We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms in charming olde world inn”
Review of The Old White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old White Hart
Ranked #1 of 3 Lyddington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Lovely village full of old properties. Old White Hart has lovely bar area with real wood fire. Plenty of space to eat and lovely garden with plenty of seating, some under cover.
I've stopped here 3 times in different rooms and they are all something special with loads of personal touches by the owners. Great upstairs double bath in one room, super power shower in one of the others. With the usual drinks tray were home made shortbread biscuits, lovely touch.
Homemade breakfast and if you stop for dinner the chunky haddock and home made chips are fantastic.
A hidden gem for accommodation and high quality food.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
Thank Audimadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 279 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Old White Hart is nestled in the middle of Rutland in the charming village of Lyddington. Lyddington is as pretty as any village, tucked away in the middle of the rolling hills of middle England.
The welcome at The Old White Hart was warm and our bags were taken straight to our room.
The room was well sized and the decor was in keeping with the oldé world charm of the hotel. The extra touches were plentiful, from the teddy bear on the bed, which we christened Lyddie, to the jar of homemade shortbread on the table. The drinks selection was incredibly generous, ranging from the teas and coffees one would expect, to hot chocolate sachets and herbal infusions.
The bathroom was well sized, but an obscured window wouldn't have gone amiss. There's a choice between having to lower the blind or risk being watched on the throne by all on the petanque lawn!
We were very fortunate in picking a warm, sunny day so had the pleasure of an afternoon in the good-sized beer garden. The bar boasts a good selection of real ales and ciders and the prices are reasonable. Animal activists might want to give it a wide bearth though because the decor inside is heavily in keeping with the hunting traditions of the area.
In the evening we had dinner in the restaurant, and what a treat it was. The food was absolutely delicious. A little more "nouvelle cuisine" than perhaps I'd have liked - I really could have eaten two of the wonderful mushroom risotttos fom the specials board!
Breakfast too was really good. There was a wide selection of cereals and fruit, and the full English was simply sublime. The scrambled eggs were creamy and buttery, the bacon thick, and the sausages meaty. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and the bread home-made. You really do feel that every touch is personal.
It's hard to find fault with this hotel. The only comment I can make is that, whilst we were counting our blessings in the day for getting hot and sunny weather, by bedtime we were wishing for snow! The room was so hot that we were virtually melting into the duvet. A small fan had been provided but it wasn't very efficient. In the end we had to open a window widely for the whole night, which did cool the room but left us being at the mercy of the nearby church which chimes the hour on the hour every hour right through the night.
Given a slightly cooler day I'd return to this hotel again in a flash. It's a perfect retreat to help you forget that the real world exists.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMuffin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Forget the whingers who all seem to have been on cheapo deals - this is a great place. We were having a late birthday celebration and it suited us perfectly. Found it on the web, so as always I was a little nervous at what we would actually find on arrival. Sort of expecting a room in the pub, I was suprised to be lead outside to a converted adjoining cottage - but once inside it was just perfect. Two large rooms basically, one a massive bedroom with equally massive bed, and the other a huge gorgeous bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Being on the ground floor, we also had use of a small garden, complete with patio set. The weather prevented us from using that unfortunately. A table reservation for the evening meal was already made for us without having to ask - and the meal & service was at the same high standard too. Highly recommended & we will return.

Room Tip: Choose the Oakham room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuksow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Checked in on arrival and were shown our room. Was not exactly made to feel welcome. Nice room in one of the cottages, but nothing special. Minimal hanging space (but plenty of hangers). Bed a little hard as mattress on 'slats' and not a sprung base. Minute TV, even though we only tend to watch TV in hotels for the news, seeing things clearly was difficult. Large bathroom, but no where to put toilet bags etc. Had a really enjoyable evening meal, food very good. Staff seemed OK. Breakfast, no juice out to help yourself and it was not offered either. Homemade jams/marmalade over cooked so very thick and sticky. Cooked breakfast, nothing special but OK. Poached eggs tasted of vinegar (too much put in the water when cooking). We had dinner one night at the Marquess of Exeter in the village, very good food, service and atmosphere. Lyddington is a beautiful village with some fabulous old buildings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDeeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

First the positives: The room we booked (The Seaton) was fantastic with an amazing bathroom. The lunch we had was just right. The location is beautiful and the was like being being transported to another era. This was spoiled by the following -
The staff were cordial but not friendly and rushed us off when we had finished lunch. They were too busy looking after the very posh birthday party crowd! Like other reviews have said, the bed was very uncomfortable after an hour of trying to sleep. Breakfast was minimal and watery orange juice (which we had to ask for) was not nice at all.

To top it all the staff didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay and when I mentioned we didn't receive our glasses of Prosceco on arrival as stated on the Groupon offer, I was told "YOU SHOULD HAVE ASKED FOR IT".

I'm not sure if it was the fact we had booked via Groupon and were not good enough for them or that they are just generally rude to everyone?!!

I'm not recommending this hotel to my friends...

Room Tip: If booking by Groupon do not expect good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

As a couple we took advantage of a Groupon offer for an overnight stay at the White Hart. When we arrived the hotel and the pub were closed but with the number provided on the board outside we managed to get someone to check us in. When we checked in we were offered an upgrade at a very low cost so we took advantage of it! The room we had was lovely, very clean and tidy with nice homely touches such as the home-made shortbread (Yum!). The bathroom had a real wow factor as you walked in, with a big free standing bath and separate walk in shower. Although the room was situated next to the road we weren't disturbed by it at all and had a great night sleep. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was lovely, this is when we had our complimentary glass of bubbles. I had Duck Cassoulet which was beautiful and my partner had fish pie which was also excellent. The pub was very busy we were seated upstairs to eat which made it easier to enjoy our meal and talk, the service was good throughout the evening.We also had the breakfast which, as with the food in the evening, was lovely. We look forward to returning to the white hart and would definitely recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: If offered an upgrade, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here with a grupon deal and upgraded our room. The room was outside the main hotel and felt like our own little cottage. The downstairs bathroom was amazing, spent nearly an hour in the jazzuci bath. The upstairs bedroom was lovely however the only reason we have rated this a 4 and not 5 is that the bed was a futon not a bed. It was rock hard and really uncomfortble. If we had noticed this before 11pm I would have asked to move to another room and if we had paid full price for our stay I would have been demading a refund.
However our meal in the pub was fantastic and the wine list was good with a nice selection of wines by the glass. The food was great and the service very friendly. Our breakfast was also lovely with homemade jams for the toast which were very yummy.
Would happily stay here again if they got proper beds.

Room Tip: Well worth a room upgrade but ask for a proper mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gronsRearsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyddington
1.7 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
333 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
7.3 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marquess of Exeter Hotel
Marquess of Exeter Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lyddington
184 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Tithe Barn
The Tithe Barn
#5 of 14 in Oakham
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Hart

Address: 51 Main Street, Lyddington LE15 9LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Lyddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lyddington
Price Range: $104 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old White Hart 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Old White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old White Hart Hotel Lyddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing