We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I were extremely fortunate to have been accommodated at Maqueda Lodge for our five night stay at Kruger as part of a package. During our stay, the five other couples who stayed at varying times had specifically booked Maqueda - now we know why!
The Lodge is a small family-run affair with each individual, whether family or staff, being totally aware of your needs and comfort. Francois is a wonderful host, Etienne a superb chef, Cerrick and Joyce (Mum and Dad) delightful and all of the staff intent on presenting the Lodge in the most perfect way.
We were told to treat the facility as "home" and that is exactly as it was. I can say no more than, if we ever return to this fascinating part of the world, we will stay at Maqueda Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Wally and Carol you two are really very special people and an example to all of us - celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary - what a blessing, It was sad to say goodbye knowing that we live so far apart and in such remote places, but it was a privilege to have had you guys as our guests and thank you so much for you very kind review Warm regards Francois and family which includes our fantastic staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    45
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
194
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Wanted the real Africa, and got it! It appealed to all senses and was a balm for the soul. Such a great place, great service, great Food and lovely people. Hope to get back soon. In february its end of summer with amazing green forrest everywhere.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kaba11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is always so fantastic if you experienced what you were imagining it would be like in Africa We hope to see you again soon Warm regards Francois and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The lodge was beautiful with unusual rooms and lots of great communal spaces also. Francois and his family made us feel like family, we made good friends with both the staff and other guests and this was a real highlight. The trips into Kruger park organised by the lodge were also fantastic, especially in the willingness of the game driver to chase across the park because of a possible Cheetah spotting! The food and other available activities were also of high quality. A definite recommendation from us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Well you guys feel like family now Thank you so much for your kind review we really appreciate it so much and the reunion in Cape Town was a first and very special and appreciated Hope to see you guys soon Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

You stay in so many places that you don't remember, and that's because they rarely have anything to set them apart. Maqueda has something to set it apart, the host Francois. And we will remember our stay for sure.
The family and staff work together brilliantly to make Maqueda a perfect destination from which to enjoy the southern Kruger. Everything works like clockwork to integrate the lodge with the various trips that are on offer. The owners are very flexible which is important when it comes to squeezing in a lunch for example. The lodge is in a great spot with lots of animals wondering around locally inc giraffe, zebra, warthogs and lots more. Dinners are brilliant with pre-dinner drinks around the boma and guests sharing a large table for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarklavLaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review, we had a lot of fun with all of you here not to mention our unexpected but well planned reunion in Cape Town - It is fantastic to have guest departing from the lodge as real friends Thanks again for you guys and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Maqueda Lodge was a wonderful surprise (since we had no idea what to expect)! Our host, Francois, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, and the food (breakfast, lunch and dinner!) was spectacular. The lodge is a beautiful, comfortable African style building with a lovely casual atmosphere.The lodge is situated in a game reserve that borders the Kruger National Park, which is a fenced and wooded area with other lodges and holiday houses. It has all except the dangerous animals, making it possible to walk around the vicinity of the lodge and still see many of the animals. Francois took us on a game drive along the fence with the Kruger, where we saw some amazing things looking into the park. In addition, the game drives into the Kruger national Park with our guide, Kobus, were spectacular. Our stay there was one of the best holidays that we have ever had. It was delightful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your very complimentary review Michael it always makes it so much more rewarding when the guests enjoy their visits to us Hope to see you guys again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The highlight of our recent trip to South Africa was staying and beautiful Macqueda the host the accommodation, the safari tours and guide and the amazing food was all so extraordinary exclusive and amazing the only place to stay if visiting Kruger National Park you will not be disappointed but would thank me we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Florence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review Florence, it makes us very happy to know that you guys enjoyed your visit to us so much Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

What can I say but - WOW! Without overstepping his mark, Francois did everything to make my stay an absolute pleasure. I cannot say enough to recommend anyone to stay here. The accommodation, the meals, the family atmosphere, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BarryMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review Barry it is my greatest joy if people make beautiful memories on their holiday with us because that will stay with you forever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Property: Maqueda Lodge
Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing