We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lodge with wonderful staff”
Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent three nights at the Grand Kruger Lodge and I have to say that the staff were amazing, including re-arranging a shorter game drive for me. The accomodation was also lovely, quiet and very clean indeed. The game drives were excellent, and our guide did not give up until we found two beautiful cheetah - which in my 6 previous visits I have never been lucky enough to see! The food was nice and service at the table was very good, the only negative thing I can say is that the quality of the food could be better, but it was perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Definately stay in a bush camp - it makes you feel like you have your own house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaT11572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I prebooked 2 nights at the Grand Kruger Lodge. Once there we so enjoyed it, that we extended our stay with 2 more days.

Grand Kruger is for me the perfect combination between luxury and homely: luxurious enough that you feel special and treated by the obvious 4 star quality, and homely enough that it feels quite natural to kick off your shoes and curl up with a book in one of the comfortable leather chairs in the casual lounge.

We had a great room with a large balcony looking out on the bush- totally private and offering shade for most of the day, quite useful in that area that can become VERY hot. The highlight for me, however, was the lovely, huge wooden deck where we had our meals. Especially at night, with lanterns and torches around, it created an extremely romantic atmosphere. When I saw it the first time, I was really thrilled- one of those pictures you always see in travel/safari magazines and think WOW, I'd LOVE to be there!

The staff was friendly, making an effort to be of service to each guest and to make the experience special.

The most wonderful aspect of the Grand Kruger Lodge is the location, right on the Crocodile river opposite Kruger national park. Late every afternoon we went for a walk in the reserve, and saw Kudu, Rooibok, Springbok, Zebra, warthog and even one lonely blouwildebees, all almost within reach. Wonderful to be so close to them on foot, instead of watching them from the barrier of a car, as one normally does in a game reserve. Walking along the river we saw elephants grazing close by and seekoei splashing in the water- all behind an electric fence, fortunately! All of this made us feel very close, in fact, part of nature.

We will definitely strongly recommend Grand Kruger Lodge as the place to stay to anyone who values the above.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlindaNortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

i left the grand kruger lodge three days ago. we (i and my husband) stayed for 2 nights. The final road to reach the loade is untarred, so be prepared to rock 'n roll! Employees are very nice and ready to satisfy every request. The lodge is very nice too. We suggest a drive in the kruger park with Arnaux (who works at grand kruger) because he knows very well the park and he explains everything you can see! On saturday night, for dinner there was the braai. Housekeeping more time during the day. The lodge has a garden and a little swimming pool. The place where there's the grand kruger is very very peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Null74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Yes! Stay here and feel safe, see unbelievable wildlife, eat great food, and hang out with great people. Three of us flew from Rome to London to Johannesburg, and then onto Nelspruit Mpumalanga, arriving on June 27. Arnoux picked us up at Mpumalanga, drove us to Grand Kruger, and we spent three nights at the lodge. The owners Leon and Doctor were there every day. Both Doctor and Leon sat with us, drank with us, and talked with us every day. Adele greeted us upon arrival, spoke with us at dinner, and again, was there every day to help us with whatever we needed. Arnoux took us into Kruger Park and was simply awesome. You feel safe with him and know that he is a total professional. We saw a leopard dragging it's kill (impala), three lionesses on the hunt, an injured cheetah, cape buffalo, elephants, giraffes, a black-backed jackal and other wildlife. I'll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the deck overlooking the back of the lodge. I think it was room 5, but as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TottenhamChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The jewel in Marloth Park's crown! What a wonderful setting - absolutely fabulous. The service at the lodge is second to none, and we have visited many 5star places throughout the world. We were served with some of the best food we have experienced, our congratulations to Prince the chef. If Michelin was our name we would award the Lodge a star ( or maybe two). Magnifgicent!

All staff at the Lodge were welcoming and very friendly making us feel part of the Lodge "family" nothing was too much trouble. Magnificent!

Arnoux deserves a special mention as he made our trips into Kruger Park and other places so unforgettable, being able to show us many unusual sightings, both large and small, plus a lot of Big 5 sightings. So memorable and Magnificent!

Thank you all at Grand Kruger Lodge for our holiday of a lifetime.Leon, Doctor, Arnoux you can be assured we will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: The Bush Camp rooms are excellent, and rooms 3 & 4 within the main building both have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenys h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The place is a natural gem. Its stunning, the personal service you get makes you feel like a princess. Ofcourse not forgetting the chef and his magic in the kitchen. The staff pays a great deal to every detail as though everyone who works there owns the establishment.Thank u for everything. Love Sne & Nomvula

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomvulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The staff were unbelievably friendly and without them this place wouldn't be what it is. Didn't spend too much time at hotel, as most of our stay was in the Kruger - but the time we did spend at hotel we felt very welcomed by the staff. The lunch couldve been better though. Dinner was always good.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kastr0GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
17.7 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
334 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 34 in Marloth Park
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: $123 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing