We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel, great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had adjoined rooms for the family, very comfortable and the staff could not have been more helpful. We had a few issues to do with whoever had previously been in the room to do with managing to replace the wine in the mini-bar with water... how they managed that I will never know, anyway the staff were so helpful and ensured we did not have further issues.

The hotel was very clean and very handy for the journey to Perpignan area.

The hotel restaurant is shut on a Sunday evening so cannot comment on the food but the staff pointed out the location of local restaurants for us to go to.

Breakfast was rather expensive so we journeyed on to Millau where we stopped for brunch. The expensive breakfast the reason it does not get 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McFar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    145
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
113
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Located South of Clermont-Ferrand, this hotel is at the same time very close to the highway and in the countryside.
The location is very quiet, with nice surroundings. Of course it's a bit in the middle of nowhere, except if your destination is either the Zenith theatre or Gergovie (foreigners may not know why the French are so proud of this place...).
Good breakfast. I have not tried the restaurant which was full when I was there, but I found a very good one in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We don't usually trust the Best Western brand but this one truly delivered. We needed a one night stop over en route from east to west. Ideal location near to the motorway exit. New fresh modern rooms fitted with quality bathroom suite and large comfortable bed with crisp white bedding. French only TV. Good free wifi. Secure gated car park. Restaurant and bar looked very nice but we didn't try them. Limited English spoken (not a criticism - just a comment). Highly recommend a look at the many picturesque villages to the south if you have time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was one of the nicest Best Westerns I have stayed in. It literally is minutes from the motorway, although from our room, there was not sight or sound from it. We had a balcony and a wonderful view of the Puy de Dome. The room was lovely, although the restaurant was closed on this Saturday night and we had to go and look for a restaurant in Clermont Ferrand. The breakfast was OK, I've had worse, and certainly had better (it was a Sunday morning!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Puy de Dome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A very clean room which was comfortable in pretty much all respects. Rating the 'service' as average does not apply to the cleaning staff who were very friendly and efficient. All other hotel amenities are limited and security is not a word the management understands. Tip: over the weekend bring your own meals (other than breakfast).

Room Tip: The larger rooms have the better shower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I chose the Hôtel Gergovie as I needed a stopover near Vulcania that was easy to access from the autoroute. It certainly fit the bill! You can't hear the traffic noise from the autoroute at all, but it is close. I don't know when it was built but it still seems new, or newly refurbished. The staff, especially in the restaurant were very polite and friendly, reception were very polite and helpful (they kindly kept my baggage for me) and the room was very clean, large and spacious enough to cope with the needs of one adult and 2 children and had a terrace you could sit on outside, although it was a little windy. The complimentary Algotherm products were lovely, especially the body cream. We enjoyed watching the rabbits out the rear window, in the early evening, too.

On the downside, the GPS couldn't find the hotel, thankfully we had the instructions from Booking.com to get there. I think we had been put in a smoking room as it smelled a little, but not overpoweringly, of old smoke. The service in the restaurant was great, the food isn't quite there yet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to break our journey from the UK to the South of France. We had decided on a different route from our usual one as we wanted to take in the Milau Bridge.

The hotel was well placed just off the autoroute. It is very modern and the rooms are excellent. The car park is locked at night, which is good when one has a car fully-loaded.We enjoyed a drink on the terrace. The meal was average but the service was very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPPHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perignat-les-Sarlieve
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel CLERMONT-FERRAND Sud Aubiere
3.6 mi away
Novotel Clermont-Ferrand
Novotel Clermont-Ferrand
#5 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Princesse Flore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Lune Etoile
Hotel Lune Etoile
#8 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Relais des Puys
Le Relais des Puys
#1 of 3 in Orcines
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre Jaude
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre ...
#1 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie
Address: 25 allee du petit Puy, 63170 Perignat-les-Sarlieve, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Puy-de-Dome > Perignat-les-Sarlieve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perignat-les-Sarlieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and quiet in the heart of the AuvergneOpened in summer 2007, the Best Western Hotel Gergovie welcomes you in a warm and restful atmosphere. Everything here has been designed to ensure that your stay is a success, whether you are travelling on business or on holiday.At the foot of the Gergovie Plateau, scene of the famous battle in which Vercingétorix defeated Julius Caesar in 52 BC, you can discover the most beautiful sites in the Massif Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
pérignat-lès-Sarliève Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing