We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I booked at the morley hayes after coming across the hotel on a golfing website. I wasn't too sure as I'd booked primarilly as a suprise for my boyfriend.
I had no need to worry as I turned off the road, he made me slow down to admire the driving range and golf course. We arrived half an hour before check in and thought we'd just ask if the rooms were available to be told we had to come back at exactly 3pm! Ok we were early. Anyway we had a walk round and checked in. The room was great, the size of the bed was fantastic enough room to spread out! It was a standard room but we felt that it was a little over cluttered. We didn't think it needed the round table and the extra work surface that came out. The shower curtain was a bit baffling as it curved round it would have been better straight! The shower was good and the pressure fantastic. Just a few gripes on big clumps of dust along the wooden surfaces but nothing a good wipe wouldn't sort out.

We used the dovecote restaurant, roosters and spikes during our stay and have no complaints whatsover.

We had the pleasure of using the driving range which my boyfriend was very good as you could tee off on grass! He also played on the short course twice. I was told that I would need the clothing and shoes to accompany him on the course and got into a panic as to where to buy the attire. I need not have worried as a member of staff over seeing the course said yes you are suppose to dress a certain way but he would let me on with a good pair of trainers on. I respect the rules but was very grateful for this member of staff's discretion.

I can't complain at all about morley hayes apart from the lack of personality at check in and the grumpy service received at breakfast. But not everything can be perfect.

We were a little sad to leave but will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you so much for posting your report on your stay here at Morley Hayes. I have dealt with the slightly negative comments as to the dust and breakfast staff. It is only by contructive comments that we can strive to continually improve guests stays here at Morley Hayes. Delighted you were able to join your boyfriend on the golf course. Hope you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 695 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We held our wedding at Morley Hayes, cannot fault it. We were married in the new wedding dome and the staff were as keen as us that the weather stayed good :-) The whole day was perfect from start to finish, the staff were attentive and helpful without being intrusive and all our guests commented on how much fun they had. Fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babushka74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for the glowing report of your wedding in outdoor wedding dome. Our congratulations to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

my golfer husband's eyes lit up when he saw the driving range with wonderful view and even able to practise off grass as well a high tech coaching. my eyes lit up at my dessert of banana bavarois with pistachio ice-cream and fudge sauce. The view from our room was superb over one of their golf courses. Staff are all friendly and as I am not a golfer I asked for walking advice. Naturally walking across a golf course isn't welcomed but there is a lovely walk nearby to woods and across fields. I found a great pub just off route the Rose & Crown with great steaks and also lovely veggie options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsofEsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Yes the driving range is one of the best in the area. We have power tees, grassed area and a practice bunker. It is open until 10pm and floodlit. Now the puddings!! yes they are delicious. Thanks for the comments they are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had stayed at this hotel earlier in the year and the stay wasn't great.

HOWEVER, the hotel asked us to give them another go if ever in the area, so we did.

We stayed in a suite as we had done previously. The room was nice, modern and very clean. My only criticism is that the suites can be a little cluttered with lots of furniture, but that said, it was a very pleasant room with a balcony and views over the golf course.

We don't play golf at all, and just used the hotel as a base to visit Derbyshire.

We stayed for 3 nights during the week. Staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was excellent and the meals we had in Roosters bar were very good. This restaurant can get very busy, so if you stay, maybe reserve a table just in case.

I am very happy to have been proved wrong about this hotel. Our previous stay was in the middle of a large function / event, but on this occasion it was lovely and quiet and very pleasant (except if the mowers were on the golf course early doors)

We are fussy with hotels and do like comfort, cleanliness, quality and service. After this stay, I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking up our offer of visiting us again here at Morley Hayes. We are delighted that your stay was very enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We held our wedding at Morley Hayes, on Monday 1 August, 2011 and we can honestly say that we couldn’t have made a better choice of venue!
The professionalism and helpfulness of the Events Co-ordination Team was outstanding. The hotel accommodation, public areas and function rooms are decorated and presented to a very high standard. The grounds are breath-taking and well maintained.
The wedding breakfast was delicious, served hot and without any uncomfortable delays sometimes experienced when catering for a large number of people.
Some of our guests stayed overnight in the hotel and they all said without exception that the guest rooms were outstanding and the staff helpful and polite.
We had an amazing day and our wedding guests all agreed that our choice of venue was absolutely perfect for this very special occasion.
We would not hesitate in recommending Morley Hayes to all our friends and fellow ‘tripadvisor’ clients.
Maggie & David

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Maggie and David

Congratulations on your wedding day. We are so pleased you had a lovely day. Our very best wishes for your future happiness together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We spent our wedding nite at this hotel and have just spent the night of our first anniversary there, great hotel the food in both the dovecot restaurant and the roosters bar is fantastic quality with great service. I'm not a golfer so can't comment on that but the course looked immaculate to me!! Great tranquil countryside location.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Congratulations on your first wedding anniversary. Apparently it is paper! Thank you for the time in submitting your report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The whole weekend was superb.The weather was even hot.The twenty ladies loved it. The service from the restaurant, to the reception staff, to the golf course was second to none. The food was cooked and presented very professionaly. Bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, and very roomy. Walk in shower was a bonus. The golf, I must say is challenging, but enjoyable. Golf pro and staff very helpful.
I would recommend this to all golfers and non golfers, and I would certainly go back.

Room Tip: rooms 110 to 115 overlook course, walk in shower, spacious rooms.No noise at all from Roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marden17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew04, Owner at The Morley Hayes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for a very nice review following your stay here at Morley Hayes. The Manor course is challenging but for the golfer who likes it a little easier we have our 9 hole Tower course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
1.3 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
16 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
383 reviews
19.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morley Hayes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morley Hayes Hotel

Address: Main Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range: $176 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morley Hayes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious AA 4 star Morley Hayes Hotel, near Derby has 32 bedrooms, all of which are air-conditioned, from the Executive Room to the Honeymoon Suite. Whether you are looking for a luxury hotel in Derbyshire, a golf break on our championship course, a conference venue with full meeting facilities, the perfect wedding venue or simply the best food and drink at our fantastic bars and restaurant, Morley Hayes is the ideal destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Morley Hayes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morley Hayes Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing