We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique! Absolutely recommended.”
Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

You need to experience this. The place is family run and everything is being taken care of in a lovely manner. This makes it very unique and the perfect location for a relaxed stay at Kruger Park.

The food is amazing and Etienne, the cook, should be listed in Guide Michelin. The overall athmosphere in the lodge is great, the lodge only has a couple of rooms so you can connect to other travelers if you wish (e.g. during joint dinner) and also have quiet minutes, Maqueda arranges for game drives/safaris at Kruger and bushwalks (24hrs reservation ahead is recommended). Travel to Kruger Park Crocodile Gate by car is 15mins, Nearby the lodge there is a visitor lookout overlooking the the crocodile river, where we saw elephants, hippos. crocodiles and lions immediately after our arrival. You will also see animals (monkeys, giraffes, kudus etc) in Marloth Park, the small park next to Kruger Park in which the lodge is located.

We will definitely stay in Maqeda Lodge when we come back to Kruger Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 511andype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 391 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We loved our stay at Maqueda Lodge. Francois and his family and staff made us feel so welcome. The food was amazing, we felt so comfortable and at home and would highly recommend Maqueda Lodge to anyone travelling to Kruger. Make sure you allow a day to spend at the day spa, it is beautiful and very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had stayed in Marloth Park before so were very apprehensive of the term 'luxury' being applied to the lodges, BUT this is very stylish and relaxing luxury, very colonial in style lodge.
From the lovely welcome from Francois to our suppers being prepared by 'Mum' every aspect was executed superbly.We were the only guests for the 2 nights so very felt very spoilt having an intimate dinner for 2 on the very long table. Even the fires and candles were still lit for us.
After 4 weeks in SA we were definitely impressed with many lodges we stayed in on our trip but the calm professionalism of Francois and Maqueda helps them stand out from the crowd.
Loved the breakfasts of fresh fruit, cereals, and the usual cooked with lovely fresh ingredients.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cthecliffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Maqueda is a luxurious lodge in a beautiful bush setting and our room was typical of a 5-star hotel. Etienne and his father Geritz (sp?) were very welcoming and always helpful. Great to have such a family hosting us. The food was superb and it was great to sit at one table. The pre-dinner fireplace is a great idea to get to know the other guests. Wish we had more time to relax and unwind! Thanks Etienne for a great stay and it is a pity that we forgot to ask you to sing again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pravin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

we stayed im Maqueda Lodge as part of our 5 weeks trip to south africa.
enjoyed our stay from all aspects but espcially liked the way the place make you conect with all other guests.

the owners and staff were very kind and helpful and we thank them for that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amirh757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Maqueda is an amazing lodge. The lodge is located in a lovely quiet area with nice and spacious accommodation, and the food is exquisite. Management and staff will give u the warm welcome, they don't only treat you as a paying customer but as part of Maqueda family. One of the best moments at the lodge is the dinner time where you get to meet all other guests from all areas and the time around the fire. Every single detail is perfect. I really enjoyed my stay at this beautiful lodge and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngcamane16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had been recommended by our son, who stayed there earlier in the year. We therefore had certain high expectations and I can honestly say these were exceeded. Right from when we first arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Etienne and the whole staff at Maqueda. The lodge is run very much as a family home. Guests eat at the dining table together and at times it was like the United Nations with people from different parts of the world.
Etienne cooks the meals- which are simply quite outstanding and then joins us at the table for a glass of two of wine and the sharing of our life experiences. If you like a quiet dinner or you are shy and retiring then this is probably not the place for you.
Our safaris and a day trip to Swaziland were all arranged by the lodge and were equally as friendly.
We had heard a lot about Francois from our son but unfortunately he was in Cape Town when we were there. Etienne coped admirably with both front and back of house in his absence.

We felt privileged to have spent time at Maqueda Lodge and would unreservedly recommend it to our friends as a memorable Safari experience.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review Neil I am so glad you guys had such a great time Sorry I missed you guys All the best and take care Francois, family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marloth Park hotels
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
312 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 34 in Marloth Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 34 in Marloth Park
252 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: $155 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing