We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice Cottage and very Clean”
other travelers have booked this property
Pretty as a picture and off road parking to boot.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty as a picture and off road parking to boot.
Mind your head on those 19th Century beams. Inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Pretty as a picture and off road parking to boot.
Mind your head on those 19th Century beams.
Inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Yep - she always hogs the fire!
42' Smart TV for cosy nights in and window seat to watch the world go by.
Kitchen diner with room for 4 round the table.
Small but perfectly formed with integrated fridge, dishwasher & washer-dryer.
King bed with feather duvet and Egyptian cotton bed linen.
The bedroom is open plan with stone walls and vaulted ceilings.
Large walk-in shower and great water pressure.
Some great walks along the river just 200m from our front door.  Keep an eye open for the herons.
Sycamore Gap on Hadrian's Wall
Hadrian's Wall
River North Tyne
Spring in Wark
Look closely and you'll see the Heron
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Wark, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very nice Cottage and very Clean”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Location Good , and very Clean front parking may be a little small area, but I had a R/rover, but this would not put me off to stay again,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
The parking out front can be a little tight and larger vehicles can park round the village green which is very close by.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael c
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Delightful little cottage in the heart of Wark, retaining lots of original features. The cottage is very well equipped, we particularly loved the log burning fire. The Grey Bull pub is 25 yards away and that is next door to the Black Bull, great food. But best of all is the Battlesteads Hotel 100 yards away, dog friendly, superb food and a must for any visitor to the village.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your anniversary weekend! And thank you for leaving the place so clean and tidy! It was much appreciated. I hope we get chance to welcome you both back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful and cosy cottage in a lovely part of the country.”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely New Year break in this delightful and cosy cottage in a beautiful part of the country.
Especially loved the log burner and comfy bed with sumptuous bedding. A pleasant village with good local shops and pubs.
Don't miss out on a walk along the nearby river which is gorgeous!
Have recommended to our friends and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when visiting that part of the country.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2017
Thank you for the lovely comments. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and really appreciate you recommending us to your friends. Hope you make it back for a return visit to magical Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilloswin...
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, cute cottage in great location - what more could you want!”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely cosy cottage, perfect for couples wanting to relax, walk, cycle, fish etc. or visit the numerous attractions the area has to offer. A great base to visit Hadrian's wall, Kielder, Hexham, Cragside & Wallington Hall's to name just a few - all just a short distance away. Not to mention beautiful walks on your doorstep with the river banks just a two minute stroll away. The cottage is well equipped and has a great butcher and general shop literally on its doorstep -plus the added benefit of two village pubs serving good local food. One of which also has an observatory which you can book into to appreciate the dark sky's the area is becoming renowned for. All in all, a superb cottage in a stunning location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Thanks for the lovely comments. So pleased you enjoyed your visit. I know you were a bit unlucky with the weather so I hope we'll get chance to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P
1 review
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was ideal for a relaxing break and set in an idyllic village location with a great walk along the river. Shame it was summer as I would have loved to have used the log burner. Great facilities and very comfy and cosy bed.
Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments Leah - so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan Y
1 review
“Beautifully decorated cottage-fab stay.”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have had a wonderful stay at Hexham House Cottage. The cottage has everything you would require and is finished to a very high standard. Loved it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Megan, thank you for your lovely comments. We're delighted you like the cottage as much as we do! Hope to see you back in Northumberland in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert O
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st visit to Northumberland”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was an ideal little cottage that enabled us to relax and enjoy our stay in Wark. Everything that you needed was available in the property and the large walk in shower at the end of a hard day's walking/cycling was ideal. The only draw back from our perspective was the lack of any outside space to relax and enjoy the decent weather that we had. Nonetheless, the local river was not too far away and there was ample seating to enable you to chill at the end of the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The internal facilities of the property
Liked least: The lack of any outdoor space
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Robert I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We're very fortunate to have such lovely walks on our doorstep and we too like to sit by the river and watch the world go by. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing