We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full decline”
Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Grand Kruger Lodge has many elements to live up to expectations. So all ingredients are there. Nice location (we love Marloth Park), tranquility , nice setting, chalets that are nice with a good terras.
However, the place lacks "a heart". Guests are treated on the automatic pilot. Owners are not hospitable to our opinion, although the place is small enough to give a more personal touch.
Example: no greeting in the morning when we arrived for breakfast.
Staff however, did their utmost to give the right service, so no complaints about that. No, it were the owners that left a bad feeling with us. Too distant. Not hospitable. Not 'with the guests'.
One small tip for future visitors: please ask waiters to take away the plastic cover that is protecting the table cloth! It makes dinner and breakfast much nicer. Can you believe it: anno 2013?

Room Tip: Ask the plastic to be taken away from all tables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Kruger Lodge.

Thank you for your positive responses about the Lodge and The staff we greatly appreciate it. We work very hard to make everyone feel at home in the bush with us and to have a wonderful bush experience.

Concerning your comment about the owners not being hospitable, he does try his best to interact with as many guests as possible however he is always busy in the mornings with the maintenance of the lodge ensuring that all aspects of the lodge run smoothly. He tires to chat with the guests in the early evening around the fire if time permits it. We will insure that managers can be on the floor through out all meal times in order to rectify this short coming to make all future guests feel welcome and at home.

With regards to the plastic on the tables another guest let us know about your complaint and we removed all plastic from the tables the next day. The plastic was on the tables as a suggestion came from another guest as this would help with using less harsh chemicals to get rid of the stains.

All the best for your future travels.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We completely enjoyed the experience of staying here. Our game driver, Langford, proved great at spotting all the important animals we wanted to see and showed legitimate concern for our comfort and enjoyment. The great food, wonderful pool, and generally exceptional service all made our stay very memorable. We had been on safari before, but this place even topped the private game reserves nearby.

Room Tip: You can't miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrRichardLJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had such an nice and clean Bungalow! The dinner was exellent!
The stuff very friendly!
If the wather in the shower would have been run better and the breakfast would have been included, it would have been the best accomodation, we have had on our trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Good Day,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it.

We enjoyed hosting you at Grand Kruger Lodge and Hope to see you again in the future.

Keep well.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The rooms were very nice, spacious and neat. I enjoyed the quite and peaceful nature of the place and the excellent service from staff. The food was just so delicious. Not to mention the inhouse massage I received. Everything was just perfect?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Boitumelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for your positive review.

You must come visit again to see our beautiful new spa.

Hope to host you again at Grand Kruger Lodge.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Myself, my partner and mum in-law have just arrived back to Jo'burg after 4 nights at the Grand Kruger Lodge. We stayed in Rm 3 which was spacious, we had a large terrace to enjoy, a lovely powerful shower and the most comfy pillows to help fantastic sleeps there. Mum in law stayed in rm 5 which was also spacious with a fantastic view over the lower decking and bush beyond.

Service - We received fantastic service throughout our entire stay which started with Wesley at check in, every day from all of the friendly staff and Louis who was our guide on our game drive through Kruger. Everyone was very attentive and incredibly helpful with any requests we made. The room was made daily with a pillow turn down service every evening.
Wesley also organised a lovely birthday surprise for my partner on our first night which was an extra special touch.

Marloth Park - The park is deep bush with only the main road being Tar and the rest are dirt roads. The lodge is well sign posted but grab a map and explore the rest of the park. There is a shop and petrol station in Marloth Park and we saw so many animals including giraffe, kudu, zebra and with the boundary fence running along the Kruger Park and Crocodile River you can see the hippos, elephants, crocodiles, and while we were there lions and a rhino. There are also a few one way roads around the park which may not be suitable for normal cars, best only use these if you have a 4x4.

Game Drive - We were indicisive on the 4 or 8 hour drive through Kruger. We have been on plenty of drives in SA, Zimbabwe and the Masai Mara in Kenya but as we were the only 3 on the drive we decided on the 8 hour drive which was wonderful. With Mum being 80 we were not sure how she would hold out for 8 hours but Louis looked after all of our needs. We saw all the "Big 5" and much more. Louis was obviously very experienced and passionate about the animals and the park. Breakfast was provided on the drive and Louis ordered lunch so it was ready when we returned in the afternoon.

Food - it was nice to have a choice of food. Some days it would be buffet breakfast and buffet dinner with a good selection for a 4 course meal. There was also table service on other days for breakfast and dinner with a BBQ one night. The only feedback would be for the BBQ. As this was all cooked rather than cooking and taking the food fresh off the BBQ some food was only warm which was looked at straight away when we mentioned it to our waiter. However the food was delicious and plenty of it, something to please all taste buds.

We would definitely recommend the lodge and location to others.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your great review, we here at Grand Kruger Lodge really appreciate the time you have taken to wright such a lovely review.

We loved having you with us and hope to see you again soon.

All the best.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Accommodation and facilities were great and in the wonderful environment of Marloth Park. Management and staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfasts and dinner. We could not fault anything. Super experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.

We hope to see you again soon at Grand Kruger.

All the best and Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed 8 days at this amazing location. There is a main lodge with rooms plus there are several bush chalets that sleep 4 with 2 bathrooms. We chose the bush chalet ever though there were only the 2 of us. We loved being right in the bush with zebra, wildebeest, warthogs, giraffes, monkeys antelopes, etc. wandering right by our chalet. We could walk up a pathway to the main lodge where we had our breakfast and dinner (included in our package). The breakfasts were made to order with additional self-service at the continental buffet. They were sumptuous and hearty. A good way to start the day.

The lodge has complete facilities including bar, internet, swimming pool, spa, etc. The staff was excellent. Very friendly and eager to please. The dinners, either in the formal dining room or outside under the stars on the deck near the braai, were outstanding. It's almost worth going just for the food! A great chef!

We booked 3 days of guided safaris in Kruger National Park. Our guide, Lewis, was exceptional. He was really determined that we would have a good experience and did we ever! We rode in an open safari vehicle and entered the Park at the Crocodile Bridge gate (about 20 minutes from Grand Kruger Lodge). We saw an amazing assortment of animals, including the big five. Lions, Leopards, elephants, buffalo, rhinos, hippos, crocodiles, etc., etc.

You can actually walk from the lodge over to the Crocodile river and walk along the fence that separates the National Park. From this viewpoint you can see many, many animals (Elephants, buffalo, hippos, giraffes, antelopes, etc.). A great place to take a bottle of wine late in the day and enjoy the animals and the sunset! The birdlife itself is amazing.

A great location and a very well run operation. We are already planning our return.

Room Tip: If you like privacy and staying in the bush, chose one of the chalets. They are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curacaodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We loved having you here wit us at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We very much look forward to your next visit with us.

Take care.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
17.7 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
334 reviews
1 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: $123 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing