We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect romantic get away”
Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“The perfect romantic get away”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the honeymoon suite in luxury surrounded by bush and wild life. The hospitality was amazing and its close to the Kruger Park. The food was amazing! The perfect place to unwind!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charnè R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
203
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at Maqueda lodge in May 2013.
The lodge is located in Marloth park just outside the Kruger park Crocodile gate.
The hosts Francois and Ettiene made sure this was not a normal hotel stay.
The lodge is located amongst the acacias and the open plan layout of the lounge and dinning room makes you enjoy this even more.
Gourmet cooking and a limited number of guests makes for a intimate eating experience in a beautiful dinning room with significant attention to detail.
Game drives within Marloth park and easy access to the Kruger park makes for easy animal sightings.
We drove upto Skukuza camp but found the best animal sightings were all within 20km of the crocodile gate.
A much needed and perfectly presented getaway. Highly Recomended.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms. 4 on ground floor & 2 upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We and our friends spent a fantastic 5 nights at Maqueda Lodge. From the moment we arrived untill the day we left we were pampered by Etienne. Apart from from being an outstanding cook and a fantastic person, he is also a fantastic singer, which he proved on our last night. The service is impeccable and the complete staff go out of their way to please the guests. The rooms are clean and well kept and the lodge is very quiet, with only 6 rooms. Fullheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georges s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

From our welcome by Ettienne (the mastermind behind Maqueda's great cuisine) to the farewell by his brother Francois (general manager and superb host) we had a wonderfully erlaxing time at Maqueda Lodge. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms which had all the amenities that you would expect from a lodge of this quality.

Breakfast was a wonderful affair with fresh locally produced fruit and a good variety of cooked options, whilst the dinners were certainly excuisite.

Maqueda Lodge also arranged spa treatments for my wife and I, and Megan of Slide Spa can be well recommended. Furthermore they arranged a full day visit to the Kruger National Park, which was good but quite long. A morning and afternoon trip seperated by lucnh may be a better option.

All in all a superb way to spend our tenth wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndriesLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend at the lodge. There was always the personal attention to detail as far as advice and recommendations from the two brothers.
It is a bit far from Johannesburg therefor our stay should have been 3 nights. If you are a tall person or claustrophobic, the toilet door cannot close as the toilet is too close to door which opens outwards. All else was perfect.
Advice: Please follow the map they sent you with conformation and not GPS as the latter is very bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I felt very welcome and we had an amazing time. The evening trip through Marloth Park was well worth it and we saw many animals. The atmosphere was relaxed and fun and the food was exceptional. Even the bed was perfect; as soon as my head touched the pillow I was in dreamland. This is ideal for anyone who wants to take a break from it all and really just be spoiled. Thanks Francois!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annelie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Maqueda Lodge. At first I was a little underwhelmed by Marloth Park (the suburb in which Maqueda is located), but as soon as we had arrived, entered the premises, and experiences François' hospitality, all doubts were removed.

The lodge is intimate, with only 6 rooms, and family run - at the time we were there, brothers Francois and Étienne were running the show. Étienne runs the kitchen, and the food is truly amazing. 3 course dinners every evening, truly 5 star - Wow. François, on the other hand, is an absolutely natural host, with an easy sense of humour and open style, always attentive and ready to ensure that guest are having a great stay.

Dinners are altogether, at set times. While this is not everybody's favourite way of dining, I found it surpassed my expectations every time - people are interesting, after all. François demonstrated his hospitality flair by unhesitatingly introducing all guests by first name whenever new arrivals showed up. Breakfast is according to your own schedule, and once again, beautifully prepared and presented.

The lodge is 20 minutes drive from Crocodile Bridge gate, and Marloth Park itself makes for a lovely drive or walk along the banks of the Crocodile River, 3 minutes drive from the lodge, one finds oneself looking across the river, into Kruger, with bountiful game viewing opportunities. In addition to this, plentiful zebra, kudu, warthog and impala wander freely inside Marloth Park itself, which makes for a nice experience.

I wouldl not hesitate to recommend, and we will go back when the opportunity presents itself - Maqueda Lodge is a wonderful find ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeWorkSomePlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
416 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
324 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 174 in Kruger National Park
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
282 reviews
11.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Property: Maqueda Lodge
Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing