We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took my money and ran”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2008

I booked the lodge for June/July of 2009 by sending approximately $250 to reserve our spot. When we booked, I asked about the cancellation policy. Jay, the lodge owner, told me that it was a full refund if cancelled 60 days or more in advance. We had to cancel our trip and depsote 3 requests to credit my card for the refund, Jay has not repsonded -or-refunded my card.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank kimeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 27, 2011

This is so unfortunate, as the guest has been refunded. At the time of cancellation of booking, we responded to the guest on email which kept bouncing back undelivered. We desperatley needed the credit card details to do the refund. The guest profile also had no telephone contact details. After much frustration, the refund was eventually processed with the help of the banks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2008

Our visit to Mvuradona in Marloth Park was a truly memorable and unforgettable experience. Having booked a Virgin 8 day tour for our family of 7 starting from Kruger and going on to Mozambique and Swaziland, I decided to add on a night on either side of the tour. I am so glad I found Mvuradona through tripadvisor! On entering Marloth park we immediately saw an elephant with her calf, some rhino, buffalo and monkeys. Our flight was delayed 3 hours so we arrived at the lodge too late for the evening game walk which was included in the package. However, Sandra, the manager, said she would take us for an early morning walk instead. She showed us to our rooms which were so "African" and extremely comfortable. The cook then grilled chicken around the open fire and we tucked in to a delicious meal served on the verandah - several warthogs also tried to join in! However, it was the early morning walk that will live in our minds. It is just a few minutes walk to the Crocodile river and within half an hour we saw a pride of lions appear on the opposite bank of the river (which is in Kruger Park) and stroll magificently along the riverbank. It was a bit scary being so close and only separated by a thin wire fence but Sandra assured that none of the guests had become breakfast to date!! There were plenty of other animals to see, including buffalo, zebra, warthogs, impala, kudu and leopard.

The walk was followed by a delicious breakfast, again served on the verandah alongside the swimming pool.

Mvuradona is not 5 star luxury (it gets pretty close) but if you want a truly African experience in a very beautiful and unspoilt area close to Kruger with wonderful hosts and very reasonable prices, this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Graham2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

What can I say - I came looking for an authentic African experience, and I ended up with a new extended family!

I travel a lot, and I cannot ever remember feeling more at home and more welcome and taken care of than at Mvuradona.

I was traveling with a friend - our first time in South Africa, and we had no idea what to expect. From the pre-reservation phase, Jay could not have been more helpful and accomodating! We had a fantastic itinerary put together before we got there!

The care into the details of everything from the activites, to the food to the Cadbury chocolate on my pillow every night was incredible.

Jay is one awesome lady, Sandra and Jessie are the perfect hostesses, and can they ever cook!!!!!

The place is gorgeous, perfect location - nice being outside Kruger because it allowed for flexibility in activities. And we had visitors - zebras, warthogs, birds and even a few animals I heard at night but didn't see!

t's always a bit scary choosing a place for a vacation and not knowing what to expect - I really got lucky this time - and rest asssured you will too!! I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohdonnaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Myself and a friend stayed at Mvuradona over Easter weekend 2007. Prior to arrival, I found Jay's emails to be pleasant and she was very patient with us as our plans changed and we asked frequent questions.

The location of the lodge is wonderful, only 15 minutes from the Crocodile Bridge Gate, and situated in an area that is rich with animals itself, but safe to explore on foot during the day. One can even walk to the Kruger fence, and watch the larger animals at the river.

Our room was clean and well-maintained, though we spent little time inside of it. Meals were served buffett-style for all guests and were very tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopheliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
591
Reviewed April 12, 2005

Just returned from a 10 day trip around the Kruger National park, staying at 5 different luxury lodges and Mvuradona was by far the best. As a family with 2 teenage children, we were looking for the luxury safari experience at a reasonable price - a tall order, but Mvuradona fitted the bill perfectly. It is a small lodge situated in the private Marloth Conservancy on the Crocodile River, bordering the southern Kruger, from where it is only about 20 minutes into the park via the Crocodile Gate entrance. However, you don't need to go into the park to see animals. Along the long river frontage, we saw herds of elephant and buffalo, impala and zebra were in the grounds and warthogs wandered into the garden.
The style of the lodge is luxurious - classically african, tastefully mixed with antiques. It is definitely worth upgrading. We stayed in the gorgeous luxury suite with its en-suite bathroom, with Victorian cast iron bath and large balcony overlooking the river and the children had the huge family room, which easily slept 4. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for the owner Jay and her team. After drinks and cooling face towells to freshen up, we were soon whisked off for sundowners and delicious home-made nibbles on the banks of the river, where the game viewing was excellent. Dinner was either served on an upstairs balcony under the stars, listening to the distant calls of lion or in the elegant dining room and there is a boma for after dinner tales around the fire. The food was first class - even the al-fresco breakfast cooked in the bush on a game drive and served on a white tablecloth! Jay organises all sorts of excursions - from the usual game drives to more unusual trips to the sea in neighbouring Mozambique. Simon, the game warden is excellent and kept our children thoroughly entertained on a Tiger fishing trip on the river, where they saw hippo and crocodile. The game vieving in the area is superb but it was hard to drag ourselves away from the luxury of the lodge. Jay is the perfect hostess and her attention to detail - from the decanters of drinks in the bedroom to the luxury toiletries in the bathroom are what makes Mvuradona stand out from other lodges in this price range. We were lucky enough to have the lodge to ourselves as we arrived just after the Easter rush but our 3 nights wasn't long enough. Next time we'll go back for longer.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Mvuradona Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: O quarto Bush foi uma excelente escolha! O quarto honeymoon fica no segundo andar e tem uma vista ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolinaPiovesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Mvuradona Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marloth Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
449 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
243 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royale Marlothi Safari Lodge
Royale Marlothi Safari Lodge
#13 of 34 in Marloth Park
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
392 reviews
4.4 mi away
Turaco Lodge
Turaco Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mvuradona Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuradona Safari Lodge

Address: Cnr. Seekoei & Raasblaar Road | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1321, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: $120 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mvuradona Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mvuradona you are guaranteed to experience the peace and tranquility of the bushveld. Your stay with us will leave you relaxed, well rested and filled with memories of an unforgettable wild life experience. Mvuradona lies in the heart of the bushveld with wildlife on our doorstep. Take a stroll or bicycle ride along the riverbank where daily sightings of animal and bird life are a certainty. Our riverside accommodation depicts an authentic African thatch lodge with suites beautifully appointed in white linens and teak furniture. Large rooms and open communal areas promote a warm atmosphere and a feeling of personal space Relax, take a deep breath, and enjoy the splendour of Mvuradona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mvuradona Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing