We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a great place to stay and watch the world...”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
The large deck overlooking Crocodile river and Kruger Park. The best view in the whole park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
The large deck overlooking Crocodile river and Kruger Park. The best view in the whole park
Spend the day relaxing while still game viewing. Others must drive for a look at Kruger. You don't
Probably the best breakfast bar in the world
The fold away doors from the living area open out to the great deck. Guests have seen Big 5 here
Living room
Twin bedroom
Living area downstairs leading to a fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need.
Downstairs shower
The house in full. This is all your to rent. No sharing.
The house at night. So close to the river you hear all the great African sounds of the night.
Expect regular visitors in the garden.
You will see plenty of visitors in the garden to give you a real safari bush experience
The splash pool to cool down during the hot day
With its position, not only overlooking Kruger but in line for magnificant sunset every night
The house in the African bush
The view from the deck over Kruger Park. One of the best views in Africa.
The house surrounded by the African bush
Double bedroom.
Live like a South African and enjoy barbques at night
Sunset from the deck. An amazing experience
Every morning, grab a coffee and have a look to see whats at the river
More visitors in thew garden
More of the view from the house
Spotted from the deck regu
The garage in the park. Shops too not you are not too isolated.
You will get very close to the game. Closer than in most parks
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 1
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 2
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April - Part 3
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 4
Lion hunt photographed from deck April 2012 - Part 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
shetjan
Oyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is a great place to stay and watch the world go by”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

this was our second visit to Majuli lodge, and it was even better than last time. The house has been de-cluttered a bit, and the new manager Douw was very helpful whenever we needed something. If you want a perfect place to sit on the ek spent with all the family in a lovely house.balcony, chill out with a cold drink and watch the wildlife then this is it. We had elephants just beyond the fence on our side of the river within half an hour of arrival, and throughout our ten day stay there was always something to see, including a terrific assortment of birds of all shapes and sizes.

The house is fairly basic but has everything that you need, and the views are to die for. there is an endless stream of visits both in the garden and across the fence in the crocodile river; we had zebra, kudu and warthogs in the gardens whilst we were there, saw ostrich, kudu, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest wandering around marloth park amongst the houses,and saw elephants, hippos, buffalo, crocs, water buck, warthogs, and impala amongst others coming for a drink or playing in the river. I can't tell you how much fun it is just sitting on the balcony waiting to sek spent with all the family in a lovely house.ee what comes along next, other guests have seen a lion kill on the river bank but we weren't that fortunate. If you put animal feed out ion the garden then you will see more animals visiting, and can even hand feed zebras etc when they get used to you.

The back road to Kruger crocodile gate is now complete and it makes the journey into Kruger very quick, about 15 minutes for the marloth East gate now. We spent several days travelling through Kruger on day trips and occasional overnight stays, and saw pretty much everything in good numbers, with more lions than we have seen in our whole lives in this one trip. We still didn't see a leopard, but we saw several cheetahs under a tree so that was some compensation. It is so easy to do these trips around Kruger, just hire a car and drive yourself on mostly tarred roads.

make sure that you lock everything up when you go out and don't leave the windows open as the baboons will try to get in and are pretty smart, apparently they make a real mess if they do but we didn't see much of them in our stay.

We flew to Kruger mpumalanga from joburg which makes the drive much shorter, about 90 minutes to the house, although its worth stopping at the big spar and bottle store outside malelane to fill up on the way so that you have most of what you need when you arrive. food and drink is very cheap at the moment compared to the UK with a high exchange rate, and its pretty cheap to live in SA.

We will be back again later in the year, its just such a thrill and so relaxing. there is a good 3G signal so we picked up a cell c dongle at joburg and it gave us full internet access throughout the stay. we had 3 gigs on the stick and used less than half of that.

for a great holiday its worth having a couple of days staying in Kruger somewhere like SATARA rest camp during your longer stay at Majuli lodge, so that you can have an early morning drive at the camp, which opens an hour before the main gates for residents.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fantastic views from the balconies
Liked least: it was over 40° C some days
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east london
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in December 2010

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony and swim tub!
Liked least: The heat and a few mozzies but the aircon in bedrooms was great help with that at night.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tomski72
Paradise, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed six nights here, and we loved every minute of it. We rented this home because it was close to Kruger National Park (KNP). However, after spending two days in KNP, we spent another three days at the home just watching the wild animals from our deck. We could see them easily across the Crocodile River in KNP, on our side of the river (outside the Marloth Park fence), and around our house within the Marloth Park fence. We hand-fed Zebras and Kudus and watched many other mammals, reptiles, and birds in the bush around the house and everywhere else within Marloth Park. Our only regret is that we didn't explore Marloth Park more, e.g., we spent only an hour in Lionspruit, Marloth Park's own fenced-in area which prevents the lions from wandering around the homes. In Lionspruit there are several roads and waterholes with "hides" where you can watch game and birds. The shopping center within Marloth park can provide you with all the essentials to self-cater, however we bought groceries at the Super Spar in Malelane, about a half-hour west of Marloth Park. There is an excellent restaurant near the house named Jabula where we had a wonderful meal. Mike, the property manager lives nearby and is very helpful and full of interesting stories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the deck. Wildlife around home and in KNP.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2012
Tom

Thanks a million for the great review. I am delighted you liked the house. The view and part are great, aren't they. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you want to visit again and we can arrange a repeat customer discount.

Regards,

Derricj
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in May 2010

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nielsen48...
Denmark, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful balcony with a wonderful wiew”
Reviewed March 4, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My first thought,I will not stay here for 6 weeks,the security sign,the garbage box and the road to the house was almost cowered with high grass.The house inside was wery bad,Mike made light in the kitchen :) there was too bad light opstairs,there was olmost open between the bathrooms and olso between the bedrooms,we had some friends wisit us14 days, no private life. The photo inside and outside must be old,it did not look so to day. We miss a security light when the electricity disappear.
We have been in Africa several time and olso in Marloth Park !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: the house inside
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and rest assured we will take everything on board however I would like to address a few issues as there are somethings outside my control and I cannot change.
1. The garbage cage outside is a special baboon proof system and the only one suitable for life in the African bush. It is used by all lodges in the park.
2. Although Marloth Park is statistically one of the safest places in South Africa we still offer 24 hour onsite security. Part of that contract is to have a small 1 foot x 1 foot sign to show this.
3. The house is in a nature conservancy and long grass is what feeds the animals in the park. Therefore it goes against the guidelines of the park to cut or manicure it. It is clear around the house for movement of people however the house sits on circa an acre and I cannot remove what feeds the animals in the park for cosmetic reasons. You are in the African bush and it is native flora.
4. You made a remark to Mike, the manager about the light in the kitchen. He addressed it by getting an electrician into the park to replace the standard bulb with a fluorescent one to make your stay more enjoyable but he said you never made any remarks about upstairs. Also houses in Africa tend to be fairly dark and not open to direct sunlight to avoid the African sun heating the house too much.
5. While you were there there was an unusual amount of rain that caused a small flood in a power station outside of the park. This caused a disruption to the electricity (which itself is part of African living) to the entire park. Mike, the manager said he called in to you, supplied you with candles and alternative lighting and said claims you said you were fine and had no complaints. I am not sure what you mean by security lighting but you did have alternative lighting, the alarm was still functual on a battery backup and you were fine when speaking to Mike when he called in to you.

I'm sorry that you had one or two issues with the house although they may relate to actual African bush living. If there was any issues with the house itself, if you had of spoken to Mike he would have addressed it immediately as with the kitchen lighting. He was quite surprised at your feedback as he said you never had other issues with the house and were even inviting him around for drinks in the evenings. We do get a lot of overseas repeat customers and if you were ever to consider visiting again I could offer you a discount on your stay.
Regards,

Derrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Reviewed January 9, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: splash pool/privacy
Liked least: does not apply
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorset UK
Reviewed September 27, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to that view
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing