We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and luxury in a beautiful environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mvuradona Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oss, The Netherlands
1 review
“Relaxing and luxury in a beautiful environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

It was relaxing in a very beautiful environment. So much luxury I wasn't used to have on a vacation, but I really loved it. A nice swimming pool with a stunning view, a lot of relaxing seats, a nice living room and a very beautiful place for eating. The bedrooms were fine with a very nice shower. A walk along the fence of the Kruger Park and the river was really worth it. And not to forget the excellent cooking and service skills of Dumi! I hope one day I can enjoy another stay at Mvuradona Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LindaHTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    42
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
103
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed with family and friends for a weekend at this beautiful lodge. No Wi-Fi and limited reception for your mobile phone, but that doesn't matter. It's a nice place to chill.
The entourage ensures that you take time to enjoy your meal or play board games using the big dinner table on the terrace. Read a book on the comfortable leather sofa or at the pool. Or just enjoy the wildlife.

A giraffe passed while we were enjoying the nice pool. We quickly grabbed our camera's and run to the road for that perfect shot. To see the male giraffe on foot was very special and when we turned around saw another five giraffes. They gracefully walked across the road...beautiful!

The hospitality was very good. Dumi is a great guy. Very helpful and a good cook.
Maybe the kitchen was small and perhaps temperature rose quickly, but fully equipped.
The lodge offers stylish rooms with en suite bathrooms. Only the family room doesn't have a en suite bathroom. You have to use the bathroom on ground floor. This bathroom situated near the living room and need to be improved, but I think it is part of the renovation. The owners will extend the house on that side, including a new kitchen.
Looking forward to see the lodge after the renovation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Mvuradona Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Good day Sabrina

Thank you for your kind review:) We are happy to hear that you had a great time at Mvuradona. We are in the process with our upgrade and the family room with the downstairs bathroom have been converted to our new TV room and library. Downstairs (previous TV room) will now be our new restaurant and dining area. I am very happy to inform you that our kitchen have received a major facelift. But that is not the only area of the lodge that has received a new look! But I don't want to give too much away, you will just have to come back and experience the new and improved Mvuradona Safari Lodge!
We look forward to seeing you soon again!
Till then, happy travels:)

Warm Regards
Schantell Erasmus
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We recently stayed at Mvuradona Safari Lodge following a week in Kruger National Park. It was ideal. Our group of six had the place to ourselves and it was a little bit of luxury in the middle of our South African tour. The rooms were like pictures from a décor magazine, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were complete with rain style shower heads and all the complimentary amenities. The well-appointed common areas offered comfortable surroundings and many interesting corners to curl up with a book or snooze under cover but in the open air.
Situated beside Kruger National Park, a walk along the pathway beside the Park fencing provides an opportunity to view some wildlife while on foot, a nice change from the confines of a vehicle. We even had several four legged visitors while relaxing pool side, including a family of wart-hog, a number of impala and five giraffe.

We chose the self-catering option, however Dumi, the Lodge caretaker, quietly moved about ensuring everything was perfect; tables were set, fires were built and the common areas and rooms were tidy. His pleasant personality added to the welcoming and homey feel of the Lodge. I was surprised to see some of the older negative reviews below; the new management has obviously made significant changes. I would definitely return to Mvuradona Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Mvuradona Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Good day Stephen

Thank you for the very kind review and comments about our lodge. We are thrilled that you had a great experience and we look forward to seeing you soon again. All the best till we meet again, happy travels:)

Warm Regards
Schantell Erasmus
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

A much too short stress reliever break. Comment needs to be made regarding the friendly and exceptional service. Although we had a self-catering stay; we literally hardly lifted a finger. The rooms were neat and colonial style with adequate mosquito nets and fans strategically placed. Citronella lamps were even lit up every night. With wildebeest in the front garden whilst you lounge in the pool; and wart hogs in the back garden; and decks to view the milk way at night - I can only say our stay was too short.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Mvuradona Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We are so thrilled that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mvuradona soon again! All the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went there with friends &our kids, we had a nice time especially with Dumisani's hospitality, Dumisani is the chef & also a cleaner. The lodge is quite nice however it is not as clean as the 4star lodge should be, the place need some serious clean up &fumigation. The owner needs to hire more staff & not leave one man to do everything.Overall Mvudona is in quite and lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baranchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyto10
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I spent another two night at Mvuradona last week after a few nights in the Kruger. Again we were welcomed very well and our spacious room was fabulous, with our own balcony and the most beautiful toilet. Jay and on site manager Jackie were both very quick to help organise a trip to Swaziland the next day and a morning bush walk in the Kruger on our second morning. Our meals were lovely and the attention to detail was greatly appreciated. On the second night some resident Zebras joined us :) A sunset walk beside the Kruger fence was lovely, especially after spending 4 days in a car spotting the big 5 and more!

Even when our hire car wouldn't start all the staff were quick to help us in any way they could. Like our wonderful stay two years ago, my husband and I had a lovely stay at Mvuradona and would recommend it to all. Our comfort and enjoyment was their priority.

Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peyto10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Booked into Mvaradona on the 16th of October 2012. After looking at the pictures on the internet, it looked stunning and just want we wanted! When we arrived we thought we were at the wrong place. To which the receptionist replied, dont worry everyone is shocked. The place is in the middle of Marloth park, has a broken down bakkie on the lawn. We checked in hoping it would be better. The bathrooms were old and dirty, tiles were missing. There was no hot water, the shower didnt drain so you were standing in a puddle of your dirty water. The Pool was disgusting. Oh and the riverview it is a dusty sand road. The bed was so old you could feel the springs in your back when you moved. We checked out the next day and requested a refund Jay said no, that they were full, and had to turn people away. There was no one else there! She refuses to answer my agents calls and wont return my money! DONT BE FOOLED IT IS LESS THAN A 1* PROPERTY! Jay you are a disgrace keeping my money when you lied about your property! AVOID THIS PLACE! We will be taking legal action against Jay as she is stealing from us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
1.4 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.1 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.2 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#1 of 13 in Komatipoort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mvuradona Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuradona Safari Lodge

Property: Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Address: Cnr. Seekoei & Raasblaar Road | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1321, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mvuradona Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mvuradona you are guaranteed to experience the peace and tranquility of the bushveld. Your stay with us will leave you relaxed, well rested and filled with memories of an unforgettable wild life experience. Mvuradona lies in the heart of the bushveld with wildlife on our doorstep. Take a stroll or bicycle ride along the riverbank where daily sightings of animal and bird life are a certainty. Our riverside accommodation depicts an authentic African thatch lodge with suites beautifully appointed in white linens and teak furniture. Large rooms and open communal areas promote a warm atmosphere and a feeling of personal space Relax, take a deep breath, and enjoy the splendour of Mvuradona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mvuradona Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing