We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistledown Farm

Thistledown Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peaceful, tranquil and unspoilt green camping with superb views. A night or more at Thistledown gives you much more than just a campsite. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty lies Thistledown Farm: 4 miles of maintained paths and sculpture trails wind their way through 70 acres of meadow, pasture and woodland. Educational boards around the site provide information on a host of environmental and agricultural subjects. Friendly pigs, goats and cattle are always happy to greet visitors. Fire pits are provided and wood is available to be bought. Numbers are strictly limited and booking is essential - please see our website for online booking.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay, and can only echo the recent comments about this site. This is how camping should be! Back to basics in the most beautiful and natural site. Leaving cars behind and having no set pitches means that it all has a very relaxed and spacious feel. We were lucky enough to have the badger field to ourselves, and it was heavenly. The compost loos were a revelation, and always clean, as were the solar powered showers and cleaning areas. The owners were all extremely friendly, helpful and patient and made the whole thing as perfect as it could be. It's true that it's a steep trek back up to the exit if carrying your belongings at the end of your stay, but the £5 shuttle resolves that issue. We can only hope that it doesn't become too popular! One tip: Remember citronella candles as the mozzies bite!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheLegendWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nice uncrowded pitches, allowing camp fires. Great for the children, toasting their marsh mellows. Big hill to 2nd pastures, making it hard work setting up and leaving - cars not allowed, so you have wheel barrow your stuff from car park. Compost toilet was an experience, which I'm not to sure was a good one! Overall though, worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Simes038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best campsite I have ever been to....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I seem to have been looking for a campsite like this for ever, and finally we have found it. This is how camping should be - a beautiful natural site, wonderfully laid out, no cars near the tents, no loud music and plenty of space. It was so wonderful to be able to sit around a campfire in the evening and enjoy the peace and quiet. Yes, there were lots of children running around and playing in the pond and streams, making noise, but this just added to the atmosphere. We spent the weekend at the site for my birthday and we have just booked again for another weekend for my wife's birthday. The staff on site are very helpful and friendly and it's great that the place isn't full of signs saying don't do this or that (as there are at many other campsites). We stayed in the 3rd Pasture and yes, there's a bit of a walk to get your gear in and out (using barrows) but this just adds to the charm and makes sure you only bring what is necessary! Stroud is just up the road with it's fantastic Saturday morning Farmers Market, and we visited the amazing Woodchester Mansion. I can't recommend this place enough. And the composting toilets are so peaceful - no sounds of constant flushing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bigfastbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney
1 review
“Fantastic Campsite!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a brilliant place to stay! Where do I start.....first visited Thistledown in May with a group of friends and our kids. We chose the site as it allowed campfires, was a natural campsite and was situated between all of us.
We were amazed by how much space there was and by how spread out the 'pitches' were (there are no official pitches as you can camp where you want).
We made good use of the large wheelbarrows to transport our camping stuff to the 3rd pasture (cars are kept in car park away from tents). This was a hard slog so decided to pay the £5 to be transported up the hill at the end of our stay.
We camped next to a firepit and picnic table and enjoyed toasting marshmallows and allowing the kids to run freely around the large pasture.
The gorgeous woodland next to us had a beautiful little spring and pond which the children loved!
Our second visit this weekend (27-29 July 2012) was equally fantastic! This time we booked the Badger Field to ourselves as we had 10 tents of people coming. Loved this field too. Everyone had such a lovely time that we have decided we will make it an annual event!
Initially, the thought of composting toilets did not appeal, but the reality was a pleasant surprise - much nicer than the often damp, spider-filled toilet blocks of other campsites.
The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and very flexible and undemanding. They made us all feel very welcome and were fantastic when I was organising deposits and bookings for such a large group.
There is a great pub up the road (right out of the campsite) which does lovely food and has a garden with play equipment. There is a Morrisons in Nailsworth (left out of the campsite) and a Sainsburys in Stroud, so it isn't necessary to bring loads of food.
Everyone agreed that this is a gorgeous campsite and such a lovely place to get away from it all.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just spent a weekend at this fantastic campsite. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the campsite was truly beautiful. We stayed in the 2nd pasture field and despite the site being fully booked we were quite a distance from the next tent which meant that we had complete privacy and had our own space and peace and quiet which was great. Everyone else there seemed to be in families and there were various dogs about (including ours) but by late evening the campsite was completely quiet and very tranquil.

The pitches are large and spaced out very well, some with firepits and I guess some without (although we had one). We also had a picnic table at ours which was very useful.

The facilities were great in that they were very clean and the toilets/washing up areas were very nice considering it's a compost toilet and obviously outdoors! Luckily we picked the two days in July that didn't rain.

I would recommend this site to anyone and will definitely come again and everyone was absolutely fantastic - highly recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dancemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistledown Farm also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Nympsfield, Gloucestershire
 
Ozleworth, Gloucestershire
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Thistledown Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing