We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Morley Hayes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

A Family party of nine visited the Dovecote Restaurant last Saturday to celebrate my wife's birthday. The Restaurant had been decorated for the festive season and looked wonderful. We have been here before on a number of occasions and have booked again, with friends, for the Sunday Lunch in a couple of weeks time. My wife chose the Champagne Breakfast, as she thought it would be a different experience. The services was first class as was the food, with a good menu selection all in such lovely surroundings. We had a fantastic morning, in all a first class experience washed down with an ample amount of Champagne!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ouncy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed the Champagne Breakfast. We now offer them on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    69
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
143
212
8
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Just returned from our Son's Wedding held in the Sacheverell Suite at the Morley Hayes Hotel.It was without doubt the best experience we have had for many years.The Room was laid out to perfection & the tables looked amazing.
The events organiser Jane & her staff went more than the extra mile to ensure everything was carried out beautifully.Food was delicious & of superb quality,& the service could not have been better.65 guests enjoyed a 4 course Wedding Breakfast after the ceremony which was orchestrated exactly as requested.Then in the evening around 150 guests enjoyed a buffett & disco all provided by the Hotel.Entrance to the complex is down a tree lined drive alongside manicured golf links all lit beautifully at night.Many guests stayed the night & next morning enjoyed one of the best Derbyshire Breakfasts to be found.This again with excellent service & fresh local quality ingredients.You cannot ask for better when the Hotel owner eats in the restaurant with you. We couldn't fault anything & would unreservedly recommend this venue to all.Thanks to all concerned on behalf of both the Bride & Groom & their respective families.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are excellent but suites are obviously better & the Penthouse Suite is superb all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertWoodchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
What a great wedding it was! We are so pleased you had such a wonderful day. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

A 4 star hotel situated on a golf course.Arriving we were pleasantly surprised by the setting,the hotel is modern,bedrooms have balconies or terraces overlooking the golf course.
On check in we were upgraded to a suite by the welcoming receptionist.
The room had a four poster bed,settee, desk and chairs I counted 6 lamps.
The bathroom was modern with bath and separate shower with Molton Brown smellies,but the towels were very tired and faded not 4 star quality.
The evening meal in the Dovecote was reasonably cooked but quite expensive for what was offered,and the food could have been served hotter. Staff quite efficient.
The breakfast was fine, with fresh fruit salads, pastries, cereals and a cooked breakfast to order ,served by pleasant staff.
We spent a quiet night,but the hotel is used for many events,weddings ,corporate ,conferences so if peace is important to you ask before booking if anything is scheduled to be on.
All in all a pleasant hotel,but ditch those plastic flower arrangements dotted around the hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italytraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for your review on The Morley Hayes Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

The towels have now been renewed. Your comments over the food not quite hot enough have been discussed with the Head Chef and hopefully rectified.

Your time to convey your comments is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Morley Hayes is a smallish hotel associated with a golf course a few miles north of Derby. We had very nice room 109, the "Fitz Herbert" junior suite. Big, extremely comfortable four poster bed squeezed into a small room. Bathroom nice with excellent shower. The sitting room has two 2-person couches, desk and chair, small table and chair. Lots of storage space. Both rooms open with double doors onto a small, ground-level terrace, separated from a tee by some nice bushes. I think that all rooms have a private balcony or terrace.
The restaurant is quite nice with very good food although, at the end of a long trip, we thrice chose the bar restaurant instead. This is very informal with very good food and quick service. Breakfasts were standard good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Our thanks for the time in submitting the review following your stay here at Morley Hayes. It is great to here that you tried all the dining areas and that you enjoyed them all. The Fitz herbert suite is one of our best rooms and it sounds like you loved it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Use this hotel for business. Good rooms and modern facilities.

Restaurant is good, tends to be busy.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollybush_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Our thanks for the time in writing the review of Morley Hayes.Good to hear you had a great time. Hopefully may be able to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed for a weekend golf break and had excellent time, all members of staff were superb, they were friendly and helpful. Ate at the Dovecote restaurant which was excellent. Hotel is definitey superior class with good sized rooms and quality fixtures and fittings, location is great with some lovely views over rolling countryside and the golf course.
Played golf on the Manor Course which is relatively new Approx 25 years old, of good length and a good test for most golfers.
Would definitely recommend a golfing break or wedding here

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the review. Delighted you enjoyed the weekend. The course is in fact only 20 years old and maturing very nicely thank you. We continue to plant trees and manicure the course. Yes we do hold weddings all year round and with the beautiful setting it is ideal and rather romantic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed at the Morley Hayes for a conference and enjoyed it. My room had a beautiful view of the golf course and it was both spacious and clean. The staff was helpful and the facilities were comprehensive. If you are in this area, it's a very nice place to stay. I gave four stars instead of five because it's in a sort of isolated location, not really convenient to things a pleasure traveler might want to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterandjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your report following your stay here at Morley Hayes. Whilst we are set amongst the beautiful Derbyshire Countryside we are only 4.5 miles from Derby City Centre. We operate a complimentary shuttle to and from the city centre and our link with Virgin Active gym.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
1.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
15.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
18.7 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morley Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morley Hayes Hotel

Property: The Morley Hayes Hotel
Address: Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morley Hayes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious AA 4 star Morley Hayes Hotel, near Derby has 32 bedrooms, all of which are air-conditioned, from the Executive Room to the Honeymoon Suite. Whether you are looking for a luxury hotel in Derbyshire, a golf break on our championship course, a conference venue with full meeting facilities, the perfect wedding venue or simply the best food and drink at our fantastic bars and restaurant, Morley Hayes is the ideal destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Morley Hayes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morley Hayes Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing