We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Maqueda Experience: A relaxing getaway.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“The Maqueda Experience: A relaxing getaway.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely luxury boutique lodge in a very quiet natural environment with wonderful hosts and superb cuisine. Intricate furniture pieces,warm ambience,tidy and clean. Just a wonderful place to stay away from all the hussle. Sunset trail walks and safari rides at the banks of the Crocodile River, Kruger National Park. Beautiful wellness spa and so much activitity. We will most certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Onai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    45
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
193
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The stay was wonderful and the location very good. Good value for money and friendly, helpful host who goes the extra mile. Also, if staying for few days, its a good idea to bring your passport along as day trips are offered to Swaziland and Maputo! We'll definitely stay there again!


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from two weeks in South Africa and Swaziland and spent two nights at Maqueda. Francois and his family were incredibly hospitable and made us feel like family from the very first minute. The food was amazing and outstanding, the safari drives were incredible , the lodge is beautiful, and the entire experience left me wondering when I could go back again!! Francois, I would recommend Maqueda to any traveler, and I will always remember my visit there as one I would like to share with everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cyndy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prieska, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We checked in on 17th May 2013 and Maqueda Lodge and left again on Monday 19th May 2013. Our visit has been a wonderfull and personal experience for me and my wife. The room and service was perfect, the setting is beautifull and secluded in the bush. The best experience was every evening around the dinner table with the beautifull decor, lighting and of course the exelent food that was served to us. Furthermore you are very close to the Kruger National park for game viewing alyhough our game viewing organized by the lodge along the Crocodile river has also been very good. All in all a wonderfull experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the honeymoon suite in luxury surrounded by bush and wild life. The hospitality was amazing and its close to the Kruger Park. The food was amazing! The perfect place to unwind!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charnè R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at Maqueda lodge in May 2013.
The lodge is located in Marloth park just outside the Kruger park Crocodile gate.
The hosts Francois and Ettiene made sure this was not a normal hotel stay.
The lodge is located amongst the acacias and the open plan layout of the lounge and dinning room makes you enjoy this even more.
Gourmet cooking and a limited number of guests makes for a intimate eating experience in a beautiful dinning room with significant attention to detail.
Game drives within Marloth park and easy access to the Kruger park makes for easy animal sightings.
We drove upto Skukuza camp but found the best animal sightings were all within 20km of the crocodile gate.
A much needed and perfectly presented getaway. Highly Recomended.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms. 4 on ground floor & 2 upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We and our friends spent a fantastic 5 nights at Maqueda Lodge. From the moment we arrived untill the day we left we were pampered by Etienne. Apart from from being an outstanding cook and a fantastic person, he is also a fantastic singer, which he proved on our last night. The service is impeccable and the complete staff go out of their way to please the guests. The rooms are clean and well kept and the lodge is very quiet, with only 6 rooms. Fullheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georges s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Property: Maqueda Lodge
Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing