We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Savanna Pride”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khaya Umdani Guest Houses
Ranked #1 of 8 Marloth Park B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Savanna Pride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

What an amazing place. The house is in excellent condition, with everything you need. You just take your clothes, food and drinks. We had the most awesome experiences with the animals. They really come as near as a few metres from the house, grazing the whole day on the front grass and tree branches. (Giraffe's, zebra's, ostriches, warthogs, blue wildebeest.) If you are a bird watcher, this is also the place for you. AMAZING, EXCELLENT, HEAVENLY FOR SURE.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lenzie UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were met by Louise on the tar road and followed her into the bush past Khaya Romantica where we were expecting to stay and continued to Khaya Umdani where we discovered, to our good fortune,that we had been upgraded. What a nice and unexpected start to our stay which was just perfect from beginning to end!

Before writing this review I have read some of the others. They are all five star and deservedly so. You can do the same so I wont repeat everything that has been mentioned before but I emphasize that I fully endorse all the positive comments that have been made previously and cannot think of one single negative comment that even the fussiest of holidaymakers could make.When writing I would run out of superlatives. Please just take my word for it,and that of all the previous reviews, that Khaya Umdani is a very special and beautiful African themed home expertly run by the owners who will, without intruding on your privacy, go to extraordinary lengths to ensure that you have all the material things, information and advice you need to have a fantastic time here and in the surrounding area.

I have only two regrets;

1. We were not here for long enough, only for three nights.

2. We did not manage to see the bushbabies though something ate the banana and
yoghurt put out at night to bribe an appearance!

Thank you Louise, Danie and your team for making our time at Khaya Umdani such a success.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and have different decorative themes. The one that stands out is the hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notthisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I you want to go on a Safari in South Africa you have to stay here.

Reasons:
- Close to Kruger Park gate
- Wonderfull lodge that is private and secluded. NO NEIGHBOURS EXCEPT MAYBE A ZEBRA!
- Perfect for small groups & families
- The owners are not present in the lodge which we liked. But they where always there for us assisting with free advice, free organisation, free ... free ...
- They made us felt welcome and we felt like HOME.
- Price vs Quality: PERFECT
- Lovely Boma

Only on small thing: The housekeeper did not really speak english. That made interaction with them difficult. But the owners told them what to do.


Come here and you might not want to leave again. We spend a week here with 4 adults and 4 kids from 4 - 13 years.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X-ACON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ein Ayala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stay at the Khaya Umdani house at end of July and I can say that despite our experience in very nice houses in many other places, the Khaya Umdani is a top standard by himself. The rooms are very specious, comfortable and very nicely decorated, the kitchen is highly equipped with all needed accessories and the house surrounding including the balcony, the pool, the barbecue and the fire place are very special. The house is very close to the crocodile gate, which provided us with fast and computable access to the Kruger park. On top of that the hospitality, the care and the fast response of Louise made the stay in the house to be a great choice.
Thanks
Galia, Ronen and Kids

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aharon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently enjoyed a magnificent 7 days at Khaya Umdani and Khaya Romantica for a big family reunion. The accommodation was excellent - plenty of room for adults and children to relax and enjoy the superb surroundings in luxury. With the Kruger Park only 20 minutes away, it was a great place to stay and enjoy the tranquility of the African bush. Thanks to Louise for your great hospitality and personal touches to make my parent's Golden Wedding Anniversary so memorable!

Theresa White ~ Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My father booked both these properties for 16 of us to gather for a family reunion in July, travelling from Cape Town, the UK and Canada. These fabulous properties in Marloth Park were the perfect place for us to all enjoy this very special occasion. They were very well appointed and exceptionally comfortable and Khaya Umdani had plenty of space for us all to sit around one table for family meals. Louise was very helpful in helping us with moving furniture around-largest sitting was for 21! We ranged in age from 6 to 75 and everyone enjoyed every aspect of this special place. I would love to visit again and would urge anyone reading this to go for it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gen_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a fantastic week with Louise and Danie at Khaya Umdani. Amazing hospitality, gorgeous house and food to die for. We opted for the all inclusive package and it was truly money well spent. All arrangements were perfect and when we decided on a change mid week Louise and Danie dealt with our requests with grace and skill. Kruger Park on your doorstep (we spotted the Big 5)and superb accommodation to return to after a days game drive. What more could you ask for.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stacker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
0.5 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
6.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.8 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Umdani Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Umdani Guest Houses

Property: Khaya Umdani Guest Houses
Address: Korhaan 2907, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation on the doorstep of Kruger National Park. You choose between self catering or a fully inclusive package. 10 luxury appointed en suite bedrooms with either king size or 2 single beds, white 100 % cotton linen, high standard of comfort and luxury. Here animals still roam free and daily visits from warthog, zebra, giraffe, blue wildebeest, impala, etc are common. Come and experience a true South African Bushveld hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Khaya Umdani Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing