We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our friends got married at Morley Hayes the weekend before Christmas. Three of us stayed the pre-wedding night and the night of the wedding and shared a room - 2 twin beds and a sofa bed. The room was fantastic as was the breakfast on both mornings. The staff couldn't have been more helpful especially the Master of Ceremonies. The bride together with the bridesmaid and ourselves were ferried from the hotel to The Sacheverell Suite as it was raining heavily. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them and the ceremony and the meal afterwards was organised to perfection. I shall certainly recommend the venue to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Mary

Thank you for the review of your friends wedding day here here at Morley Hayes.

We are so pleased you had a lovely day despite the weather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 695 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a one night golf break, our only regret being that we were not staying at the hotel longer. We stayed in an Executive room which was extremely well equipped, and spacious. We had a delicious meal in the Dovecote Restaurant, and an equally good breakfast in the hotel dining room. The only weak link as far as we were concerned, was the golf course. The greens were poor, but given that it was between Christmas and New Year, it was possible that there were not many green staff working. In general the rest of the course was in quite good condition, not particularly challenging, but a pleasant enough round. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, but hopefully at a time when the course was better.

Room Tip: All rooms have a reasonably good view, but if you can pay the extra for a superior room, you get a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SjS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for the review of your visit to Morley Hayes on a golf break.
We are delighted you had a lovely time.

The greens do tend to suffer a little in the winter but we do manage to play on the greens all year round without having the need to emplace temporary greens.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I organised a party for myself and 17 guests and it was absolutely fantastic. I have organised christmas parties for the last 10 years and due to the previous bad experiences with other local venues decided to try Morley Hayes.
I wish I had booked here before. From booking in August to arriving on the 21st the wasn't a problem, everything was handled smoothly and professionally.

The food was fantastic and none of my guests had any complaints about anything during the evening.

I also booked 2 hotel rooms for the guests. Again they had no complaints and said the rooms and breakfast the following day where fantastic.

All in all a very pleasurable experience and look forward to doing it all again in 2014.

Highly recommended!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank sparky-ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for the review. Christmas is a very special time here at Morley Hayes and we are delighted you had a great evening. See you at Christmas 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our stay began with a delicious afternoon tea. Transport was provided to take guests to the local church for Carols by Candlelight service. On our return we were greeted with a glass of mulled wine. We then had a truly excellent meal in their award winning Dovecote Restaurant. An overnight stay in the luxurious hotel was followed by a super breakfast. The staff are a credit to the Management, so obliging, attentive, friendly but professional. The Christmas decorations are beautiful, truly a Winter Wonderland. All of our party agreed we would love to do it again next year.

Room Tip: Whichever grade of room you choose will be excellent. The décor is beautiful. Bathrooms are top qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Victoria

Thank you for your review following your stay here at Morley Hayes for our annual Christmas Carols by Candlelight.

It is a wonderful evening and we are delighted you all had a great time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Every Christmas since Morley Hayes first opened my wife and I have enjoyed a Christmas Meal with colleagues in the Dovecote Restaurant. It has always been an enjoyable and memorable occasion when we have been able to enjoy excellent food and service in lovely surroundings. Although we are all now retired we keep coming back which is testimony in itself to the staff of Morley Hayes. Having now left the area ourselves we were able to allow ourselves the extra treat of staying in the hotel overnight, which was a most enjoyable experience. The quality of the rooms and the facilities were of the highest standard and we can certainly recommend the penthouse suite to anyone. Many thanks to everyone who was involved in looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Brian

Thank you very much indeed for your review following your stay here at Morley Hayes. We are now in our 23rd year and we are delighted you still visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Arrived with a sick travelling companion
Breakfast waitress must have informed management who introduced himself and offered any assistance which might speed his recovery - followed up by further offers of assistance if necessary.
Location is relaxing and beautiful

Staff attentive, Professional & courteous




Room spacious. Quiet & comfortable

Not much more one could ask of a hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Marian

Thank you for your review following your stay here at Morley Hayes. I am sorry to hear your companion was ill and hope he made a speedy recovery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I organised a Christmas Party for 40 ladies, from initial enquiry to the end of the dinner , I cant compliment the venue, the food and the staff enough. As a large group the food was fresh , tasty and interesting , the staff could not do enough for us. The decorations were tasteful and the venue is fabulous. I would definitely book here again.. Thanks for a great time

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

It is very kind of you to post such a lovely review of your Christmas Party held here at Morley Hayes. It is sometimes difficult to organise events for lots of guests but I am delighted it all went smoothly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
1.3 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
16 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
383 reviews
19.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morley Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morley Hayes Hotel

Address: Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range: $178 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morley Hayes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious AA 4 star Morley Hayes Hotel, near Derby has 32 bedrooms, all of which are air-conditioned, from the Executive Room to the Honeymoon Suite. Whether you are looking for a luxury hotel in Derbyshire, a golf break on our championship course, a conference venue with full meeting facilities, the perfect wedding venue or simply the best food and drink at our fantastic bars and restaurant, Morley Hayes is the ideal destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Morley Hayes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morley Hayes Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing