We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Had a wonderful family stay at Maqueda. Lovely location, friendly atmosphere. Good food. teenage children also enjoyed it immensely. Friends had recommended it and now we do. Looking forward to next visit


  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 394 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

The highlight of this lodge is the very warm hospitality offered by Francois and his family. Nothing is too much trouble and they try to anticipate your wishes. The food also deserves a special mention. The cooked breakfasts are fine, the packed breakfasts (for early safari starts) are also fine but the four course dinners are something special. An honour system for a bar well stocked with beer and wine is entirely appropriate for the venue.

Two points to think about. The rooms are poorly lit, and the bathroom especially so. Also the guest Wi-Fi is a little haphazard, shared as it is with the office and therefore not always available.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Selwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed three nights at Maqueda, and were genuinely sad to leave at day 4...

The lodge's open air living room is worth the visit by itself (watching bush babies and genets watching you during and after dinner), and that's just the beginning:
Maqueda/Marloth Park is well located, a great home base for visits to Kruger NP, Swaziland and Maputo/Mozambique. But even just a walk in Marloth itself is an experience: I've never been so close to antelope, warthog, or zebra...

Many lodges in the are might offer a similar location, but they'll have a hard time beating the atmosphere of this place. That is mainly due to the hospitality of François - trying to fulfil every little wish of ours - and the cooking wizardry of his brother Etienne: some of the best meals we EVER had in Southern Africa!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was by far one of the best places we have ever stayed, we spent 3 weeks travelling around South Africa and Zimbabwe. The hospitality here was so wonderful and the food is to die for! Etienne is a brilliant chef, serving us 3 course meals every night of some of the most delicious food cooked to perfection. Francios was so lovely as well and went out of his way to accommodate us when we all changed our day plans last minute. Such a little hidden paradise and run by the warmest, most caring and considerate people! Cant wait to go back, I'm not sure how this only comes up as a 4 star lodge as its definitely 5 star in my eyes! If you go and want to try do some charity work their, ask Etienne about his involvement with an orphanage :) Such a fabulous time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was the best start to our holiday that we could have hoped for. Francois, Etienne and the staff made us feel like we were staying with old friends. Our very need and want was attended to. With only a small number of rooms and such personal service I would love to come back for my honeymoon. The accommodation was better than the pictures. The meals provided were delicious and plentiful. Within a short distance to the entrance of Kruger park, the lodge is perfect for a safari holiday without being in the park, which made the lodge great value for money. Being outside the park we could go running very morning to the fence line of Kruger and saw wild animals very time, while still having the less hazardous animals walk right up to the lodge while we were having dinner or relaxing with a wine or beer by the pool. The spa facilities were great value and in the most relaxing setting. I do recommend that you spend at least one day just relaxing at the lodge enjoying the atmosphere and walking your own safari from the lodge on the safe side of the fence.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This lodge is wonderful and the people running it are fantastic. We were made to feel at home from the moment we stepped in. It is tastefully decorated and well laid out, the service is fantastic and the meals delicious. There is not a single thing I would change. If I ever return to Kruger this place would be my first choice. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Naeema L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

You need to experience this. The place is family run and everything is being taken care of in a lovely manner. This makes it very unique and the perfect location for a relaxed stay at Kruger Park.

The food is amazing and Etienne, the cook, should be listed in Guide Michelin. The overall athmosphere in the lodge is great, the lodge only has a couple of rooms so you can connect to other travelers if you wish (e.g. during joint dinner) and also have quiet minutes, Maqueda arranges for game drives/safaris at Kruger and bushwalks (24hrs reservation ahead is recommended). Travel to Kruger Park Crocodile Gate by car is 15mins, Nearby the lodge there is a visitor lookout overlooking the the crocodile river, where we saw elephants, hippos. crocodiles and lions immediately after our arrival. You will also see animals (monkeys, giraffes, kudus etc) in Marloth Park, the small park next to Kruger Park in which the lodge is located.

We will definitely stay in Maqeda Lodge when we come back to Kruger Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 511andype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
16.9 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
415 reviews
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 37 in Marloth Park
451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 37 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 37 in Marloth Park
258 reviews
11.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: $206 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing