We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Turaco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turaco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This beautiful lodge has 3 rooms and a plunge pool. Being in Marloth Park is great as there are so many animals within the area including giraffes, zebras, kudus, impalas, warthogs etc. The gate to Kruger Park is around 25 minutes from the lodge. Tony and Danielle were brilliant! It was really interesting to hear all their stories. They both have so much knowledge on Kruger and where to find the animals and bird life. As well as the day trip to Kruger, I can recommend doing the sundowner trip. Both trips were really enjoyable thanks to Tony. Danielle's food is delicious, don't miss out on her muffins! She made sure we were well fed throughout our stay. They were really flexible on our last night when we requested a South African BBQ, which was one of the highlights of our trip. They really went above and beyond to ensure we had a pleasant stay.There is no wifi but who needs it while you are in the bush!?! Danielle has a laptop which we used for hotel bookings for our next destination. I have taken home so many nice memories from our 3 night stay. Having no idea where to stay before arriving into South Africa, I'm really happy with our choice and will definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sona_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi Sona. Thank you so much for the positive review - we really appreciate you taking the time out to post this for Turaco Lodge. We really enjoyed having you and Martin stay with us; the opportunity to share our little piece of the African bush with you both was our pleasure. We look forward to the possibility of you staying at Turaco Lodge again in the future. All the best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
62
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

From arrival to sad departure, our experiences at this lodge far exceeded our already high expectations. The staff were amazing and the guided game drives between delicious meals and relaxing swims changed our view of the bush forever. Rooms were truly luxurious and atmosphere was warm and homey.

Thanks a lot and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadebird140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Jade. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge, we really appreciate it. We loved having you guys here, and little Kaydon is the cutest baby! Hope to have you stay with us again in the not too distant future. All the best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My spouse and a friend, working in Maputo for a few months, needed a weekend getaway to Kruger in July. We loved Turaco Lodge! From the initial booking to the transfers to the game drives, meals, accommodation, and good-byes ... Danielle and Tony were fabulous. From animals to birds to politics, Tony was a knowledgable and good-humored guide. Danielle's food was delicious. Thanks for trademark South African hospitality ... it was a return visit for David and me, a first visit for Heather; all of us look forward to many more to come!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
HI Matthew. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge, and for the very kind words. It really was our pleasure to have you all stay with us. We would love to have you stay with us again, should you ever travel this way in the future. All the best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

It is our first time in South Africa. We decided to stay out of the Kruger which turned out to be a great decision. This place has all the animals by the fence which gives a great safari experience. During our walk in Marloth, we saw lions! And also lots of Elephants, giraffes, fed the Zebras and more, all thanks to Tony's great knowledge of the area. The drive to the Kruger gate is short and comfortable. But the greatest value is the amazing and friendly owners who made our stay memorable, comfortable and extremely pleasant. We had the greatest time, beyond what we could imagine! Thank you Tony and Danielle, our South African friends will definitely come visit you as well!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yardeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Hello Yardeny family! We really enjoyed having you stay at Turaco Lodge and the opportunity to show you our wonderful wildlife! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for the Lodge, we really appreciate it. We trust you had a safe journey home. All the best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

There are hotels. Then there are Boutique Hotels (which Turaco defines themselves as), then there's this place, which is far beyond either of those two. Let me explain.

Even before I stayed, I had questions and wanted to set up bookings. Tony and Danielle were always prompt in their response, and had no problem setting things up. Upon arrival, Tony was waiting at the airport for us (as we ordered a pick-up), and was incredibly friendly. Even from the start, they go out of their way to make your stay incredible. For example, Tony explained they were holding the dinner for us until we got there the evening. On the note of food. Its absolutely delicious. I don't think I've eaten that well in a long time. Dinner was a 3 course meal, and breakfast was big too!

Not that there will ever be a lot of guests staying there, but we were fortunate enough that we had the lodge all to ourselves for the majority of our stay. That meant during our Safari Tony took us on, we were the only ones in the vehicle. Tony (and Danielle) were both great guides through Kruger. They knew loads of places to go to see tons of wildlife. Additionally, they were very knowledgeable about the animals, plants, wildlife, and park itself. We had troubles seeing Lions during our stay, and I know they went above and beyond to try to find some!

The lodge itself is beautiful. The rooms are spacious enough and very clean. There is a wonderful back area with a small fire pit, where you can watch animals like Zebras just wander up to you. The location is perfect too. Only about a 20 minute drive to one of the Kruger gates.

What made the stay special wasn't the lodge, the food, location, etc... It was Tony and Danielle themselves. They truly enjoy what they do, and it clearly shows. I didn't feel like a guest staying at a hotel, I really about felt like I was spending time at home during college break. That's how well taken care of we felt. While a lot of times, reviews can be relative based on others in the area, I have no problem saying that this is one of the best places I've stayed at ever, in any country. Absolutely stay here if you have the opportunity. I don't doubt they will do everything they can to make your time there incredible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefg1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Stefan! Wow, what an awesome review! Thank you so much for all the great things you said about us and Turaco Lodge. It makes everything we do and the passion we feel so worth it! Tony & I really hope that we will see you again someday. Take care and give our regards to Sue. Season's Greetings too. All the best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and me have been staying at Turaco Lodge for two nights last August. We loved this place: several times we have seen giraffes and kudus right in our garden and we had the chance to feed them! Danielle and Tony are amazing and very kind, rooms are spacious and well furnished, we really felt like being home. They pay a lot of attentions to details, they created an elegant and unique place! Danielle is a gourmet: she usually prepares very particular meals. We strongly suggest to go there!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aribuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hello Arianna. Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to post this for Turaco Lodge. We enjoyed your stay here, and hope that we will see you both again one day! Take care and Season's Greetings to you Davide. Kindest regards, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at Turaco Lodge for three nights in september 2013. It was my first visit to South Africa and Marloth Park. The hosts Tony and Danielle was very friendly and made me feel welcome from the first minute. I was travelling alone and happened to be the only guest at Turaco, so beside the fantastic Kruger park I really enjoyed the evenings with good food and interesting conversations with T&D. The house itself was very beautiful with a pool and a large veranda where you can sit and eat or drink or look at animals passing by. I had a very good time at Turaco and I can recommend this lodge to my best friends.

Room Tip: All three rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnus g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Magnus. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge on TripAdvisor - much appreciated. We enjoyed your visit so much and really hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again, perhaps with your wife next time. Take care. Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
0.5 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turaco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turaco Lodge

Property: Turaco Lodge
Address: 171 Kudu Street, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turaco Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turaco Lodge offers the traveller an exclusive, tailor-made bush experience. Availability is limited with only 6 guests at a time in the lodge. Situated in Marloth Park on the southern boundary of Kruger National Park, in the heart of a wildlife conservancy with free roaming wildlife. Personal service, good food, friendly atmosphere. Best place for a breakaway from stressful city living. Experience The Kruger National Park and the South African bush in a whole new way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turaco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing