We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times - Great Staff at Phumula! A+ Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phumula Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great times - Great Staff at Phumula! A+ Recommended”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a great time in our recent stay with the Phumula Lodge "family" - The staff went out of their way to accommodate everyone. They not only took great care of us and all our needs, they also were great resources with all the options for the area. The food, the accommodations were all excellent. Then, to see the wildlife walking around where we were - was amazing! We did one night safari and 2 day safaris. This whole experience was like an "African Dream" - I would highly recommend the Phumula Lodge and the team for a great, relaxing time for any family, couples or group of friends.
Thank you all for a most wonderful time! We all hope to get to come back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms are lodges - cabin style. Depending on how many people are in your party. We stayed near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    46
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
40
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at this lodge for 3 nights and did a two day safari. The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Our group left feeling like we were leaving family behind! The rooms and view were beautiful! The food was wonderful! We got to experience African dishes several times prepared by the fabulous cooks who also sang to us! The safari was AMAZING! Our driver,Dylan, was kind and did a wonderful job as Safari guide. I can't wait until my next trip to Kruger park. I will definitly be staying at Phumala Lodge and visiting with Maria, Tome, Dylan and all the other wonderful staff there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mleesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

well we visited the pumula again this year and the place is still heaven on earth .
the lodges(rustic looking) are very clean and comfy ,well worth a visit ,set in marlot park a private houseing and game reserve ,the food is first class and not over priced by any means (we stayed 4 night and ate out for the duration 4 people wine, food and beer every night and payed £200 for the lot ) now thats value .,
the park has kudu ,zebra ,giraffe ect , walking around its very safe during the day and the game hides over looking the river look on to the kruger park , where all the big 5 can be seen ,
At night you need to take care as there are the odd big cat coming around now and again .
any way maria her mum and the staff at the pumula make you very welcome , your a person not just a number or cash dispencer like some place i could name ,
nothing is ever to much and they love to help people .
maria was kind enough to organise a couple of fishing trips for my self at very short notice and a visit to the suger cane factory (well worth a visit).
at no charge which was very nice of her as most place charge for every thing .
if Maria , her mum and dad ever need staff i would jump at the chance to work and stay there Honest there supurb .
oh and its only 10 minute from the crocodile bridge entrance to the krugernational park .
any way if you can get there please do you wont be disapointed .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOPCATDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Actually we stayed at Phumula Kruger Lodge in June 2010, during the World Cup in S.Africa. One brazilian friend recommended the Lodge and she knew what she was talking about.
Phumula Kruger Lodge has a great structure, confortable rooms, amazing restaurant. The 2 safaris that we've done were amazing. The staff is very friendly and creates a great environment for your trip. Maria is a fantastic person.
The safari were very nice. Maria husband (the tour guide) is very friendly too and knows a lot...
Overall, it is a fantastic place and I strongly recommend.
If you go there you will be able to see the jerseys we left from Ponte Preta (soccer team in Brazil) as a gift in the restaurant area!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnursmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The words to describe our stay in Phumula: great, awesome, outstanding!
Staff is very nice and friendly and really know how to make oneself feel welcomed. Me and my friends really enjoyed the two days we spent there and Maria&Heinrich took care that we had everything we needed all the time.The safari was just something that you have see for yourself! i can only recommed Phumula Kruger Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noukatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Phumula Lodge saved our vacation. We checked in to another place our first night in SA only to find a dead mouse had been decaying for about two weeks. We quickly contacted Maria through her "leopard whisperer" husband, Heinrich, who took us out on safari. Maria welcomed us with open arms and we spent two lovely days touring Kruger and relaxing at Phumula in the evening. Dinner was always special due to the atmosphere of the lodge and the warmth of the staff. We'll return at some point for a longer stay as the weather was perfect this time of year. We traveled to Cape Town and Franschoek afterwards and didn't have a bad meal or any rain for 12 days.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoemadg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
1.1 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phumula Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phumula Kruger Lodge

Property: Phumula Kruger Lodge
Address: 2232 Rinkhals street, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phumula Kruger Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star graded , Phumula Kruger Lodge is situated in Marloth Park bordering the Kruger National Park, between Malelane and Komatipoort, close to Mozambique(30km) and Swaziland. Come and enjoy the peace of the African bush and relieve your stress . After hearing the lions at night, wake up to the sound of the Fish eagle calling, just in time to see the beautiful African sun rise- you're not alone...Phumula, meaning rest, is the ideal resting place. Our 3 star graded lodge is situated in Marloth Park, close to Mozambique and Kruger National Park. Centrally located, we serve as a basis from where Mozambique and Kruger National Park can easily be reached. We take pride in our hospitality and friendly service. As we roam on our hospitality and friendly service, we have been described as Bella Bellisimo by some of our Italian guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Phumula Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing