We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the middle of nowhere!”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aylesbury
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real gem in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We needed a place to stay near Hadrian's Wall for one night and what an experience it has been! The hotel looked nice when I booked it online but no pictures can capture the warmth of the place and the people in it. Everything is designed for your comfort, the service is second to none and the food in the restaurant is to die for. And if, like me, you care about the environment, you will appreciate the "green" aspects of Battlesteads. All in all a great place to stay and explore the beautiful countryside. We'll definitely stay there next time we venture up North!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    253
    54
    28
    6
See reviews for
106
812
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent one night here- I had tried to stay for two nights but the place was completely booked unfortunately, despite it being mid-week. Our rooms were both very pleasant (great bathrooms!) and both faced the road- we kept our window open through the night and were not bothered by the traffic (we were, in fact, pleasantly surprised by the clip clop of a passing horse and rider out for an early morning stroll). We had the seven course dinner- very good, with just the right proportions for each service. The breakfast was also the best we've had so far on our trip to England- the selection of fresh fruit (raspberries, blueberries and strawberries) was very much appreciated. Each room also had an assortment of apples, kiwis and bananas, a very nice touch!

Room Tip: If you have a room on the 2nd floor, you can access the car park directly by an outside staircase (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited this excellent hotel over the easter weekend as a couple with a dog. Very dog friendly, he received a welcome pack! One of the nicest pet friendly rooms we have ever been put in. Plenty of room, lovely and clean and nicely furnished. We had paid for bed and breakfast but decided to try the restaurant for our first evening. Excellent food, high quality although not cheap, but you get what you pay for! Breakfast was delicious! Lots of choice, couldnt fault it. The hotel is in a good spot for exploring Hadrians Wall and many historic sights. Not alot in Wark, we travelled to Hexham for a curry on the second night. Give this hotel a try, you wont regret it!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed only 1 night during family Easter road trip round Northumberland. What a great hotel, small enough to be cosy, full of character and with genuinely helpful, professional staff who were all cheerful. Room was good and accommodated the 3 of us, garden was peaceful and full of birds, food was stand out value, excellent quality at a reasonable price (we stayed at 3 hotels over 3 nights and this was the cheapest and by far the best quality meal we had). We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Northumberland (which I am sure we will).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_ply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We came here for just one night on a deal through Travelzoo. It was £99 (two people) for a double room and included a 7 course taster menu meal in the evening and a full English breakfast next morning.
The location is in a beautiful little village (Wark) close to many Northumbrian attractions including Hadrian's Wall, Hexham etc. Its a country inn hotel dating from the 1700's I believe. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the staff are polite, pleasant, helpful and professional. There is also a welcoming bar with a good choice of beers and wines.
The food is absolutely first class and the local chef is always at hand to speak to guests. If you need to stay in the North East or you have a few days to look around this picturesque area the you should stay (and eat) here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room which was great. However I believe they offer a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked a special midweek break in the countryside to celebrate my birthday. We found Battlesteads Hotel to be both charming and welcoming. The bar area is warm and cosy and the rear garden, a great place to sit and enjoy a pint or two (Especially the Tyneside Blonde Ale).
We could offer nothing but praise for the meal that evening, the choice of wine on offer, the food and service was exceptional.
The accommodation was excellent too .....we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VikingRaider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed for a couple of nights with my elderly disabled mother who uses wheelchair some of the time. We stayed in an accessible room with a wet floor shower and found this to be very comfortable. This room would have been a bit too small for someone wheelchair dependant but was fine for us. The hotel staff were delightful, extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a delicious 7 course tasting menu for our first evening and the quality of the food (much of it sourced locally) was excellent. Dinner the second night was also very good and not at all expensive. The bar, with it's wood burning stove was very cosy and friendly. Breakfast is served in a lovely sunroom looking out to the garden and we found the fresh selection of fruits, cereals, bread and jams and marmalade absolutely delicious. the fruit juice was freshly squeezed. There is an extensive range of items on the cooked breakfast and i enjoyed a delicious poached egg. I am already planning another visit with friends to explore Hadrians Wall and plan to bring our bikes to explore Kielder.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaDunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Property: Battlesteads Hotel
Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing