We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old White Hart
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lake Isle(Uppingham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falcon Hotel(Uppingham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Plough(Braunston-in-Rutland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
164
72
30
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
72
30
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf pricethe pubbeautiful villagehomemade shortbreadsteakmonday to thursdayfish and chipshome madegreat roomsmoked salmonin seasonfresh orange juicelarge jacuzzi bathby chancewell worth a visitlovely foodpudding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 286 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here several times before. Really nice country pub/hotel - nice area, great pub grub with reasonable prices and a good selection of beers/ales. The rooms are amazing one of the best ive stayed in. The bathrooms are really high spec, real quality

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripthelightfandago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

What a relief that the recent alterations to this wonderful old inn have been done sympathetically and with style. Thankfully the ambience, the most endearing attribute of the White Hart, has not been compromised and is as good as ever. It has been a while since I have eaten here and I was looking forward to the experience. I am very familiar with the place as a drinking hole so this visit was all about the food. It was very good, my goose liver parfait and roast pheasant were delicious. Service was friendly and efficient as always which made for yet another memorable visit, thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We saw the reviews and thought this looks like a good place to eat, but we were a little bit disappointed on a couple of fronts.

The village looks lovely. It was at night, so would love to see in daytime, but the Old White Hart looks great, so all promising.

The menu looked good, if a touch on the expensive side. The drinks order was taken quickly, but then the service dropped off and it took a long time to order the food. I went for the fresh Whitby haddock and home made chips. This was £12.95. To get mushy peas was £2 extra, so basically £15 all in.

When it came, the fish was nice and fresh, but my wife had to check that the chip portion was for both of us, as it looked like it was for one. No, that is a two person portion apparently. It was lacking in attention to detail. On the plate was piece of fish and a slice of lemon. How about a garnish or something else? I dont mind paying £15 for very good fish and chips, but this felt like it was missing something. (Then my side order of mushy peas arrived). The chips were ok, but there werent enough of them, and they didnt look especially home made.

Call me fussy, but I just expected a bit more for the money.

On the plus side, it is a lovely old building and they have created a nice rustic atmosphere, but it is not quite "there" yet, a bit more to do on quality or value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked as a one night stopover away from towns this gem excelled in all departments. Firstly the setting in charming quiet village is a delight in itself. That nervy moment as you approach reception was dispelled by a friendly and interested welcome by the batman. Lead to our gorgeous cottage suite outside along the roadside was a lovely bonus. The suite comprised a sumptuous bedroom and a large modern bathroom with walk-in shower and a massive claw-foot bath. All well appointed with everything you need and don't always get in larger places! Even some lovely fresh homemade shortbread to savour. Then the pub itself is so relaxed and has that wood smokey winey aroma that makes you feel at home. Masses of dining areas clearly shows how important food is in this venue. We were not disappointed in the menu extent and pricing. All we had was gorgeous and served at a nice pace. The staff were warm and helpful. Breakfast too was a spectacle and the porridge was a delight,as was the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. We only had 15hours as guests but we felt as though we had been there for a week. So nice and well worth their tariff. Not to be missed at any time of the year. Heartening to find such quality .

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had an excellent family lunchtime meal here. Food was very good and excellent value especially on their half price offer. Lovely cosy old style pub atmosphere and very speedy and attentive service always with a smile. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trulymadly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews