We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of Chateau de Vaulx

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Vaulx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5 had a fantastic time at this most beautiful of Chateaus.

The host was warm and friendly, making sure us and the children were happy and comfortable.

Dinner was superb with lovely company.

And to top it all the surroundings and views were stunning.

Could not recommend this highly enough.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Spencer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

We chose to stay here to break up our journey from the UK to Italy. We had been driving for about 10 hours and when we pulled up to see where we would be resting ourselves for the night we couldn't be happier!!

We were greeted with by Marty like the warmest of friends and he was great with our dog too - understanding that she was nervous (especially when a rider and horse came by). We immediately went for a walk with the dog, who settled down very quickly, and enjoyed the stunning views from the terrace with some local rose.

Marty's dinner recommendation was perfect and after a great nights sleep we were up early to enjoy a morning stroll looking at the mist covered hills as the sun came up. Breakfast was great and we hada great chat with Marty about how the house came to be and how much we enjoyed the decor and stylish taste whilst remaining casual and relaxed.

I think this will definitely be a regular stop off for us (its worth the extra bit of mileage on the journey)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was our second time staying at Chateau de Vaulx and it was every bit as wonderful as our first time! We stayed in the large suite which is perfect for our large family (3 children) as we each get our own bedroom as part of the suite. The suite has been lovingly decorated with an eclectic mix of antiques and objet d'art which makes staying here a truly special experience.

The grounds are equally as stunning and the children loved the sheep, donkey, horse, chickens and the dog.

Marty is an exceptional host, even sending up a bottle of local wine for us once we had put the children to bed. We will definitely be returning again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank melaniew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

After a four hour drive and having found no lunch en route, we arrived on Marty's doorstep and were immediately welcomed with open arms, before being ushered into the garden for a delicious impromptu lunch and a large, reviving glass of wine. We sat in complete silence and just stared at a view that no amount of photography can do justice to. Heaven - thank you Marty.
The chateau is the picture of grand and faded elegance. Marty has exceptional taste and everything falls beautifully into place, but Chateau de Vaulx is really made so wonderful by him and his splendid character. I wish we could have stayed for another night.
George and Eve Nares

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were looking for a place where we could experience the REAL France, not the tourist France. We chose perfectly with the Chateau de Vaulx! Sweet serenity with wildflowers and white Charollais cattle dotting velvety green hillsides, genuine French country people with genuine, open hearts and a sincere desire to show us the very best of their beloved France. Patrice drove us through the countryside and taught us a bit about several of the beautiful nearby chateaux and the sweet village of Charolles; Marty shared his recipes from the exquisite meal he served under chandeliers, looking out open doors to the flowery garden and fountain. We ate magnificently throughout Europe, but Marty's meal was the most delicious, in the most memorable setting. We can't wait to return to the Chateau de Vaulx!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We just returned from 3 wonderful nights at Chateau de Vaulx. Our only regret was that our stay wasn't longer. We had spent 7 nights on a working barge trip in France, so it was especially nice to see Chateau de Vaulx. We've stayed in chateaus before, but never experienced such a warm, friendly welcome. Marty greeted us and gave us a tour of the premises. We felt right at home immediately. Our room was so beautiful, clean and comfortable. Even though we had not made dinner reservations ahead, Marty accommodated us without a problem. What a dinner it was! Candlelight, flowers, soft music, delicious food, including fresh items from his garden and wine all at a huge table in the gorgeously decorated period dining room. Fifteen guests, including families with children, couples, young and older, from around the world, were all made to feel like kings, but nothing stuffy as at other chateaus. The grounds are huge and the setting is magical, including the swimming pool. Several guests visit every year on their way to and from the South of France. The prices too are very reasonable for such grand stay. Breakfast is also included- croissants, ham, cheese, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, again served in grand style. This is not just a stay, this is an experience you won't forget! Book it now!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw are lovely and very quiet. There are even apartments to accommodate families or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank joanwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We are driving from London to Tuscany and randomly selected Chateau de Vaulx. What a pleasant surprise to be met by the charming and enthusiastic Marty and the dogs and have a swim and shower before an amazing dinner at the communal table with 12 other guests from around the world! Food and wine delicious and the room was amazing. We stayed in le grand apartment with ample room for 6 and a beautiful four poster bed looking over the gardens and valley below. The only thing we would change is to stay longer next time! Would be a great place to stay with a group of friends for a special celebration.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemmavhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Vaulx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vaulx

Address: Lieu Dit Vaulx, 71800 Saint-Julien de Civry, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Saint-Julien de Civry
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Julien de Civry
Price Range: $118 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful XVIIIth mansion on top of a hill with scenic views on the untouched landscape. Large and comfortable rooms. Tâble d’hôtes on demand. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing