We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience ”
Review of The Old White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old White Hart
Ranked #1 of 2 Lyddington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience ”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed @ The Old White Hart for one night with family & what a lovely time we all had,the rooms are charming,clean with large bathrooms,we dined in the restaurant that evening,the food & service were 1st class,breakfast was also great,we will be staying again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chopster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    65
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
37
134
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Three 'senior citizens' enjoy finding new places to stop at for a mid-week lunch, and do utilise 'Tripadvisor' for suggestions, reading between the lines of 'Reviewers' comments.
The Old White Hart is one of the best we have ever come across. Our welcome was warm, and the menus adventurous and fairly priced, The Inn itself is warm, interesting and very clean. Toilets are exceptional. The waiting time from ordering to the first course being delivered was fine, and the service was always accompanied by a bright smile and cheery comment. There really is no need to explain what we ate, it will always be the 'guests' choice, but every dish was presented superbly and tasted just fine. Cost wise.. two pints of beer, two bottles of wine and three, three course lunches came to about £110.00, but the main courses were quality steaks. This Inn is exceptional and you really should try it, but I suspect that at weekends you will need to book.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in the Seaton room..very comfortable and huge bathroom.,pub/ restaurant has great atmosphere, and good attentive staff..excellent menu, interesting dishes..large (maybe too large) portions...located in a beautiful village in the heart of pretty sandstone Rutland countryside..wish we could stay longer...

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grimstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel boasts a fine, and apparently very popular restaurant, with an excellent menu and wine list. It has very comfortable and clean rooms. Very helpful staff who try their best to make your stay a pleasant experience. The buildings have been refurbished to a high standard. The bathrooms in particular have been highly maintained with large jacuzzi type baths. We stayed in the Oakham room

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior room for only a small additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanMorgan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

What a shame this once great eatery has gone so far downhill for meals.
The local ale was marvellous the Chilean wine superb the meal well below par for the price.
We had the scallop starter which was a throw back to the 60's (nothing wrong with 60's but food has advanced) little salmon to be found and an over generous covering of bread crumb.
The main I had was confit of duck-ham-spicy sausage, the duck had no duck flavour the sausage appeared to be a left over from breakfast equally as flavoursome as what was sold as duck.
The main on the menu came with butter beans and 'fine green beans' when the dish arrived there were no green beans. On querying this with the waiter he had no idea what the dish should have and fetched a lady who appeared in charge who equally did not know but left presumably to check the menu and then return to sat it was a misprint on the menu.
Personal taste meant none of the somewhat elaborately described puddings appealed to us how date, butterscotch sauce and liquorish ice cream quite fit together eludes me so we opted for the cheese plate. A blind folded person at a supermarket could have put a more interesting selection together.
All personal choice but if you only go out once in a while try the Hatton Arms in Gretton (very good apart from they don't do custard!) or The Marquise of Exeter Lyddington both local to this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwgNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay at the old white hart, and we stayed in the Bebe room. All I have to say is wow, the room was just perfect. Warm room, comfortable bed and the bathroom just wow, I could have stayed there all day. We ate in the pub on the first night and it was top class and when we went in the second night the menu was the same so decided to eat out. The bar had a good selection and the staff were friendly, can't wait to stay again but wish they had changed their menu daily or had a bit more choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked bed and breakfast for the evening of Valentine's Day and a table in the restaurant. The whole experience was excellent. Limited menu, but it was a one off event - the food was great! My wife and I both had the roast quail which was delicious and the beef Wellington, also delicious. The Spanish tempranillo was a treat, rich and smooth. We had a spacious room overlooking the Boules court - this place must be fabulous in the summer. The breakfast was good, would have liked a little more colour on my sausages and bacon! The staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful! We had hoped to visit Barnsdale the following morning, but unfortunately the weather was awful. I can, however, recommend a visit to the Church at Stoke Dry, where there is an amazing mural od St Christopher. All in all, a very enjoyable trip - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyddington
1.7 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
7.3 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Hart

Property: The Old White Hart
Address: 51 Main Street, Lyddington LE15 9LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Lyddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lyddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old White Hart 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old White Hart Hotel Lyddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing