We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English country pub at its best”
Review of The Old White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old White Hart
Ranked #1 of 2 Lyddington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“English country pub at its best”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for a 4 day break. The accommodation in one of the converted cottages was superb with lots of space. The pub offers a good choice of beers and wine and the excellent food menu is available in the restaurant/bar or outside in the garden. The half price menu still applied Mon to Thurs. Staff were very well trained and friendly.
Situated in a very picturesque and quiet village an ideal venue for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    65
    23
    13
    4
See reviews for
39
137
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have eaten here twice in eight days. It was just as good on the second occasion as it was on the first. Presently serving lunchtime and evening meals at half price Mon to Thursday which represents very good value for money. The food is excellently cooked and professionally presented but the portions are ample rather than generous so don't come here if you want a gut buster. Holly and her staff are welcoming and politely attentive. The building itself is of serious antiquity exuding character both internally and externally. Finally, the real ales are worth a visit on their own account, so all the rest is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuelMoreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were staying in Oakham, and found this wonderful pub while looking on line, there are offering 50% off all food Monday through Thursday, so we went on our first night, I booked a few days in advance.
It was a wonderful warm evening, and we asked if we could sit outside, we looked at the menu and had a hard decision to make, but finished up having the wild boar pate, and crab starters, followed by sausage and mash, and I had the lamb rack with small shepherds pie, we both had the sticky date pudding for afters, all three courses were very nicely presented, pipping hot,and delicious.
We went back on our last night, alas it was raining so we ate inside, again wonderful food well presented, and the staff are really nice, it is no wonder that on both occasions the place was packed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacandhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, Royaume-uni
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

we have been enjoying the food and atmosphere here for more than 10 years and we love the place. My favourite is the game in season which i highly recommend, we always are served with a smile and nothing is ever too much trouble

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STC12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and Holly could not do enough, e.g. put our fruit in the pub kitchens fridge. Lovely room and everywhere very clean. Food was delicious and excellent prices - half price during the week!! Breakfast came with. Proper freshly squeezed OJ, lovely touch. Will defo return and recommend to you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A charming location and pretty exterior to this honey coloured building. We stayed for a couple of nights and had two rooms together in one cottage and then the family room which is actually two rooms and a bathroom. Bedrooms are lovely - comfy bed, clean and a a fabulous bathroom - large, walk in shower and a stunning orchid on the window ledge. Dinner on the first night was average - half price fish and chips seemed like a good option and the fish was yummy but the chips overcooked. One guest had rack of lamb, which when it came was too tiny lamb chops! Breakfast was better but one rasher of bacon with your cooked breakfast feels very mean! The staff were helpful and accommodating with the children. Plenty of car parking and the Bede House down the road is worth a visit!

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a group ask to have rooms in the same cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Chose to get away to Rutland for a couple of days and walk around the Water - lovely! Chose the Old White Hart in Lyddington since it was fairly close to the reservoir (5 miles) and looked good on the web site. We weren't disappointed: very clean and comfortable, huge king-size bed, hearty and tasty breakfasts and one great evening meal. Currently they're holding a promotion Mon to Thurs where meals are half price and on Friday, half price fish and chips. For £24, we had a delicious crab salad and a warm goose and avocado salad, followed by a simple but tasty chicken fillet, and a wonderful roast rack of lamb. Lovely atmosphere in the bars though most people were eating outside in the hot evening sunshine. Surprised by some of the recent negative comments, we thought the meal and wine choices were excellent. We got them on two consecutive good nights obviously. Definitely returning there as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We were in the 'Lyddington', which overlooked the beer garden so noisy until about 11.00 p.m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nousvoici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyddington
1.7 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
305 reviews
7.7 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
467 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Inn
0.1 mi away
Marquess of Exeter Hotel
Marquess of Exeter Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Hart

Property: The Old White Hart
Address: 51 Main Street, Lyddington LE15 9LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Lyddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lyddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old White Hart 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old White Hart Hotel Lyddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing