We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horse and Groom Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Milcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely pub experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a friday night meal for 4. All dishes were appealing and tasty and the service was very friendly. Nice traditional type pub with a warm and cosy feel and above average pub food. One of our group felt quite warm

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the only way is carp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    31
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
53
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wavre
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Well worth making a detour to stay here. Nice cosy welcoming bar, a good choice of excellent beers and a real fire. The menu was varied and interesting and my three courses were excellent. My room was clean & comfortable and breakfast (I had full English) was excellent. I guess a good place to stay if you are playing golf nearby or visiting Hook Norton brewery (it's worth it!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnACF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here with our 6 month old daughter for a night whilst visiting the area and we booked a room after reading the reviews online. We are so glad we decided to stay here rather than booking a characterless hotel! We received a very warm welcome. We stayed in the family room and found the accommodation to be clean and homely with everything you need for a stay - tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, lovely smelling toiletries, extra pillows and blankets ( we didnt need them as it was lovely and snug), ipod docking clock, large flat screen tv, bath etc. The family room has recently been redecorated and the carpets seemed new too. It has a lovely velux window with blackout blind....we woke up thinking it was still the middle of the night when it was in fact light outside! We had dinner in the pub and it was fantastic quality and not your typical pub grub, more gastro pub quality with a good choice of fresh produce....it definately exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was also very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly and took an interest in our plans for the stay and offered tips on places to go. Overall this was a great place to stay, eat and drink and we will be looking for an excuse to go back to visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went here for lunch a few weeks ago, the pub was not busy and so I cannot comment on the service etc . The food, however, deserves great praise. A wide and very varied lunchtime menu was offered. The food came quite quickly - it had all been freshly cooked and we all (6 of us) had different dishes. My vegetarian risotto was the best I have ever had. We shall return many times, this is a real find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A charming country pub with first class food,reasonably priced and very comfortable accommodation.
The owners make you feel most welcome which adds to the relaxing atmosphere of the pub.
If you are ever in this part of the country it really is worth a visit.

John and Carole
Great Dunmow

Room Tip: Room 1 is quite large and airy (velux window) and has en suite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is a well kept secret....but not for long! The owners are delightful, and very welcoming. The food is priced way too low for the quality & taste, which is a surprise and the menu itself is very varied and has something for everyone. Wine list is very good. Everything is just ideal for a lovely meal in the countryside. Been here a few times recently, and the tempura prawns were the best I had had, whilst the roast potatoes and gravy are not to be missed. On one occasion had a sunday roast - beef - which was impossible to fault. My partner and I have now decided that its our new 'local'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights - very friendly hosts and staff. Really good home cooked meal both evenings & excellent breakfast. Quiet location but in easy reach of Banbury, Abingdon, Blenheim Palace.
Highly recommended - would definately stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milcombe
4.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
520 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
3.4 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
433 reviews
4.9 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Duns Tew
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom Inn

Property: Horse and Groom Inn
Address: Main Road, Milcombe OX15 4RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse and Groom Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horse & Groom Inn is a 17th century coaching house on the edge of the village of Milcombe near Banbury.The pub underwent a major refurbishment in August 2011 and is now under the management of Jim & Taryn Tyler along with Taryn’s parents’ David & Annette.We have a 4* AA Guest Accommodation Rating along with a Dinner Award and we are Gold-Rated on the Eat Well in Cherwell Award Scheme.The traditional bar has seating for around 25 people – there’s a stone-floor and a wood-burning stove (to keep you nice & toasty on cold winter evenings).At the end of the bar is the Snug with a comfy leather sofa, Bar Billiards Table and a darts throw.We have a contemporary dining room with seating for up to 50 people. This can also be used for private dining, parties & business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Horse and Groom Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing