We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Nearby Hotels
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$101
Cambridge Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$122
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel North(North Sydney)
$126
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clansman Motel(North Sydney)
$99
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
360
136
46
32
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
360
136
46
32
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgehot tubcape bretonwood stoveunique experienceindian brookpuffin tournova scotiathanksgiving weekendfull moonwilderness resortbald eaglesnatural beautycabot shorefire pitbeautiful locationmain room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 615 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent Vegan food, nice location, great spot to camp and really nice people! Definately plan on going back. The location is great if you enjoy a relaxed natural environment. We especially enjoyed the pizza made in the outdoor pizza oven.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Recently, my boyfriend and I visited Cabot Shores for the second time and we had a fantastic experience. Barbara and Dr. Paul are so nice and offer excellent hospitality. On this trip I also tried snow shoeing for the first time ever and Dr. Paul and Barbara were more than willing to teach me how to do it. We went on a nature hike and saw some beautiful things with them as excellent guides. The food was great as well and the whole experience was cozy, relaxing and perfectly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAP1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Owner at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you both - we appreciate guests who know how to relax, read, play games, and also are willing to brave the outdoors and engage in a new activity. We loved giving you the snow shoe tour of some of the Indian Brook wilderness.

Thank you for your winter business and thank you for your kind review!
We look forward to your next visit.

Barbara, Cabot Shores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

As I type this, I am currently on my way back to Cabot shores after visiting them last weekend with a large group of Dalhousie students. Dr. Paul sought to meet every need we had and the chalets we booked were even better than expected! Perfectly cozy and suited for a weekend away. We used the weekend to visit local historic sites and play immensely competitive rounds of trivial pursuit and it was a total blast! We're shaking it up and staying in the lodge this time around and we expect this weekend to be just as great and adventurous last.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexhfx2395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Manager at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

As president of the Dalhousie Historical society, you managed to see Louisbourg, the Alexander
Graham Bell Museum as well as to enjoy your chalets and the Bisto at Cabot Shores
We're delighted to have a group like yours visit us and also to have you return again for some
winter fun--snowshoeing, being near the hearth in the lodge and of course having warm food after being out and about during this snowy, winter weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My recent stay at Cabot Shores in Oct. 2012 was a perfect combination of adventure, learning, and new friendships. Our hosts Paul & Barbara made sure each minute of the day was filled with a new & interesting experience. From hiking, birding, beach walks, kayaking, interacting with the Mi'kmaq culture and Gaelic community, & enjoying the Celtic music festival, each day was active, & always followed with a nice chat by the fire at the end of the day with new friends & our hosts. Barbara's early a.m. QiGong and daily meditation/contemplation sessions were a peaceful start to the day. The meals were wonderful, with many healthy choices and delicious local produce used in the preparation. If I get back to Cape Breton to explore even more of the island, Cabot Shores will be my home base.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Owner at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you, Nancy, for your kind review - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your activity-packed stay with us. It was a great experience for us, as well, to host and interact with people so eager to learn and experience unique Cape Breton offerings.

As you may know, 2012 was the first year we introduced the daily morning Qi Gong and meditation sessions - we will be sure to continue this offering as many people found it to be great way to start the day with a fresh mind.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience - we very much appreciate your thoughtfulness in helping other travelers to hear why they might enjoy staying with us.

Warmly,
Barbara, Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort & Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was or first time at Cabot shores- we are a vegan couple who often find it hard to eat well when we travel- the food Barbara prepared for us was beyond amazing - Paul was beyond accommodating - the atmosphere was incredible and I bet even more so in the summer. we had a lovely New Year's Eve and we will be back !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyBonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Owner at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Nancy,

Thanks very much for your kind review - we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and also to provide you with the vegan meals. We know that it's difficult to get vegan meals in restaurants on this island and we love being able to fulfill this niche. As you know you got some of our last greens from the garden in the Palak tofu we served you, but there's yet plenty of homegrown/home made garlic, sprouts, chutney, breads to last the winter....

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Barbara & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews