We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Old White Hart(Lyddington)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
108
48
18
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
48
18
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcontinental breakfastpuddingsteakmain courserooms bookedgreat food and friendly staffcodworked very hardfamily groupchocolate browniegroupon dealfull englishpretty villagetasteful decorenjoyed an excellentlovely village
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 196 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Although we only had a snack and a drink. A warm welcome greeted us. Varied meals offered at different price ranges. Very quaint olde worlde pub. Food lovely. We didn't stay at the hotel. But seemed a lovely location.

Room Tip: Outer steps to front may cause a problem to a dissability. But at the rear of the hotel the access is flatter.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

Really tasty fantastic food. They were busy with a large event on as well as all tables full and the staff were really friendly and we weren’t waiting long for our food. This was the best dinner we had during the 4 nights in the area. Lots of parking and easy to find. They were quick to respond to email booking. The place is well looked after and clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarejsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

Aside from the initial surprise that this Public House was not actually in fact in Exeter, I pleasantly enjoyed my stay! I sadly never met Marq which was rather disappointing. It was easy to find... using the sun. The nearby McDonald's added purchasing parity for the children. The room was cleaner than my criminal record and I fancy the receptionist.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Yoshi1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

We spent two nights in an superior double room, well worth paying a bit extra for. Good bathroom stuff, bottled water, modern tasteful décor and well organised space with a sofa, though taller folks might need to develop a ducking technique for the eaves. Restaurant served beautiful food if you like good gastro stuff, perhaps a little expensive for some dishes and not much traditional pub grub. Continental breakfast was included in room cost and was excellent. Staff were lovely, service very good and everything looked clean and loved. The rooms were in a separate building from the pub and restaurant, across a courtyard, so were quiet but meant a soaking at mealtimes in inclement weather. Happy to recommend the Marquess to anyone looking for a quiet break in a beautiful village surrounded by glorious countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gilliepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

My husband and I stayed here on a Groupon offer and loved every minute of it. After visiting Rutland water, we easily checked in to our spotless and very tastefully decorated room. All the staff were really friendly and nothing was too much to ask for. A special mention has to go out to Joe who made the stay extra special; remembering to check on us for extra drinks,food and generally making us feel very welcome. We both ordered the rump steak which was perfectly cooked so compliments to the Chef as well. The bread they serve there was gorgeous; all good ingredients- a proper treat! Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area and we hope to come back again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reviewingreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews