We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Setenil de las bodegas

Setenil de las bodegas
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely little town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Little pueblo in the provincia of Cádiz, dwellings built into rock, some below, some above, this creates a town with many different street levels. It will baffle you, looks like a meteor hit this place, well worth your time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cgalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    148
    21
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Village in a mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

It was very interesting experience of driving in this village. Streets are so narrow that you'll feel strain on every corner. White houses, small restaurants, small streets and of course rocks on the roofs. Very calm and relaxing place with a village spirit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth visiting, needs better focus on tourism.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We're based in nearby Grazalema for 3 weeks, so the 45 minute drive to Setenil was an easy choice for a nice outing. I'd read about some folks finding narrow, confusing streets in Setenil, but we didn't see that. We just stayed on the main asphalt highway into town as it winded its way down into the deep ravine formed by the local Rio (river) and right to our destination.

When we got to the bridge over the river at the bottom, I was disappointed but not surprised to see that cars of tourists can't enter the roads that follow the river beneath the out-jutting rock bluffs. That area is just for local residents. And there's no public parking nearby. This is not a place depending on happy tourists to make a living.

So I let the others out of our car and drove a short distance up the highway to find road-side parking. Returning to my friends on Calle Cuevas del Sol, the road we're not allowed to enter, we stopped at a bar deep under the rock overhang for some tapas (snack) and beer.

We walked around about an hour along Calle Cuevas del Sol, crossing over bridges occasionally to see the wonderful shops built into the hillside, with ceilings of stone and rear walls of stone. It's really a unique place, a reminder of the Indian cliff dwellings I've seen in Mesa Verde, Colorado, in the USA, but with people still using these small "caves" as residences and shops. Well worth a stop of 2-3 hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick_Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
331 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing compared to other 'Pueblo Blanco' towns and villages”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I visited Setenil de las Bodegas whilst staying at the nearby town of Olvera. Having read guide books and the reviews on Trip Advisor, my wife and I expected rather more from our day in this small town. Having parked easily on the outskirts, we enjoyed walking around the narrow cobbled streets - there were plenty of attractive views of the town below. However, when we got down to the river, the trail we were following seemed to peter out. We persevered, noticing that there were lamp posts but many of these were damaged and the path was overgrown. Elsewhere, we encountered broken benches and weeds sprouting out from pathways. The place had an air of being neglected. On the sunny day we were there (in Mid-March) we hardly encountered any other tourists). Later in the day, we enjoyed viewing the semi-troglodyte dwellings for which the town is justifiably famous.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Owen_thesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unique town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our hotel keeper recommended a visit of this town near Ronda, which is barely mentioned in the guidebooks. Definitely worth the detour, this adorable little town has houses and restaurants in caves. An experience not to be missed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Setenil de las bodegas also viewed

Setenil de las Bodegas, Province of Cadiz
Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park
 
Setenil de las Bodegas, Province of Cadiz
Olvera, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to Setenil de las bodegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing