We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent resraurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horse and Groom Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Milcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An excellent resraurant”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked a table for 20 people for a special birthday. We met with the chef and he was very helpful in every way. He gave us a special menu from which to choose and then returned our choices to him, each person having selected exactly what they wanted. On the night, everything was ready as ordered, in terms of seating arrangements, wine on the table and all meals absolutely correct. The food was highly praised by all 20 guests, without exception. The service was friendly and helpful and each course was served promptly so that those that received first were not kept waiting by those that received last. The whole evening was a success and we would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Also, the prices are very reasonable but the quality is superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max270243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    30
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
48
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a Friday night, with my partner. Great atmosphere in the bar, upon arrival. Car park on other side of the road was a bit tricky to see, but lots of space. Evening meal was beautifully cooked, tasty chips which were listed as triple cooked. Everything cooked to perfection.
Room was a good size with a huge bathroom and lots of lovely toiletries etc. Stayed in a room over the bar (4?), noise from the bar travelled. Not a problem for us, but may need to ask for a quieter room if required. Room was clean and warm. Shower was hot and had good pressure. :)
Breakfast was as good as the evening meal. Local sourced bacon and sausages, tomatoes that had a lovely flavour, one of the best English breakfast that I have had for a while.
I would return if I was in the area, without hesitation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank virago535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimTyler, Owner at Horse and Groom Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review - if you are coming back then please request room 1 which is not over the bar and therefore nice & peaceful.
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location for various days out. Very friendly staff who make you feel welcome. We ate in the resteraunt and the food is excellent and reasonably priced. Overall, a great little place to stay for a couple of days away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcwjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a friday night meal for 4. All dishes were appealing and tasty and the service was very friendly. Nice traditional type pub with a warm and cosy feel and above average pub food. One of our group felt quite warm

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the only way is carp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Well worth making a detour to stay here. Nice cosy welcoming bar, a good choice of excellent beers and a real fire. The menu was varied and interesting and my three courses were excellent. My room was clean & comfortable and breakfast (I had full English) was excellent. I guess a good place to stay if you are playing golf nearby or visiting Hook Norton brewery (it's worth it!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnACF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here with our 6 month old daughter for a night whilst visiting the area and we booked a room after reading the reviews online. We are so glad we decided to stay here rather than booking a characterless hotel! We received a very warm welcome. We stayed in the family room and found the accommodation to be clean and homely with everything you need for a stay - tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, lovely smelling toiletries, extra pillows and blankets ( we didnt need them as it was lovely and snug), ipod docking clock, large flat screen tv, bath etc. The family room has recently been redecorated and the carpets seemed new too. It has a lovely velux window with blackout blind....we woke up thinking it was still the middle of the night when it was in fact light outside! We had dinner in the pub and it was fantastic quality and not your typical pub grub, more gastro pub quality with a good choice of fresh produce....it definately exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was also very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly and took an interest in our plans for the stay and offered tips on places to go. Overall this was a great place to stay, eat and drink and we will be looking for an excuse to go back to visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went here for lunch a few weeks ago, the pub was not busy and so I cannot comment on the service etc . The food, however, deserves great praise. A wide and very varied lunchtime menu was offered. The food came quite quickly - it had all been freshly cooked and we all (6 of us) had different dishes. My vegetarian risotto was the best I have ever had. We shall return many times, this is a real find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milcombe
4.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#2 of 6 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
13.9 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom Inn

Property: Horse and Groom Inn
Address: Main Road, Milcombe OX15 4RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse and Groom Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horse & Groom Inn is a 17th century coaching house on the edge of the village of Milcombe near Banbury.The pub underwent a major refurbishment in August 2011 and is now under the management of Jim & Taryn Tyler along with Taryn’s parents’ David & Annette.We have a 4* AA Guest Accommodation Rating along with a Dinner Award and we are Gold-Rated on the Eat Well in Cherwell Award Scheme.The traditional bar has seating for around 25 people – there’s a stone-floor and a wood-burning stove (to keep you nice & toasty on cold winter evenings).At the end of the bar is the Snug with a comfy leather sofa, Bar Billiards Table and a darts throw.We have a contemporary dining room with seating for up to 50 people. This can also be used for private dining, parties & business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Horse and Groom Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing