We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights for our anniversary recently and loved the experience! The highlights were the top class personal attention given by the hosts- they bring new meaning to being made to feel at home, and the creative meals from Ettiene. A challenge was a lack of signboards indicating where parking or the entrance or reception are and the roughish roads. This stay was one of contrasts- wonderful luxurious lodging set in an open bush environment, enjoying suppers with the other guests yet loving the secluded splash pool down the path away from the rooms. The lodge is set in a bush environment in a game park. A close 20 minutes from the Crocodile Bridge gate to Kruger. We saw buck, zebra, a kudu, waterbuck, warthog in the park and the big five within 25km of the crocodile bridge gate. The perfect restful getaway from the city. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, even without air conditioning. Francois and Ettiene are genuinely interested in making the stay a pleasant one and needs are looked after. Meals are an experience of their own with breakfasts upstairs on a deck and (3 course) suppers at a 10 seater by candlelight. International opera singer Ettiene serenaded us on our anniversary night- something really special and will be rememebered for many years to come. Thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    45
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
194
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a really good time at Maqueda lodge. We felt right at home the moment we stopped our car. Service and food was great and well presented. I would recommend this lodge for all who want to experience the bush and stay in luxury. The best of both worlds!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

After driving for several hours fro Johannesburg, there was nothing better than returning to a home away from home. Maqueda Lodge provided five-star service and seeing how it's number one on TripAdvisor for specialty stays is no surprise, as the service was always attentive without being intrusive. Working in hospitality can be a challenging experience, but you could feel the passion of the owners Francois and Etienne, who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and whipped up the most delicious meals for us. The other guests were really cool too and we had a great time socialising and swapping tales of our safari adventures. I had tears in my eyes when I left - I was simply touched by the people at Maqueda Lodge. We'll definitely stay here again when we're back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elne, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A fantastic location to access Kruger,Very good food both breakfast and dinner. Clean comfortable room François and Family do all they can to make your stay special. I will be back.
Thank you and all the best
John Sutcliffe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

A group of us travelled to Maqueda Lodge for three nights just after Xmas. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like part of the "family" Francois and Etienne certainly know how to pamper and spoil their guests! Everything was well organised, we certainly never "wanted" for anything. Etienne's food was outstanding! His performance in the kitchen was only matched by his rendition of a well known "Josh Groban" ballad between dinner and dessert..... The rooms are spacious, clean and well presented. We had an amazing time, and would recommend staying there to anyone......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Maqueda lodge in November 2012. Everything was fantastic! We didn't feel like hotel guests - we felt like family members. Every night, Etienne prepared a fabulous dinner (and also a passionated opera singer), the organisated safari was ; we met people from The Netherlands and France and felt so indescribably comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinundThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a really awesome stay.
Great value for money and very relaxing.
Good food and good company
I would highly reccomend this place
Friends and family get away
Love it will go again
Treated like Royalties



  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Property: Maqueda Lodge
Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing