We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in the guest room of good friends”
Review of West Walker Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Walker Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walker
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like staying in the guest room of good friends”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this great little roadside motel. We were on motorbikes and we were able to park right outside our door. The room we were in was really nice and homey just like being in someone's home. It took us a minute to work out how the anti scald tap on the shower worked, but it was a nice touch to have coloured face washers instead of the usual stark white. The bed was a double but quite comfy and it was lovely to have a little front garden with flowers and furniture. There was free wifi but the signal strength could have been better. We could only get connected if we stood right near the door. There is a BBQ restaurant straight across the road and the local beer and salads are great. They also serve Burgers and BBQ meats of all types. The owner of the hotel was incredibly friendly and helpful and even mailed us a magazine to our home in Australia before our visit with some suggested local rides. Really fantastic service and a lovely night's stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosF800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The West Walker Motel is still one of the best values in the Eastern Sierras and one of my favorite places to visit. The motel is clean, well maintained and I had a great night's sleep. More upgrades have recently been done to the grounds, there is now a nice BBQ area by the Office.

We stayed in Room 1 this time, which is smaller but has a very cute, vintage kitchenette with small refrigerator, stove and sink in the kitchen.

Love this place!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibndum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a nice little place to stay. It's definitely an older motel and our room was quite small, but it had been fixed up very nicely, with lots of personal touches. The owner was super friendly and helpful. I really liked the tables and chairs outside of each room, surrounded by nice plantings. My bed sagged a bit in the middle but my mom says her bed was very comfortable. As a side note, Walker definitely closes up early, so if you want to eat, best to arrive before 8 pm or you'll be waiting till morning to drive a few miles up the road to Coleville for breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altadenabirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have stayed at this wonderful motel several times, but each and every time something new has been added or improved.

I love this "old skool 50s" motor court with parking right in front of your room and each and every room decorated with a special attention to detail. You will find nothing but awesome bedding, nice towels, good coffee, comfortable beds and a very clean room, which after all is of the utmost importance.

Owners Pam and Chris are wonderful hosts and do all they can to meet and exceed your needs.

Reasonably priced and well located with a BBQ restaurant right across the street, this is the perfect place to hideaway for a few days and enjoy the peaceful high desert and view the beautiful starlit skies.

Room Tip: All the rooms have fun thematic designs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here July 17/18, 2013. Incredible location, just right off the highway and easy to get in and out. Friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi was good for email, general browsing but not video watching but that wasn't an issue for us. The power situation in the rooms was odd, you had to turn a switch to get all the electricity on. But there was a fridge, tv, table, chairs, LARGE bathroom, microwave, coffee maker (the latter two were in the bathroom which was odd). The room was closed up when we got there & it took a couple of hours for the a/c to cool the room down to a comfortable temperature and by then it was cool enough outside to open a window. Beds were fine, room was smoke free but smoking was allowed outside which sort of took away from the outdoor space. Cute specialty soaps that smelled delightful to me, but were overpowering to my more sensitive friend.

Room Tip: Middle rooms have easier parking, but there isn't really a bad spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calysta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

another great week end was had my the auburn moose riders once again pam & chris made our week-end, as usual they made us feel we were #1...love this place many thanks! we will go back!
after a long day of riding she had once again a chest of cold drinks for the auburn moose riders..all rooms were clean, the outside had patio sets, love watching the doves and quail..many thanks to pam & chris

Room Tip: all rooms are very comfy , clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I love this place and have stayed here several times over the years. The owners, Chris and Pam are super nice and are very helpful.

This is a classic 50's style motel, but the rooms have been remodeled and are in great condition. Beds and furnishings are comfortable and in good condition. But don't go here expecting the Ritz, it's not that kind of place. and that is the beauty of it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibndum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walker
22.0 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
21.9 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Toiyabe Motel
Toiyabe Motel
#1 of 2 in Coleville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
26.6 mi away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#1 of 8 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.4 mi away
Meadow cliff Lodge & Coleville KOA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Walker Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Walker Motel

Property: West Walker Motel
Address: 106833 US Highway 395, Walker, CA 96107-9569
Location: United States > California > Walker
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Walker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Walker Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Walker Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing