :)

Room Tip: All rooms has their own charmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanis63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed with Tim and Annette for 3 nights earlier this month, and it was like visitng friends. We were made to feel so welcome, the lodge was just perfect, the rooms lovely and very clean. The atmosphere is so relaxed and we really enjoyed eating in the Boma under the stars, with the other guest who soon became friends, it really seemed like a different world. The experiences on the safaris were brilliant, the guides so knowledgeable, we would definitely recommended this lodge to all our friends. Tim was able to share with us lots of information about the area, the history and the animals, we really appreciated all the time spent making us feel at home. The location is great, next to Crocodile River, we could hear the hippos at night! We had zebra outside of our bedroom, and saw kudu in the garden. All in all a truly memorable place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My folks and my husband and I stayed at Bushwise for 6 nights from end sept to 4th oct 2012. We had such a great time.Tim was there to pick us up from the airport and Werner was kind enough to take us back. The staff were also very accomodating to the different dietatry needs of our family.Annette is a total gem always made sure we had everything we needed.
Werner took our (crazy) family out on early morning drives most of the days we were there and cooked us breakfast at a rest camp, his knowledge and love of the bush and animals made the day a great experience. We were lucky enough to have awesome upclose game encounters.
Bushwise is a fantastic african experience and the best place to get away from it all take in the sights and sounds of the bush(even the frogs haha) and just breath and be. Have never felt so relaxed it was like a home away from home and we all can't wait to come back and see you all again.
Huge Thankyou to your whole team.
Shauna

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shauna11_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Property: Bushwise Safaris
Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing