We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Homely Pub with Good Food”
Review of The Harp Inn

The Harp Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandwrog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harp Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Llandwrog B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2014

To put the record straight this is a Beautriful Original Small Village Pub great history, very friendly, good food, extremely clean and well kept. They do Not do accomodation, never the less a great pub to visit and a credit to the current Inn Keepers.
This was our second visit the last twelve months ago and the very helpful friendly lady who runs the Inn remembered us. She is great fun and very helpful with information on places of interest in the local area.
Llandwrog where the pub is located is a tiny village in an area of natual beauty, with a very old beautiful church and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: This Inn does not have accomodation currently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

The young woman who served us was very pleasant, but nevertheless the interior of this pub left us a bit cold. It's just a bit dreary and uncared for, really.
My husband had fish and chips which he said was 'ok' - I wasn't really in the mood for fried food or pie and so he had suggested I have the cauliflower and sweet potato korma. That sounded lovely so I placed my order.
I have never before been presented with such a bland plate of food. The rice was overcooked, then reheated and the curry itself lacked texture for the most part, and was devoid of flavour. A korma should be very flavoursome indeed - just not hot. I don't think we'll be back, I'm sorry to say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were staying a couple of miles away, and were told that a number of previous residents had been here to eat and had been happy. Lovely building from the outside, but when we went in the very old building looked to have been ruined in the 1970s by covering all the original features. We were given menus, fairly limited, and fairly expensive... Most starters were £6.95, ok in a restaurant, but in a village pub, where no one else was eating, seemed over the top. We were given a Formica topped table in the snug, were brought wrapped up cutlery and cafe style condiments which were plonked on the end of the table. We had been asked to order at the bar and pay upfront, so by this point we were quite concerned about what we were going to get. However, when the food arrived we were very pleasantly surprised! Well cooked, good quality steaks with hand cut chips, lovely meal, thanks!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank SallyTaylor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited this pub for an evening meal whilst camping in the area following recommendations from our campsite owner.
Went in the pub with my 13 year old son and at first the few people in there went silent and I felt uncomfortable and thought it was because I had a a child with me.
Approached the bar and a lovely lady instantly made us feel relaxed and we took a seat in a corner table and ordered our meal.
The pub then started filling up and the atmosphere improved from being deathly quiet.I did see a few people come in and walk out because there was no one at the bar to show them available seats.
The pub had wifi which was great for my son due to camping and no electric on site.
When the food arrived it was great and tasty. I had the Cambrian pie which was Lamb and rosemary which was delicious.
They had no ice at the bar which is a bit disappointing for customers and could put people off.
The service was good.The restaurant part was closed but I believe it opens at weekends.
All in all we had a lovely meal which was tasty pub food. Just a few little things stopped it being rated higher.
Hopefully it will continue to improve with the new owners and when in the area again I will probably revisit.Parking available at the back of the pub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dangermouse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My fiancé and parents had an amazing meal this week. Staff were fabulous, friendly and knowledgeable and service was kind, professional and quick. Wine and drinks selection was good. The food was great! Large portions, well presented and well cooked and tasty. Thank you, thank you, thank you xxxxx

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Every Thusday lunch we've started to go to the Harp/ Ty'n Llan , we get a brilliant welcome & a pot of tea & coffe while we choose our lunch, we have no complaints , we 've enjoyed every meal . I have also been for a Sunday lunch on a very busy Mothering Sunday& will be going for a Sunday lunch again . I've spoken to others that have been there when there's entertainment on at the pub whom have really enjoyed themselves , remarking on a brilliant atmosphere .

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank joscymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went to the Harp in Llandwrog on Mayday Bank Holiday at about 2 in the afternoon,Stood at the bar and looked at the menu,then the posters on the wall,then the pictures on the wall then the menu again all of 10 minutes and then we walked out again,didn't see one member of staff,nobody put their head around the corner "be with you in a minute" very disappointing and won't be going again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Robet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Harp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harp Inn

Address: Llandwrog LL54 5SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Llandwrog
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llandwrog
Price Range: $62 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub/Inn, Bed & Breakfast, Restaurant (Licensed) with fewer than 5 letting rooms in village location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing