We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea - What a treat !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dovecote Restaurant

Dovecote Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea - What a treat !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We've been going to Morley Hayes for all sorts of occasions over many years and we thought they couldn't really do much more (especially after introducing the Champagne Breakfast some time ago) but they have - and what a lovely experience- Afternoon Tea!
I went with a friend as a birthday treat on Friday,11th July and thoroughly enjoyed it. Tasty sandwiches, delicious scones and a selection of the most gorgeous cakes - all made by their own chefs. We were offered more all the time, but unfortunately we just couldn't eat it. The service was very good and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant or attentive.
To sum it up, a very, very enjoyable treat - well worth trying.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    65
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Class act from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and i chose Dovecote restaurant for our 20th wedding anniversary after a number of recommendations from friends.

I have to say our experience from start to finish was absolutely first class.

The service we received from every member of staff was superb , very professional and courteous at all times.

The food was out of this world, cooked to perfection simply delicious.

We will without doubt return to The Dovecote and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great meal and service with a smile

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChazRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Champagne Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was a belated Mother's Day present, the care the restaurant staff took with us because of a nut and seed allergy was excellent and the food ....! Seasonal and excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FANTASTIC STAFF!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We do go to Morley Hayes at least twice a month and it's always enjoyable. The setting is stunning and peaceful, the buildings are beautiful, and the staff are ALWAYS so attentive and friendly as well as being professional. They go above and beyond to make sure our visit is an enjoyable one. Andrew (one of the owners) is always very friendly and welcoming. Elaine, Simon, Hannah and the rest of the dovecote staff are great at what they do. Thanks so much!

Helpful?
2 Thank Angelcake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“tried but didn't wow me!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having to order in their lounge (lobby) was a bit weird. Then you are taken to your table. Had steak, talked to waitress at length about pink in the middle. It came out well done and tough. In their favor they recognized it was our anniversary by providing a helium balloon and card. Nice touch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank theattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dovecote Restaurant also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Dovecote Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing