We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old White Hart
Nearby Hotels
The Falcon Hotel(Uppingham)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Crown(Corby)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Plough(Braunston-in-Rutland)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Isle(Uppingham)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
165
73
30
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
73
30
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf pricethe pubbeautiful villagehomemade shortbreadsteakmonday to thursdayfish and chipshome madegreat roomsmoked salmonin seasonfresh orange juicelarge jacuzzi bathby chancewell worth a visitlovely foodpudding
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 288 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here recently on a B&B mid-week break with my husband. We stayed in the standard "Uppingham" room, which has a shared guest lounge with the superior plus "Bede" room. The accommodation for Uppingham & Bede, is a refurbished, little quaint cottage, attached to the pub. Our room was quiet, spacious, clean, very nicely decorated and the bed was really comfortable. Tea/coffee and shortbread stocked up every day. The bathroom had bath & shower, again spacious, clean, nicely decorated with lovely white fluffy towels. The pub itself is located in a beautiful, very pictureque village. Breakfast at the pub was excellent. Dinner at the pub was also excellent and the restaurant areas were packed every night. Exceptional service from polite, hard working staff. There are lots of local walks to do from the pub. Bede House (just across the road) is well worth a visit. We also visited Burgley House, Rockingham Castle, Rutland Water and the local villages/towns of Uppingham, Oakham and Stamford. We will definitely be returning to this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This lovely hotel offers the most amazing value meals - the whole menu is half price on many evenings. The food is excellent, the service professional and the location perfect. We couldn't believe our luck when we came across it, especially as Rutland pubs seem to specialise in closing on Sunday, Monday and even Tuesday evenings - even on bank holiday weekends, which seems bizarre for such a popular tourist area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My partner and I had just visited the Bede House in the village ( a must visit ) and as it was near lunchtime we looked for a local pub or restaurant to have a nice lunch, the pub, The Old White Hart, was rather expensive for Sunday lunch almost a third dearer than a good Sunday lunch at other pubs, but we had good reports, so in we ventured, and I am sorry to say we were disappointed, I had quail and a separate rabbit pie,

The quail was delicious, the rabbit pie was another matter, it seemed the pastry was old and certainly over cooked, dry and of no taste, the rabbit (if that was what it was) was so dry absolutly dry, it could have been anything including cardboard. but the worst part and bearing in mind we are talking expensive Sunday lunch was the roast potato's they were like Aunt Bessie, if not Aunt Bessie's then they need to know how to do the basic's. the whole meal was not very nice. Will not go again, which is a pity because the village and the Bede House are quite beautiful and we will visit village again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank sandybeds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Lovely hotel in a lovely village! Would recommend the Bede Room, in a separate cottage with shared lounge (which we didnt need to use as the bedroom was really nice and relaxing!) The hugest bathroom I have ever seen at the top of a spiral staircase, with corner jacuzzi bath, his n hers basins and a double shower. There was even a chaise longue in there.
The breakfast was also lovely. Only fault I would say was the service was too quick in the evening, literally as we finished our starters, the main came out - would have preferred a break.
Would definately go back and explore more of the pretty surrounding towns and villages, Stamford looked very picturesque. Would also recommend a trip to the sculpture gardens at Burghley House in Stamford and Deane Park, which was sadly not open on Sunday until 2pm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexieLou_No9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This pub/restaurant offers 1/2 price meals Monday - Thursday. Having sampled the menu it is my opinion that even this offer is overpriced. The staff act as though they are doing you a favour with what can only be described as a 'superior' attitude. The daily 'special' of battered fresh haddock had obviously been frozen for several weeks if not months which was accompanied by reheated chips which were certainly not freshly cooked. Very disappointed.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jimmyp371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews