We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing”
Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, Gauteng
2 reviews
“So relaxing”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

A stunning lodge with amazing hosts. We had the best time with great food and great company. Etienne made us feel like family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
195
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This is a beautiful lodge house in traditional style, on Marloth Park about 25 mins drive from Crocodile Bridge gate of the Kruger Park. Its high spacious thatch room spans a roomy communal living and dining space, over two floors. The furnishing is beautiful - sumptuous, rich dark colours giving a feeling of comfort and luxury.

The catering is excellent and makes for a great dining experience (depending on the other guests of course). The one dinner we had was rounded off by a song from our host Etienne, who's a former opera singer. Bar/restaurant meals are available locally, and should be tried for the experience!

There are two small plunge pools, one in a lapa with hospitality bar. These are very nice, day or night.

Hospitality from owner Etiienne and his deputy Themba was great - and not a little Fawlty Towers, with relations between Basil and Manuel reversed somewhat ;-)
Etienne went out of his way to accommodate my family's oddball dining and drinking requirements, undercharged us, then wouldn't hear of taking a cheque when we called about it afterwards. I strongly recommend Maqueda to you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cartagena spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Etienne did not know anything, we saw on Trip Advisor, we saw they had good reviews. I contacted them by email from Spain and from the beginning treated us with kindness and warmth.
On arrival we were greeted with a bottle of champagne very fresh.
We qyue the 4 days we were like we were family, are absolutely delightful, you will not regret if elegiis this destination. ten. In case you do not believe mail@franciscosolana.com write me at my email.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solanaCartagenaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We consider ourselves fortunate to have stumbled across this gem of a lodge run by Etienne and his mum Joyce.We have stayed in many 4 and even 5 star lodges/guest houses in Africa but have never been made as welcome or treated so well .The lodge is beautifully decorated and the rooms furnished with the best white linen. Etienne's enthusiasm and passion for food and of fresh local produce made for 5 star dining at very affordable rates. Having introduced all the guests to eachother on the day we arrived, his wit and repartee made for a jovial and cosy family atmosphere.Some of his jokes were memorable(TDF).We even extended our stay as we just didn't want to leave this beautiful place enhanced by the great fellow travellers we met. We were also very lucky to be entertained by him as he is a tenor of note and travels the world.His late watering of the garden showed his true dedication to the upkeep of the lodge!Maqueda may be a 4 star lodge in name but you can not put a rating on the efforts and dedication that Etienne and his mother put into making it one of our most memorable and enjoyable trips into the African bush.
We look forward to catching up with Etienne for another glass of fine red wine and a game of spoons.
Anita and Steve

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The BEST holiday my boyfriend and I have EVER experienced!
I was born in Africa but my boyfriend has never been and we both had a WONDERFUL TRUE BUSH experience.
The lodge is phenomenal! Simple yet pure luxury.
Our flight from JHB had been delayed and our bags were not on our flight so we arrived at the lodge tired and with no bags.
Yet within seconds Etienne had made us feel relaxed, comfortable and welcome.
He presented us with delicious sandwiches, clean shirts, toiletries and we were even lucky enough to have a few Zebra come right to the front area and greet us.
The rooms are stunning. Genuine African Beauty flows through each little detail from the decor to the ambiance.
That night we had a peaceful walk to crocodile river and saw elephants having their 'sundowners'
That evening we were presented with the most exquisite handmade pesto pasta starter, main of fish and veg and heavenly chocolate mouse. All created by Etienne. This family does not cook, they create ART WORK which you will stare at for a few minutes before the smells get the better of you and you tuck in.
AGAIN AMAZING. On the last night we could hear lions while we ate dinner, again AMAZING experience.
I have not enough adjectives to describe the food. When we left my boyfriend and I were trying to pick which meal had been our favourite but couldn't. 'The tuna starter, oh no wait the steak, oh no wait the .....' and so we carried on all the way to the airport.
Etienne suggested and organised a day at the Kruger for us and Blyde River.
I highly recommend these 2 days out!
Etienne also organised for his brother to get our bags to us from the airport!
On the morning of the Kruger whole day game drive we were sent off with a delicious breakfast/lunch pack which we had finished by 9am! Just too delicious to resist! :) Etienne's mum made us wonderful breakfasts. Fresh fresh fruit and juice, eggs, bacon, coffee yum yum yum!
Having moved to London I searched for weeks to find something truly 'Bush African' and affordable and could not. When I came across Maqueda Lodge I thought it may be to good to be true. But it is all very TRUE.
Real food, real people, real beauty, real luxury!
We were made to feel like Royalty. Yet so much at home.
We have decided to go to the Mozambique camp next year.
My boyfriend said he now understands when people say 'Africa gets in your soul'
A wonderful family and a beautiful experience. Thank you again!
Lorelei and Bryan the Irish! :)

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LoreleiFilotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Just got back after two weeks trip to South Africa. Though most of our stay was in 5 star hotels, including The Palace in Suncity, undoubtedly, our three nights stay in Maqueda was the most enriching experience of the entire trip. It's all about people; that's what made the difference. Place is run by a family and each of them went extra mile to ensure that every need is meticulously taken care of. Home cooked food was superb and the dinner ambiance was great - one night we even had an opportunity to listen to a live opera voice! In one word, "awesome"!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Stayed just after New Year and had the lodge to us as no other guests. Etienne is an excellent friendly host as well as being an outstanding chef. The rest of the family help with breakfast and they all ensured that our stay was special.

Rooms are good sized and clean and whilst we didn’t see a great deal of wildlife in the immediate vicinity of the lodge mainly due to the season, you still have a feeling of being in the bush.

Marloth Park is about 35 minutes from Kruger (unless you have 4 wheel drive) and is well stocked with animals but of course its not Kruger.

All in all if you want to stay just outside the park and enjoy top class food and hospitality then you can’t go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxman266a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Property: Maqueda Lodge
Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing