We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week at Khaya Umdani”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khaya Umdani Guest Houses
Ranked #1 of 9 Marloth Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Khaya Umdani is an absolutely fabulous vacation rental. The house is spacious, tastefully decorated and equipped with everything one needs to feel at home. We stayed as a group of six family and friends and all agree that this was one of the top vacation homes we had experienced out of many rentals in Europe and the States. The experience was enhanced by our hosts, Louise and Danie, who were available at any time to help with expert suggestions, tour bookings and general information. Our mantra as the week went by became “trust Louise” and we were never disappointed with the outcome. We would all recommend Khaya Umdani without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prof2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed with husband and 2 kids in Khaya for one week in April 2013. For the first 3 nights we stayed in 677 Hornbill and when Khaya Romantica became vacant, Louise and Danie moved us.
677 Hornbill is a lovely house, a two bedroom suite house with a private small pool very pleasant and cozy. The upstairs room has a small seating area with TV, DSTV, DVD etc. and a sleeper couch, a door leading to a bedroom suite with a real comfy bed. All bedrooms in all their houses have private bathrooms with separate bath and shower. The area is very quiet indeed except for the bush noises which for one I find very pleasant, even that one annoying bird that just wont chute up. You are in the bush, and it comes with the package.
Then we moved to Khaya Romantica, what a lovely house, really tastefully decorated, two fridges, fully equipped kitchen with all you could possible need and more.
Louise and Danie run the place to perfection, they are incredible hostesses, with impeccable taste and really care that you are well.
Khaya Romantica is a three bedroom, each more beautiful than the other, excellent linen, beautiful rock pool, excellent braai area(s), and I'm just sorry that I couldn't stay longer than I did. I loved the place.
They took us to visit Khaya Umdani when it was vacant and I was amazed on how beautiful it also is. A bigger house with 5 bedroom suites, big dining are and lounge, great spacious seating areas, lovely rock pool as well with a boma and braai area too, just more spacious and bigger than Romantica.
Images say a lot more than words so I'm posting the ones a took from romantica and Umdani.
Again Thank you so much Louise for the lovely dinner you cooked for us, it was just perfect and we all loved it.
I do recommend staying in Khaya Umdani properties, you will be very well taken care off and I'm sure the only problem will be when you have to leave. You just don't want to.
Thank you so much Louise and Danie for a lovely experience and I will be back, just hope that it will be still this year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Khaya Umdani for the first week of our trip to SA. Louise and Danie are perfect hosts and helped arrange everything from our transport from Jo burg to a bush braii and yoghurt for the bush babiesand even offering to rescue us when we were stuck at Crocodile bridge!!! The house is fully stocked with everything you could ever need and the wild life comes right up to the house, so sitting on the verandah is always a fun experience! We would love to stay here again and highly recommend this home and Louise and Danie are simply the nicest hosts. Just a short walk and you are at the fence of Kruger and can see the animals in the park. Such a special place and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our family stayed with Danie and Louise for a few weeks at 677 Hornbill. Everything was arranged perfectly for us. Louise met us to show the place - a lovely private location surrounded by nature. The house was ideal - 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Great for a small family. Louise had provided us with a delicious meal on arrival so we didn't have to worry about food the first evening. The house has everything that you need for a relaxing break, including a small splashpool to cool off in during the afternoon heat. Anytime we needed anything, Danie or Louise stopped by quickly to help us out. We have to say that Louise responded to any e-mail or text message almost immediately which really made us feel secure and in good hands.

The area is a perfect base for exploring Kruger - only a short drive to the Crocodile Bridge Gate. In addition, Marloth Park has all sorts of animals wandering around - so you might see giraffes, zebras, kudu and others coming for a visit at the house.

Louise sorted out any trips that we wanted to do on top of the usual self-drive safari. Our favourites were the early morning bush walk with guides in the park and the night drive and bush BBQ. Outstanding experiences!

Many thanks to Louise and Danie for making the holiday so easy and comfortable. Well worth recommending!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_and_Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Fabulous two month stay with Danie and Louise at a couple of their properties in Marloth Park!!
We arrived at the end of October to stay at 677 Hornbill for a month in a self catering house with beautifull linen, bedding, braii area and outdoor fire area just perfect for the Poitjkie pot :) On arrival we were met personally by them at the house ( never before in marloth had this happened!) a welcome change and were shown where everything was from the lights, to the wood supplied for the braii and fire etc. The kitchen cupboards were supplied with olive oil and nearly any type of spice you could desire. Milk in the fride, tea bags, espresso coffee beans and machine!! What service :)

They organised for our friends to take a walk into Kruger and a night Drive with dinner under the stars in the dead of night in Kruger!! The cleaning staff namely Pummi and her trusty helpers were absolutely magnificent in the cleaniliness and friendliness that they supplied. An overall Magical time spent there with numerous visitors from either the Warthogs, Giraffe, Kudu, Zebra, Hornbills, Genets and Bush Babys most days. The house being in Marloth park is in such close proximity to Kruger National Park which is about a 15 minute drive to the Crocodile Bridge Gate we tried to go every third day at least!!


We then Moved into Khaya Romantica for a week which is just absolutely stunning with its Lekker pool, amazing Braii area, fabulous hand made wooden furniture, stunning views over the tree tops into Kruger, and the usual hospitality of the staff and of course Danie and Lousie. Also the usual generosity with the spices and i forgot to mention the water also supplied was in abundance!!The house was much larger than Hornbill and would be perfect for families as there are three large bedrooms all ensuite with the exquisite bedding and linen, huge lounge room upstairs complete for dstv for those lazy days and huge veranda upstairs leading off the lounge complete with gas braii. Even though we were only a couple the house just felt so magical and the bush babys every night here were just fabulous :)

We got to take a peek at Khaya Umdani as well which was absolutely stunning a must for those of you with larger groups!!!!! Just beautifull you will just have to go and see for yourself.

Danie and Louise as hosts were courteous, helpfull, full of knowledge and only too willing to help you with anything at all. Always a smile and a laugh with them just absolutely amazing and wonderfull people. You will be so lucky and thankfull if you get to meet them and stay with them in any of the properties they own or run.

Thanks again Danie and Louise you made our holiday an absolutely amazing time with a trip to Maputo wow!! And a trip over the border to Sun City restaurant in the middle of a village!!

Bri and Zac from Australia

Room Tip: Khaya Romantica for families, couples or small groups. Khaya Umdani for larger families, or a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A wonderful setting and lived up to expectations presented in website. Friendly owners and staff happy to help you make the most of your stay. Within easy reach of Kruger Park. We were a family of 5 adults and 4 children (all under age of 12).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

What a great luxury bush house. We were 4 adults and 5 children. Attention to detail, location, etc. We made use of the self catering facility in the house. Fully equiped kitchen, you can cook for a King! Half an hour drive to Crocodile Bridge Gate in the Kruger National park, seperated by the Crocodile River. Great accommodation when you want to visit the Kruger national park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tanjavdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marloth Park hotels
3.9 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 37 in Marloth Park
451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tusk Bush Lodge
Tusk Bush Lodge
#4 of 9 in Marloth Park
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kruger Riverside Lodge
Kruger Riverside Lodge
#2 of 9 in Marloth Park
9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 37 in Marloth Park
394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 37 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Umdani Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Umdani Guest Houses

Address: Korhaan 2907, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Marloth Park
Price Range: $196 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation on the doorstep of Kruger National Park. You choose between self catering or a fully inclusive package. 10 luxury appointed en suite bedrooms with either king size or 2 single beds, white 100 % cotton linen, high standard of comfort and luxury. Here animals still roam free and daily visits from warthog, zebra, giraffe, blue wildebeest, impala, etc are common. Come and experience a true South African Bushveld hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Khaya Umdani Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing