We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derbyshire treat”

Dovecote Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Derbyshire treat”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am a regular visitor to the Morley Hayes dovecote restaurant and have been so for 20 years.
We took a party of 5 on the 10th May 2013.
The staff are very adept at making you feel special and welcome, the service and food are unbeatable.
By far the best restaurant in the area and we will continue supporting Andrew and his staff while ever they keep it up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    68
    31
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely meal in a beautiful venue”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a lovely place to go for a special occasion, in my case a birthday. The food is superb and the atmosphere wonderful. They have a pianist who plays very well and add such a lovely atmosphere to the occasion, i really recommend this to anyone looking for a wonderful meal. It is true that it is not cheap but it is really nice!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

lovely for special occasions, quite 'posh', formal wear is appropriate and it is an enjoyable trip! it is quite expensive but it is worth it! service was good and they were very attentive, bar staff were lovely and the food came quite quickly after us ordering. nice for occasions!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollaaaaaaay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food OK, service patchy”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The restaurant was very busy on the night we visited. At first we were shown to a small seating area half way down the stairs, where we were served with drinks and our order was taken. Olives and petit fours were served, but quite a time after and we were shown to our table before we had the chance to partake.
The food was very tasty but there was a very long wait between starter and main, which was particularly problematic as only half of our party had chosen to have a starter. The olives were not brought to the table, so there was not even the chance to snack on those during the wait.
The steaks were tough to cut as the knives were not really up to the job (no steak knives were provided) but more tender in the eating. The twice cooked chips were sadly soggy, which was disappointing, but the accompanying vegetables were delicious.
We had to go and pay the bill at the bar as there was not a member of staff to ask to bring it to the table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorthingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at Dovecote Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dovecote Restaurant here at Morley Hayes. It sounds as if we were not at our best service wise at the time of your visit. I apologise for that and hope we can make amends when you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch in the Dovecote restaurant to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. I booked a table online a few weeks before which was quick and easy to do. I also let them know that it was our anniversary.

When we arrived, we had a drink in the comfy chairs in Reception and chose our meals. The set lunch menu was very good value for money; you could have either two or three courses. The staff were very polite and professional at all times.

My husband had a lamb and mint broth for starter and I had guinea fowl, and then we both had rib eye steak with chunky chips, tomatoes and additional potatoes and carrots. We paid £4 extra each for this course, and it really was delicious. We had a pudding between us, and a cup of tea, and it came to just over £50. This included three drinks. Very good value for money bearing in mind the quality of food and ambience of the restaurant.

At the end of the meal, we were given a congratulations balloon and a hand written card... What a lovely touch!

I will certainly we coming back again then Dovecote in the near future!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank U2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dovecote Restaurant also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Dovecote Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing