We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great venue for a wedding, lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great venue for a wedding, lovely rooms”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here Saturday night to celebrate a relatives wedding. We are also professional wedding photographers and enjoy shooting at this venue as the staff are excellent and the photo opportunities beautiful and varied. This time we combined business with pleasure and stayed over at the hotel, camera put safely in the room after first dance and then we partied the night away. The room was clean, comfortable and I loved the complementary toiletries ( Molton and Brown)..would recommend as a hotel and wedding venue

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardyncoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks for the review and so pleased you had a great time. This spring we are developing another area ideal for photographs - so if you come here again with the camera a few more opportunities for the perfect photograph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    74
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
157
218
9
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 820 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My sister got married here in July. It was a beautiful day and the venue room/ location was really nice. Great outside and inside locations and some safe space outside for the children to run around - especially since it was a hot day. All the staff we encountered were nice, polite, welcoming and friendly. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The food/ service was great and then I started to hit the Champagne so things get a little hazy after that.......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walshyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay and attending your sisters wedding day. We love weddings here at Morley Hayes and with such warm weather Morley Hayes does really come into its own
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here just yesterday, we were here for a wedding which was magical, the staff, food, organisation, everything was perfect for the happy couple.

The hotel was outstanding, we've stayed in lots of hotels that have been seriously more expensive and haven't been even close to Morley Hayes.

Anyone looking for a venue or just a night away won't go wrong here, I would recommend it over anything else close.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear David

Thank you for posting such a great review of your stay here at Morley Hayes.

Sounds like you had a great time! See you again soon I hope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckfastleigh
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Superb well deserves its four star rating,room we had was a superior room and was like new,no sign of wear anywhere,lovely fresh smell in the bathroom,staff were extremely helpful inc the night staff.Car parking no problem,cooked breakfast is served to your table hot,tasty and very well presented.This is a lovely golfing development in lovely surroundings made very special by its fantastic staff,good value for money and we will certainly be going back when were visting peak district again.Did not have time to sample the hotels restauarants but will be next time,we rang and booked and got a very good deal would recommend you do the same as im sure your be happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Simon

Thank you for the review following your stay here at Morley Hayes. We are delighted you had an enjoyable time.

I do hope next time you will be able to sample our restaurants - the Dovecote Restaurant now has two AA rosettes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently and took my elderly mother. The staff are so polite and helpful they made us very welcome.
Rooms very comfortable and beds are HUGE, I was told we were in rooms that had not yet been refurbished, but there was nothing wrong with what we had. Lovely view over the golf course and lots of rabbits. Room had airconditioning as well, which was bonus in the hot weather.
Ate in the Roosters restaurant, and the food was lovely, very busy, but all staff very kind. There was a small health incident whilst we were there and the staff who dealt with the gentleman were very cool and professional, no fuss was caused, and I hope the man made a full recovery.
Overall a great experience and we would go again, the staff are a great asset to this hotel, please keep it up.
Only suggestion, but in no way critisism, could there be a covered in walk way to the restaurants, as had it been raining it would have been an issue for my Mum being less mobile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Lorna

Thank you so much for the review following your stay here at Morley Hayes and dinner in Roosters Bar.

The hotel has now been fully refurbished and is stunning. When it rains it can be a problem walking over the courtyard to Roosters Bar. However, we offer the full Roosters menu as room service,and being as all rooms have dining table and chairs in it is a great option to dine in room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had our wedding at Morley Hayes yesterday and had a superb day from start to finish. We started to plan 18 months ago and every member of staff has done their utmost to ensure that we had the best day possible. From the early stages of planning they have shown us the possibilities, explained what we needed to do with regard to registrars etc and done their very best to make our day special (even down to Andrew driving us to the end of the drive in a golf buggy for photographs, then organising golf clubs on the putting green for even more photographs. He even found a white fur throw to put on the seats in the buggy!)
The food for the wedding breakfast was excellent, as was breakfast this morning.
We upgraded to the Penthouse Suite which has a large shower cubicle, corner bath, four poster bed, balcony and views over the golf course. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept very well.
Our family and friends were similarly impressed. Two of them now intend to stay at Morley Hayes in future, rather than stay with us. They hope we're not offended!
Our only disappointment was that we weren't able to spend longer in that beautiful suite. No worries: we've already booked for our anniversary next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casid586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Our congratulations to you both on what was a lovely wedding day. Many thanks for taking the time to post it on here - it is appreciated.

Best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife treated me to a stay here for my birthday .
Was very easy to find & we were surprised at how picturesque the location is.
Check in was easy & the room was Exellent with large bed & outside terrace with table& chairs.
Food was very good both at lunch time in the bar & evening in the main restaurant.
The bar drinks prices were reasonable as i was expecting them to be high due to location.
I found the Staff very friendly & helpful .
Overall i found the hotel & weekend Exellent & will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Jamie

Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay here at Morley Hayes. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
1.3 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
16.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,371 reviews
4.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,749 reviews
1.2 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morley Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morley Hayes Hotel

Property: The Morley Hayes Hotel
Address: Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morley Hayes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious AA 4 star Morley Hayes Hotel, near Derby has 32 bedrooms, all of which are air-conditioned, from the Executive Room to the Honeymoon Suite. Whether you are looking for a luxury hotel in Derbyshire, a golf break on our championship course, a conference venue with full meeting facilities, the perfect wedding venue or simply the best food and drink at our fantastic bars and restaurant, Morley Hayes is the ideal destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Morley Hayes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morley Hayes Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing