We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service at the Grand Kruger Lodge”
Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and service at the Grand Kruger Lodge”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my partner and mum in-law have just arrived back to Jo'burg after 4 nights at the Grand Kruger Lodge. We stayed in Rm 3 which was spacious, we had a large terrace to enjoy, a lovely powerful shower and the most comfy pillows to help fantastic sleeps there. Mum in law stayed in rm 5 which was also spacious with a fantastic view over the lower decking and bush beyond.

Service - We received fantastic service throughout our entire stay which started with Wesley at check in, every day from all of the friendly staff and Louis who was our guide on our game drive through Kruger. Everyone was very attentive and incredibly helpful with any requests we made. The room was made daily with a pillow turn down service every evening.
Wesley also organised a lovely birthday surprise for my partner on our first night which was an extra special touch.

Marloth Park - The park is deep bush with only the main road being Tar and the rest are dirt roads. The lodge is well sign posted but grab a map and explore the rest of the park. There is a shop and petrol station in Marloth Park and we saw so many animals including giraffe, kudu, zebra and with the boundary fence running along the Kruger Park and Crocodile River you can see the hippos, elephants, crocodiles, and while we were there lions and a rhino. There are also a few one way roads around the park which may not be suitable for normal cars, best only use these if you have a 4x4.

Game Drive - We were indicisive on the 4 or 8 hour drive through Kruger. We have been on plenty of drives in SA, Zimbabwe and the Masai Mara in Kenya but as we were the only 3 on the drive we decided on the 8 hour drive which was wonderful. With Mum being 80 we were not sure how she would hold out for 8 hours but Louis looked after all of our needs. We saw all the "Big 5" and much more. Louis was obviously very experienced and passionate about the animals and the park. Breakfast was provided on the drive and Louis ordered lunch so it was ready when we returned in the afternoon.

Food - it was nice to have a choice of food. Some days it would be buffet breakfast and buffet dinner with a good selection for a 4 course meal. There was also table service on other days for breakfast and dinner with a BBQ one night. The only feedback would be for the BBQ. As this was all cooked rather than cooking and taking the food fresh off the BBQ some food was only warm which was looked at straight away when we mentioned it to our waiter. However the food was delicious and plenty of it, something to please all taste buds.

We would definitely recommend the lodge and location to others.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your great review, we here at Grand Kruger Lodge really appreciate the time you have taken to wright such a lovely review.

We loved having you with us and hope to see you again soon.

All the best.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    70
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
95
91
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Accommodation and facilities were great and in the wonderful environment of Marloth Park. Management and staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfasts and dinner. We could not fault anything. Super experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.

We hope to see you again soon at Grand Kruger.

All the best and Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed 8 days at this amazing location. There is a main lodge with rooms plus there are several bush chalets that sleep 4 with 2 bathrooms. We chose the bush chalet ever though there were only the 2 of us. We loved being right in the bush with zebra, wildebeest, warthogs, giraffes, monkeys antelopes, etc. wandering right by our chalet. We could walk up a pathway to the main lodge where we had our breakfast and dinner (included in our package). The breakfasts were made to order with additional self-service at the continental buffet. They were sumptuous and hearty. A good way to start the day.

The lodge has complete facilities including bar, internet, swimming pool, spa, etc. The staff was excellent. Very friendly and eager to please. The dinners, either in the formal dining room or outside under the stars on the deck near the braai, were outstanding. It's almost worth going just for the food! A great chef!

We booked 3 days of guided safaris in Kruger National Park. Our guide, Lewis, was exceptional. He was really determined that we would have a good experience and did we ever! We rode in an open safari vehicle and entered the Park at the Crocodile Bridge gate (about 20 minutes from Grand Kruger Lodge). We saw an amazing assortment of animals, including the big five. Lions, Leopards, elephants, buffalo, rhinos, hippos, crocodiles, etc., etc.

You can actually walk from the lodge over to the Crocodile river and walk along the fence that separates the National Park. From this viewpoint you can see many, many animals (Elephants, buffalo, hippos, giraffes, antelopes, etc.). A great place to take a bottle of wine late in the day and enjoy the animals and the sunset! The birdlife itself is amazing.

A great location and a very well run operation. We are already planning our return.

Room Tip: If you like privacy and staying in the bush, chose one of the chalets. They are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curacaodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We loved having you here wit us at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We very much look forward to your next visit with us.

Take care.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's taken a while but it's worth the review! My wife and I traveled to sa in January 2013, we started our tour of sa with my wife's parents at the GKL and wow what a start! They never fail to impress! It's Chloe's and my second time but first time Chloe's parents got to experience the South African bush! We were treated like royals from the second we arrived through our entire stay! The safari trips were priceless and the guide was great, 28 years of guiding experience! The food was great and accomidation faultless! We will be returning!! Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Make sure you do h 8 hour games drives! 4 days and 3 nights or longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Close to Kruger. We were visited by warthogs and impalas in our garden which was wonderful. Hotel very accommodating in terms of ensuring halal option being made available for us. Would be useful to have had phones in the lodges to communicate with main reception

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tariq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Leon and his staff have done an amazing job with this place! Our chalet was beautiful and very comfortable and well maintained. The food was unbelievable, especially the dinners prepared outdoors. We especially loved sitting around the fire pit on the deck with other residents having refreshments and talking. A very peaceful and beautiful place.
I highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We felt like royalty staying here. The food was just awesome, all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and our rooms were immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, and there were special touches like the pillows were arranged a different way each night (well, I'm a girl and I appreciate those type of things). The whole setting of the Lodge overlooking the bush, with it's enormous deck where we gathered and met some wonderful guests, was the perfect place to imagine what wonders we would encounter when our expert guides took us into Kruger.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
17.7 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
321 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
215 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge
#14 of 34 in Marloth Park
95 reviews
3.4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Property: Grand Kruger Lodge
Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing