We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total relaxation”
Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My folks and my husband and I stayed at Bushwise for 6 nights from end sept to 4th oct 2012. We had such a great time.Tim was there to pick us up from the airport and Werner was kind enough to take us back. The staff were also very accomodating to the different dietatry needs of our family.Annette is a total gem always made sure we had everything we needed.
Werner took our (crazy) family out on early morning drives most of the days we were there and cooked us breakfast at a rest camp, his knowledge and love of the bush and animals made the day a great experience. We were lucky enough to have awesome upclose game encounters.
Bushwise is a fantastic african experience and the best place to get away from it all take in the sights and sounds of the bush(even the frogs haha) and just breath and be. Have never felt so relaxed it was like a home away from home and we all can't wait to come back and see you all again.
Huge Thankyou to your whole team.
Shauna

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank shauna11_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 334 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Bushwise for 4 nights and we had a wonderful time and an unforgettable experience! If you are looking for a place where relaxing and feeling yourself in armony with the nature, the Bushwise is perfect for you. It is located inside Marloth park, near Crocodile Bridge Gate to Kruger Park. Even in Marloth park you can encounter wildlife (we met zebras and impalas driving to the lodge with our car) and the lodge organizes daily safaris to Kruger. We had two full-day safaris, one sunset-night safari and a morning walk in the bush accompained by armed guides: all was perfectly organised and in particular this last experience is really exciting and you can't miss it!
Our guide, Werner, was extraordinary in explaining us all the secrets of the bush wildlife and we had great time with him: he's a person whio loves his job and it's able to tranfer to you his passion and love for Africa nature!
Another plus is the dinner: the food is really very good and different day by day, but above all you will have it in open air space close to a warm fire in the Boma together with other guests, so you can better know other people and share with them the daily safari experiences.
In the night, on the terrace with a drink, the African sky full of stars will definitively relax body and mind... and the lack (well done!!!) of TV in the rooms make this place the best choice if you love Africa: here you can taste the real feelings this wonderful country is able to donate to people who love Nature and wildlife!
Many thanks to Tim, Annette and a special one to our safari guide, Werner!

Room Tip: We suggest you a romm on the upper floor just to profit from the wonderful view on the bush (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Bushwise with Tim and Annette for 4 nights. During that time we went to Kruger twice for a morning safari, once for an evening safari and once for a walk through the bush. Weirner took us on all the safaris and his knowledge of the animals and the place and his great stories of growing up amongst the animals and the beauty was really enjoyable.
Tim and Annette could not have been any more welcoming. Tim collected us from the airport and took us back there too. He explained what we could do around there and answered all of our questons. Annette was a real help in planning the trip via email (from my many emails from Australia).
The lodge is wonderful and peaceful. The other travellers we met and had our meals and safari with were great. Tim always made a point of everyone introducing themselves to the newcomers and that was a wonderful thing to do - as then everyone would chat amongst each other.
Our last day was spent at the lodge while others had gone on a safari - it was so peaceful and such a lovely place to relax before our trip home. Marloth Park is a wonderful place to stay......not too close to Kruger but with its own animals grazing by the roadside.

We can see why so many others have stayed there many times after.......we will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room at the top without a balcony. This was nice because you couldnt hear the frog in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed twice at the Bushwise, enjoying it both times. This is a place with character where you can relax after a long days game viewing in the nearby Kruger Park. Yet it feels as if you're still in the Kruger. You are about 20 - 25 minutes drive from the Crocodile Bridge gate and 40 minutes from Maleane gate. So you can either drive yourself or go on a game drive via the Bushwise (one full day game drive is included) with their excellent drivers. They are not like the drivers you would get in the Kruger as the Bushwise drivers will give you the information without it sounding as if its on a tape. Ask as many question as you like even crazy ones as I did the first time.
If you are a light sleeper or not used to the noises, the sounds of the wild life (e.g Lions, Hyena's, frogs) or the river flowing past if you had rain, may wake you up. But hey, you are right next to the Kruger Park and isn't this what you came for in the first place?
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Weather permitting the delicious three course meal will be served outside in the boma under the African sky with the sound of hyena's or lions in the background.
The rooms are spacious and clean (see Photo ). Both times we have had room nr. 3 and 4, situated on the first floor and offering a fantastic view over the Crocodile river.
This is a great place to come. They have guests from all over the world which adds to the charm if you enjoy meeting people.

Room Tip: We had rooms 3 + 4 which are located on the first floor overlooking the crocodile river and offer gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockape931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is in the middle of nowhere 7 hours drive from Joburg and one hour from the nearest gate into Kruger. It is just a middle market charmless home in a noisy declining housing esate miles from any Kruger gate. But prices are still moderate game lodge prices. You would do better in one of the Governnment lodges inside Kruger. Or spend a little more and stay in a real private lodge inside a reserve.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Levenberg,
Thank you so much for your honest opinion about Bushwise Safaris.
As mentioned in our directions that is sent to every guest before they arrive, we are 425 km from the OR Tambo airport in Johannesburg, and the N4 highway runs all the way from Johannesburg all the way to our door step. (Not too sure why it took you so long to get here?) There are however a few very nice places along the way where you can stop for a meal and refresh.
Although we are looking into the Kruger Park from our balcony, we are 25 km from the Crocodile Gate into the Kruger Park and 35 km from the Malelane Gate into the Kruger Park - all tar road, but there are lots to see along both roads. We stay in a lovely part of our beautiful country with orange, mango and banana plantations along the way as well as lucsious green sugar cane fields.
We are staying inside a conservancy on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, looking into the Kruger, with a spectacular view over the Crocodile river, and the animals wander freely around the lodge, this makes what we have to offer quite unique. We have giraffe, kudu, zebra, warthog, blue wildebeest and impala in our garden on a daily basis. What also makes our lodge so special is that you are allowed to take a walk between the animals on the banks of the Crocodile river along the Kruger Park fence, where you get to see the animals inside the Kruger as well, like elephants, buffalo, rhino, hippo, crocodiles and water buck. Our guests even saw a lion kill right in front of the lodge last week! Hopefully they will still share their amazing experience with everyone on Tripadvisor :-) A pity you arrived late afternoon and left the next morning and that you did not have time to experience some of this.
I realise one can not please everyone all the time, and taste differs, but we are living in paradise, which makes it so much easier to achieve.
If one has a look at our website, 'What you see is what you get'. Therefore I would strongly advise that any one planning a trip must do enough research to assure that they book a place that suites their personal taste and met their expectations.
Sincerely
Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location was great, especially for walks along the river. The carpet in the bathroom was revolting and overall I think the room was more 3*. The food was delicious. The place was not very infant friendly and we were unable to take advantage of the upstairs area. Also a frog kept us awake at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crina121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Crina
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about Bushwise Safaris, I showed our chefs what you think of their food and they appreciate it so much!
I am also very happy to be able to tell you that Tim already cought 11 frogs, taking them to another dam about 9 km from Bushwise. It is much fun to watch when he's not looking... :-). When you plan your stay with us, one must realise that this is the wild frontier of Africa, with all the amazing sounds of the night life in the African bush, isn't this one of the reasons why people chose to come and stay with us in the first place?
Not too sure why you had a problem with the carpet in the bathroom? I was concerned and went to have a look at it. I could not find anything wrong with it, it was nice and clean. Perhaps your personal preference is a tiled bathroom?
We all here at Bushwise are really hoping to see you again when your baby is a little bit bigger so that you can enjoy all the wonders that Bushwise has to offer without being concerned about your baby's safety all the time, like the upstairs swimming pool overlooking the Kruger Park and the Crocodile river. Unfortunately we can not put a net over if we have other guests who would like to make use of it too.
Thanks again for choosing Bushwise Safaris as your holiday destination.
Warm wishes from a sunny bushveld
Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed hear for four nights in August 2012 and used it as a base to drive around the southern part of Kruger National Park. Firstly it was easy to find with the directions supplied. We had breakfast and dinner supplied daily including both continental and hot breakfast and dinner was three courses so we never went hungry.

A complimentary full day game drive in the park was included and we had a great day, seeing plenty of animals and learning a lot from Werner, the excellent guide. We were also cooked breakfast overlooking a waterhole with hippos playing in it.

When we did our own driving, it didn't take too long to get to the Crocodile Bridge gate and when we did our morning walk and sunset drive Tim was more than happy to drive us down and back.

We really enjoyed our stay and it would be good for either a short or extended stay.

Sam & Robyn

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give a good view over the Crocodile River however not a must as the bar has an even b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuffmanBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 34 in Marloth Park
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 34 in Marloth Park
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
312 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#66 of 176 in Kruger National Park
121 reviews
4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: $122 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing