We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding food but......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhiwafallen Restaurant with Rooms - CLOSED

Rhiwafallen Restaurant with Rooms
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
north wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“outstanding food but......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

we had booked this restarauntas a treat for the six of us, when we entered the restaraunt my sister was told we could not go into the lounge for pre meal drinks as it was full, this was very dissapointing as there was only four people there. We had our drinks at the table and orderd our meals, even though it was a set menu the food was outstanding.
i requested we had our sweet in the lounge and was told initially no as there were people going to have coffee there, i was annoyed this time and said i thought it was unfair, the waitress relented and let us have our cheese and biscuits there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karenowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PWLLHELI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Plus and minus!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This establishment was and remains a bit of a mystery to me. There are plus points but a number of minus ones, as well. It is a mystery to me why, instead of being able to relax on the confortable settees in the lounge area, to make our menu choices, we had to go straight to our table in the conservatory - bypassing the more intimate inner dining room? That, of course, was after finding the entrance which was shrouded in darkness, off a major unlit road. Some lighting would both enhance the ambience and help with safety. The mystery continues, as you have to find the parking area and restaurant entrance in poor light conditions. A daylight reconnaisance might be adviseable prior to a winter visit.
The approach here is the use of an inclusive menu at a fixed price, albeit lacking the range of choices shown in the restaurant flyer.
A selection of nibbles on the table was followed by a delightful amuse bouch. Wine was chosen from an extensive list ,which was in stark contrast to the selection of beers available. Bread, one small piece each (how expensive can it be?), was brought out and devoured enthusiastically. Starters were both delicious and showed originality, one with mullet, mussels and shrimp. Also on offer were scallops with cannelloni beans. Main courses revealed, sea bass, fillet steak and belly pork. Again the quality was good, but why no steak knives or mustard on offer? That said the steak was tender and cooked as ordered. Puddings again showed originality with many home made elements, such as a hot Welsh cake contrasted by a chilled sorbet and catalan cream.
The service was attentive but, on times, a little over enthusiatic. There is a high noise level in the conservatory and I caught more than an ocassional wiff of hot oil, from the kitchen.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyffyllog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food is simply stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

The couple who run the establishment are wonderful and the food is second to none. £35 for a three course meal with appetizers isn't bad considering the quality of the ingridients and service is excellent. The best food I have ever tasted.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ywain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had this recommended by a head waiter from another well known hotel and restaurant in wales-he highly recommended it so this was our first visit
I went with my wife and 2 daughters(20+22).Its in a lovely spot but slighly out of the way.
The sunday lunch menu was limited choice but i could have choosen any of the choices.
The food was lovely ,each course was tasty and high quality.The service was great and the owners were brilliant.It was exceptional value-i have been to some far more expensive restaurants but the food here was of equal if not better than them!
Will be going again soon!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paulgray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food - not just a painted plate!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I always enjoy my food here. It is delicately cooked with vegetable accompaniments. Not just a plate painted with sauces. The choice is just about enough and we did put a special request for Beef Wellington for my daughter and the kindly obliged (at a supplement). You wil need to book and keep exactly to time as it is small and very efficiently run. They can't cope if you turn up late or early!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhiwafallen Restaurant with Rooms also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing