We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Khaya Umdani Guest Houses
Nearby Hotels
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge(Marloth Park)
$109
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$100
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
$1,789
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate(Skukuza)(Great Value!)
$180
$173
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$57
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$207
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kruger Boutique Hotel(Marloth Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
93
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush babiesdream come trueafrican themeroom upstairsour week staythank you so muchwatching the animalsmorning walkenjoyed our stayan amazing placenight safarithe rivercrocodile gatelouiseverandakayaromantica
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 102 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The property was everything promised. The attention to detial by the owners was second to none. We reffered to the house as the magic house. We would leave a house needing cleaning in the morning and whenw e returned in the evening the house including laundry was done an food on the table never mind the fridge restocked with beer. It was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkgvgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

After having stayed at Khaya Romantica (another lodge in Marloth, also owned by Danie and Louise), we thought this was the ideal place for us to stay. But after having experienced Khaya Umdani, we now have two ideal places to stay. Just like Khaya Romantica, this lodge offers everything you need to enjoy a relaxing getaway. The way that the house and garden/ veranda are equiped and the attention that is given to every detail make clear that the owners really do all they can to make your stay perfect. Not just a good fridge, but a very large fridge, filled with am impressive stock of ice cubes and a big bottle of water. Not only properly working bath rooms but five bathrooms, including one with a jaccuzi. Not only a barbecue but also a barbecue that works on gas and an open fire place. And I could go on like that for a while. And a lot of thought has been given to the design and the decoration of the house, which we liked very much. The location of the lodge is perfect. The garden is private and it is only a short and pleasant ride to Kruger Park. While we were relaxing on the veranda, we enjoyed regular visits from the warthogs that lived close to the house and from the bush babies that live in a tree in the garden. Our children enjoyed the pool very much and were a bit noisy, I guess otherwise we would have seen more animals around the house. Apart from the lodge itself and its location, it should be mentioned that the service that is provided by Danie and Louise and by caretaker Laurika is world-class. Both for work and holidays I have stayed at a lot of hotels around the world, but never have I experienced such dedication.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_thijssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My wife and I had the privilege to spent our 20th wedding anniversary at Khaya Umdani.
This was the ultimate romantic experience for anyone looking for 'n luxurious, private get-away in the bush. There was absolutely not one aspect for which I can rate this guesthouse less than 5 stars.
If you want to share a real African experience with wildlife abound, make sure that you do not miss out on a visit to Khaya Umdani.
Thanks Louise for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTFM37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We selected the complete package: we were picked up at the airport, the meals were prepared for us, we had rangers for the safaris with their open cars, plus this nicely decorated house. Everything was marvelous. A great pleasure for everyone. And the staff selected was really friendly. The location, just outside Krugger park, was already full of animals: zebras, warthogs, giraffes, impalas, ...
We definitely recommend this house and the full package.
One event not to be missed: the diner in the wild inside Krugger Park.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syno64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

In July 2010 we stayed in this magnificent lodge for 10 days. We are a Belgian family with 4 children (age 11/13/15/17). The house is big, very clean, amazingly decorated and in a very beautiful environment. The beds sleep very well. The safari room is amazing. One night I slept there with my daughter and a herd of zebra's in the garden woke us up! Can you imagine that? Lots of other animals come to the house. In winter you can feed them. This was truly awesome for our children.
We even renewed our wedding vows in the garden of the house. We arranged a priest and Louise and Dani (the owners) and Louis and Laurika (the caretakers) turned the terras into a 'bush wedding chapel'. This was so nice! They helped us turning this day into something we can enjoy every day. They cooked us a nice traditional dinner as well. The house is also close to the Kruger Park which makes it easy to arrange a day trip to this beautiful park.
Because we were there during winter, it gets dark and cold very early. You can sit around a lovely bonfire and listen to the sounds of the bush or watch TV. Evenings are rather long, but for us this was not a problem.
Next year we will be back and we hope to keep coming back! You really should visit Khaya Umdani, it is a lovely place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drieske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews