We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like I was Meryl Streep in Out of Africa”
Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I felt like I was Meryl Streep in Out of Africa”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Maqueda lodge is comfortable and elegant. It looks better in person than it does on the webpage, which is very rare and delightful to experience (as we have all seen great looking rooms on the Internet only to find that they don't live up to the image.)
So, Etienne and the rest of the family are great hosts- great conversationalists, but aware when it is time for you to want to do your own thing. The food- breakie and dinner are gourmet. I felt spoiled and my belly replete. I am a vegetarian and that was no problem for getting a delicious meal.
The only drawback was having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
203
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the Maqueda lodge and they will be unforgettable. The lodge is mid in the bush and is not far away from the Kruger Park’s crocodile gate. The 4 rooms are tasteful furnished, very clean with big bathrooms having rain forest showers. The room upstairs has an open-air living room furnished with family antics.
A family, living in the lodge, owns the lodge and they make you feel part of it. Very warm welcome and sundown at the river nearby (we saw crocodiles on the sand banks and a lot of birds)
Etienne cooks dinner in the open-air dining room with candle lights and dimmed lights. He is a fabulous cook and we enjoyed his food very much.
Etienne also organized a day trip in the Kruger Park with opened car. The guide, Lucas, was very professional and friendly; we saw a cheetah family (mother and 2 kids) who were a few meters away from us.
Breakfast in the lodge: fresh fruits, eggs, cold cuts cereals and to make it perfect, colourful birds eating the fruits that Etienne deposed in the trees around the lodge.
We have been travelling a lot in the world... the Maqueda lodge will always remain in our mind as a highlight!!!!
Birgit,Dieter,Rabih and Marcel
Germany

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themarcel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We felt very welcoming and at "home" in this lodge. Attention was paid to detail and small things will stay in our minds forever. It is a family owned lodge, and they all work nicely together. The dinners were very delicious, cooked by the fire, and the other night we sat with the other guests, which gives it even more a homely feel. The kids were made feel relaxed and could even choose what they would like for dinner! There are two small pools and the lodge is really cosy with enough places to sit and to relax.
The rooms were comfortable with a private verandah, and it was nice waking up at 5 (to go on safari) and have a tray with fresh coffee and hot chocolate! The drive to the nearest gate of Kruger is about 1 hour, but 5 minutes away from the lodge there is a beautiful spot to watch the Kruger game go by. Safari was very well organised, like everything in this place...I truly hope it will keep its serinity, so we can come back!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wijnhorstfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My family and I recently stayed at Maqueda Lodge. Our party included my husband and I, our 2 children (9 and 15) and my mother. We are a well travelled family, and I can honestly say that our experience at Maqueda Lodge was our best ever. Our hosts excelled in every aspect of hospitality including trip planning assistance, beautiful accommodations, and excellent food. In addition to their faultless service, I must commend them for going above and beyond the scope of lodge hosts when they almost single handedly solved a lost passport crisis. If you are considering going on safari, I would strongly recommend Maqueda Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceofPrints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

From France, our family thanks Etienne, François and their family for their warm welcome . We will never forget our stay in Maqueda Lodge, a delight experience...At first, their kindness, then refined decoration , in agreement with nature, luxurious rooms, excellent food, calm music... also our children presence ... Almost, we were to Heaven...

The great safari with a picnic in a fabulous place they organized for us permitted us to come up to animals and take marvellous pictures and movies. At night, when we came back, the weather was very bad and they took good care of us. We felt right at home!

Our daughter in low's birthday night will remain a hearty and memorable moment:Chief cook Etienne changed into talented singer. His cooking is deliciousand his voice truly marvellous. We often listen him thanks to our movie andalso his videos on his web site which is enchanting us.We enjoyed play piano and thank François for musical talents...

We had a delight stay. That was a fabulous experience. We highly recommandthis place to all our friends! Already, we miss them...Sure, we will come back.

Colette et J. Marie

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My hubby and I were supposed to travel to Canada from South Africa, but that weekend the Vulcano errupted and all flights were canceled! We waited for flights that whole week, but no luck and our trip was inevitably postponed. After a emotional rolercoaster of a week, he loaded me in the car and said "lets just getaway"...to my surprise he found a little piece of heaven, a sanctuary for us for the weekend....Maqueda lodge.

We have visited the Kruger park religiously every year, but this was the first year we could not get any accomodation inside the park because of SA hosting the FIFA world cup, and everything is fully booked - to our surprise Maqueda Lodge in Marloth park is the perfect place to stay, right next to the park.
Our day basically consisted of waking up to a srumptuous breakfast, game viewing till dawn, coming home to the lodge and be greeted by friendly faces, and more than 4star quality and comfortable accomodation. We would have a sundowner - engage in great conversation with the few visiting guests from abroad, and then have dinner together and share a great bottle of wine.
We felt right at home, and the owners of the lodge took great pride in personal service. From the rooms, to the table, to the food - really nothing to complain about.
We will definitely return, and make more wonderful memories!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North-east, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We travelled here in March 2010 primarily to visit the Kruger National Park. We booked our accommodation through 'safarinow' and were lucky enough to stumble across Maqueda Lodge owned by the Van der Nest family. They kindly arranged personal transfers from KMIA airport to the Lodge and when we got to the lodge we were greeted by the whole family and a beautiful fruit juice (not to mention the various wildlife along the way).
We had read various stories about 'The Cooking Tenor' but were awestruck when served a fantastic 4 course meal by brothers Francois and Etienne only to be seranaded at the end by Etienne's beautiful version of 'Wind beneath my wings'. We knew after the first night we were in a very special place!
The Van der Nest family were so unbelievably hospitable throughout our stay and nothing was ever a problem. They arranged our trip to Kruger, Mozambique and the Panorama route. The guides they choose were also excellcent and we can highly recommend Heinrich and Nick as guides to the various attractions.
The lodge was so peaceful and quiet with nature all around you and you can't help feel completed rested by the time you've come home (even after BA strikes!)
We spent 6 nights here and had a different 3-4 course meal every night and they were all just unbelievably fantastic. The meals were made even better by the fact that you ate outside with the noises of lions behind you! They also had a lovely 'honesty' bar which was a really nice touch. Breakfasts were also excellent with lots of variety.
Though the Kruger National Park was truly amazing the highlight of our trip was undoubtedly staying as guests of the Van der Nest family at Maqueda Lodge! To Joyce, Francois and Etienne - Thank you and hope to see you again soon! Love Paul, Jane and Sandra

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul997755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
324 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 174 in Kruger National Park
567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
282 reviews
11.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Property: Maqueda Lodge
Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing