We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Turaco Lodge(Marloth Park)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jackalberry Ridge(Marloth Park)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Needles Lodge(Marloth Park)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jabula Lodge(Marloth Park)
$104
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mvuradona Safari Lodge(Marloth Park)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$102
$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Kruger Lodge(Marloth Park)
$166
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Kruger Lodge(Marloth Park)
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge(Marloth Park)(Great Value!)
$127
$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Phumula Kruger Lodge and Safaris(Marloth Park)(Great Value!)
$62
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
371
52
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
52
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestskruger national parkwonderful experiencemanager davidgame drivesthree course mealpersonal serviceold friendslike royaltystayed for nightsexcellent hospitalityrooms are beautifulhome away from homehis teamsafari guidesouth africathe river
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 425 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My hubby and I were supposed to travel to Canada from South Africa, but that weekend the Vulcano errupted and all flights were canceled! We waited for flights that whole week, but no luck and our trip was inevitably postponed. After a emotional rolercoaster of a week, he loaded me in the car and said "lets just getaway"...to my surprise he found a little piece of heaven, a sanctuary for us for the weekend....Maqueda lodge.

We have visited the Kruger park religiously every year, but this was the first year we could not get any accomodation inside the park because of SA hosting the FIFA world cup, and everything is fully booked - to our surprise Maqueda Lodge in Marloth park is the perfect place to stay, right next to the park.
Our day basically consisted of waking up to a srumptuous breakfast, game viewing till dawn, coming home to the lodge and be greeted by friendly faces, and more than 4star quality and comfortable accomodation. We would have a sundowner - engage in great conversation with the few visiting guests from abroad, and then have dinner together and share a great bottle of wine.
We felt right at home, and the owners of the lodge took great pride in personal service. From the rooms, to the table, to the food - really nothing to complain about.
We will definitely return, and make more wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lhente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We travelled here in March 2010 primarily to visit the Kruger National Park. We booked our accommodation through 'safarinow' and were lucky enough to stumble across Maqueda Lodge owned by the Van der Nest family. They kindly arranged personal transfers from KMIA airport to the Lodge and when we got to the lodge we were greeted by the whole family and a beautiful fruit juice (not to mention the various wildlife along the way).
We had read various stories about 'The Cooking Tenor' but were awestruck when served a fantastic 4 course meal by brothers Francois and Etienne only to be seranaded at the end by Etienne's beautiful version of 'Wind beneath my wings'. We knew after the first night we were in a very special place!
The Van der Nest family were so unbelievably hospitable throughout our stay and nothing was ever a problem. They arranged our trip to Kruger, Mozambique and the Panorama route. The guides they choose were also excellcent and we can highly recommend Heinrich and Nick as guides to the various attractions.
The lodge was so peaceful and quiet with nature all around you and you can't help feel completed rested by the time you've come home (even after BA strikes!)
We spent 6 nights here and had a different 3-4 course meal every night and they were all just unbelievably fantastic. The meals were made even better by the fact that you ate outside with the noises of lions behind you! They also had a lovely 'honesty' bar which was a really nice touch. Breakfasts were also excellent with lots of variety.
Though the Kruger National Park was truly amazing the highlight of our trip was undoubtedly staying as guests of the Van der Nest family at Maqueda Lodge! To Joyce, Francois and Etienne - Thank you and hope to see you again soon! Love Paul, Jane and Sandra

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul997755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Scott & I have wonderful memories of Maqueda Lodge. Fate brought us all together as we hitched from Cape Town and were kindly picked up by Gerrit and delivered, in a rather dirty state, right to my grandparents cottage in Marloth. Our families have been friends ever since. When we decided to get married a few years later, Maqueda Lodge was the obvious choice for us and we have treasured memories of an immaculately planned and beautiful wedding and of the family that took such good care of us and our special day. Our extended family travelled from Canada with us, and were introduced to potjiekos and the african bush in such style. When our first child, Elizabeth Maqueda, arrived she became a reminder of our special day and of the importance of family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianFamilyAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We decided to spend our week end in the Kruger Park, and we finally get to Marloth Park. That was finally a really good decision, the park is really nice and close to the kruger park. The lodge is excellent, food is amzing, service is maybe one of the best I saw in south africa. This family lodge have got a really nice rate/ value.
Probably one of the best lodge I did in south africa...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nalus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We felt absoulutely delighted with our internet choice when we arrived at Maqueda Lodge - we were warmly greeted by this wonderful family (who all have a hand in the running) and instantly made to feel blissfully at home in the gorgeously decorated Lodge. The Breakfasts were superb and we had a truly wonderful stay. Every day at Maqueda held a lovely surprise - a couple of times a little buck came wandering up through the trees as we were cooling off in one of the plunge pools. We wish Francois and Ettienne and family every success, as it is well deserved!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megmara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews